Find companies:
American Express
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,335 reviews

American Express Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The perfect employer.
World Service Representative (Current Employee), Sydney, NSWMay 24, 2014
Everyday is different but with the warm and friendly environment provided to us it's never dull.
Co-Workers are well trained and always at hand should you need help.
Our cardmembers are loyal and always up for a good chat or just a call to check balances, either way we have built a nice rapport with them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was the worst place to work in my 13 year career.
Strategic Transactions & Business Development (Former Employee), Sydney, AustraliaMarch 24, 2012
Pros: decent work hours
Cons: culture based on fear, managers don't help close deals
A typical day involved update meetings with VPs, Directors and others who had no clue what it takes to close large strategic partnership transactions. My direct manager was the biggest roadblock of all. She had no understanding of the actual work or the ability to adjust the metrics to account for high level business development partnerships. The structure – more... was so messed up that co-workers weren't even incentivized to help close these commercial lending deals. The hardest part of the job was having to deal with my boss on a daily / weekly basis. I did take advantage of working from home which was much more productive than being in the office. The office environment was toxic. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
-Perform quality control evaluations, trainings, and reporting for sales team.
Sr. Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), New York, NYNovember 17, 2014
-Directly supported VP and 4 consultant’s members of the team. -Prepared various projects using PowerPoint. -Intensive calendar management. -Prepare travel expense vouchers. -Coordinated all personal and international business travel arrangements -Booked meetings and conference rooms. -Completed expense reports for entire team. -Responsible for Staples – more... contracts. -Handled team budget reports and meetings. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing environment to work
Identity Fraud Analyst (Former Employee), Brighton, ENGNovember 17, 2014
American Express has provided me with many years of great development opportunities
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amex
BDE (TRAINER) (Former Employee), mumbai maharashtraNovember 16, 2014
good company to work with
but because of few dirt present within the system should be washed out properly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent for learning opportunities
SR. ANALYST MEMBER MARKETING (Current Employee), New York, NYNovember 14, 2014
Pros: really smart people, good culture, great opportunities.
Cons: really easy to burn out
Really smart people, good culture, great opportunities. Good flexibility if need to work from home at times, but depends on the group.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day in a Client General Manager role
Client General Manager (Current Employee), SingaporeNovember 14, 2014
Pros: exposure to a variety of industries, ability to work remotely
Cons: long hours, unforgiving environment
In General a typical day would involve interacting with colleagues from the operations teams, both to troubleshoot customer service issues and also to align on service.

A fair bit of my time is taken to plan strategic initiatives and actions for my portfolio of clients. This would include action items and business plans, including business reviews.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All out fun place to work
Customer Care Professional (Former Employee), Greensboro, NCNovember 14, 2014
Pros: cafeteria, drawings, celebrations, community outreach
I highly recommend American Express. It was a great place to work. A typical day depended on taking calls for clients and handling their issues. Management was on point. They listened and cared about their employees and what each was dealing with personally as well as on the job. They advocated advancement and there was always up training for the workers. – more... We were informed of changes as soon as management was. There was nothing hard about the job at all. The trainers were great at teaching what you needed to know and management backed them up. You had great support. The enjoyable part of the job was working with everyone as a team and the functions we did outside of the job within the community. Sorry they closed their doors in Greensboro. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Postive Environment
Customer Service (Former Employee), Salt Lake City, UTNovember 13, 2014
The Company really believed in their employees. I worked for American Express for nine years. I only left because my husband was offered a job with a company that took us out of the state. While I was with America Express I worked in different departments and I also was there when they added a day care and after I left a gym was added for the emplyees. – more... They are always thinking of ways to help and improve their customers experience, but their emplyees as well. They are a really good company to work for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Place to Work
Customer Care Professional (Former Employee), Greensboro, NCNovember 12, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: not one
Everything about this job was amazing, from the center director to the vendors in the cafeteria..from the people directly related to my job to the people who were there to do a totally different job. You were more than just a number there and the pay and benefits were amazing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very focused on Business Outcomes
Director Service Delivery & Maintenance (Former Employee), NY, NYNovember 12, 2014
Pros: challenging work, great deal of satisfaction working within the company
Cons: long days
Overall a great company to work for, its leaders are among the best in the world. Truly a world class company- Very customer centric.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place
Inbound Customer Service Rep (Current Employee), Toronto, ONNovember 12, 2014
Love working here..everyones so friendly and understanding and upbeat.Never a dull moment.
ven if your having a bad day as soon as you walk into work you forget your worries because you have such great team leads and co workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company provided me with a solid job for 24 1/2 years.
Travel and Quality Service Representative (Former Employee), Phoenix AZNovember 11, 2014
If you don't like metrics you won't like this company.
This was the hardest part of my job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Professional
Customer Care Professional (Former Employee), Markham, ONNovember 10, 2014
Always care about the employees welfare. Compensation and benefits are beyond comparison.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work life balance !!!
International CSP Portal Project Manager (Former Employee), BrightonNovember 10, 2014
Pros: flexibility, development opportunities, great benefit package
Great company to work for with excellent benefits and opportunities of development. A lot of attention is focused on the culture and the wellbeing of the employees.

If you are not set on what would you like to do , here you can learn a lot of transferable skills and work in various parts of the business including marketing , finance, Risk, Business – more... development...There is a lot of flexibility and acceptance crossing different areas of the business.

Overal a great culture , place to work , international opportunities and a lot of personal development. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CLRC
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FLNovember 9, 2014
Mentoring Program
Assist clients in developing educational goals.
Create drug awareness programs for troubled teens.
Interpersonal Relations
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely fantastic opportunities.
Corporate Customer Service (Corporate Advisor) (Former Employee), Phoenix,AZNovember 8, 2014
Pros: atmosphere, salary, people, management, benefits and dress code.
Cons: the parking lot.
American Express is the best call center to work for in Arizona. Management at all levels is friendly and encouraging. They have time to speak with you and follow through with their promises. The employees help each other and are willing to share their experiences and advice. The hardest part was having the courage to apply. The most enjoyable part – more... was knowing that my team leader really cared about me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
American Express offers many benefits for families and they are very flexible with schedules
Operation Support Business Analyst (Former Employee), Ft Lauderdale, FloridaNovember 7, 2014
American Express has 24 hour weekend schedules. When possible they are very flexible with work hours. They offer a number of benefits including child care, There medical benefits are comparable to other major companies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People and a good company
Senior IT Risk and Information Security Analyst (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZNovember 7, 2014
I enjoyed my time at American Express over the last 7 years. They drive hard and fast but the ever changing environment provides a great opportunity to learn and grow.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place to work
Travel Counselor (Former Employee), Arlington, VANovember 7, 2014
Pros: excellent work environment
Cons: long commute
Work from 7am to 330pm - answering phones, making reservations/
Enjoyed the challenge of making reservations to remote places and the traveler being very appreciative.

Hardest part of the job was the commute.

1 2 3 4 5

About American Express

Each day, American Express makes it easier, safer and more rewarding for consumers and businesses to purchase the things they – Read more

American Express Photos