American Express Employee Reviews

Found 41 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Sydney Australia21 July 2017
American express was a great company to work for. i was surrounded by great people everyday and i very much enjoyed going to work. The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to speak to different people everyday and being able to help them with the queries.
Pros
work colleges
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
joyfull
Automation Engineer (Former Employee) –  Perth, Australia19 July 2017
The management people are so helpful to learn new things and supportive.I enjoyed a lot with work and this experience helpful to my future. i improved my skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed and Great Workplace
Corporate Servicing, Customer Care Professional (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW27 June 2017
I extremely enjoyed my time working at American Express. I found the work to lifestyle balance to be brilliant and extremely flexible. I also found the job role to be ever changing which ensured you would not get bored with the same workload. Overall a brilliant company to work for.
Pros
Healthy living walks. No weekend hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Marketing Communication Specialist (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW21 June 2017
Overall good place to work.
Good People
Lot of opportunities to move within the organization
Strong work equality
Supporting gay and lesbian
Lot of Training is provided to employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment with no room for errors
Corporate Travel Consultant (Former Employee) –  Perth WA20 June 2017
Great job and a great team.
Typical day at work would be long and non stop.
Management was great and listened to what you had to say.
Hardest part of the job was dealing with demanding clients but you just had to put on a smile and do everything you could to make them happy.
Great perks in the job including discounted travel.
Pros
Providing great customer service that impresses people
Cons
A lot of unpaid overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An amazing organisation
Sales (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW28 May 2017
The culture, the people, the environment is wonderful in every way. A culture of employee diversity and customer centricity is front of mind when servicing customers and developing employees, which in turn drives shareholder value.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good organization with great work culture
Fraud Analytics Specialist (Former Employee) –  Bahrain23 May 2017
Amex Middle East is based in Bahrain and provide opportunity to work with geographically diverse markets and provide experience of working in payment schemes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for Development
Customer Network Engagement (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW27 April 2017
Opportunities galore for those who work hard and decent salary if you are able to meet targets. Flexibility in work hours as well as the opportunity to work from home also.
Pros
Flexibility, commissions
Cons
Ever increasing KPI targets, very competitive
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun on the phones
Customer Care Professional (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW27 April 2017
Working in a call centre that has won many awards is an amazing experience.
We take calls from people of all walks of life and resolve there issues or help them pay their bil.
Our callers are just like you & me and expect a great level of customer service.
Pros
Day off for your birthday
Cons
High expectations for SALES & KPI's
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good to work for
New Accounts Customer Service (Current Employee) –  sydney4 April 2017
I enjoy working for amex - great company to work for. very understanding towards any personal issues. Training is brilliant and dont push you to hard if your not ready
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Senior Customer Care Specialist (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW31 March 2017
making repetitive calls to customers to collect payments that are in areas. The job itself wasn't the best, but the people were the best part of it. i have been able to apply some key skills to my everyday life thanks to my role. the workplace culture is fun, productive and positive. the hardest part of the job is making those difficult calls to the customers however the most enjoyable part is when a customer thanks you for your professionalism and being genuine about your job.
Pros
benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect work life balance
Dedicated Business Solutions Executive (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW22 March 2017
Everyday is a busy and challenging but the perfect work life balance at AMEX makes it easy.
Management has open door policies which makes it easy to voice our opinion
Pros
flexible working hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning
AML Support Analyst (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW12 March 2017
A great culture but salary quiet low as the other financial institutions.
A great filed to learn new skills but career development not so great.
Management is good.
Pros
work from home
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Partner Performance Analyst (Former Employee) –  Sydney Central Business District NSW13 February 2017
For the most part it's great leaders that bring the best out in people and Amex has them in spades. Global remits can be an issue but only at more senior levels.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Cash Assistant + Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW22 January 2017
I worked with AMEX for nearly nine yrs its great and fun. I got opportunity to be Co-Ordinator for few months plus I learned about Anti-Money Laundering legislation, Reconcile all cash, Liaise with courier supplies so many things which I have not done in my previous job.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
cab charges
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work friendly people, very long hours though
Senior System Specialist (Current Employee) –  Pyrmont NSW8 May 2016
Basic perks of the job are responsibility and security, global business with much advancement opportunity when they are not downsizing
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culturally and Functionally Diverse Team
Imaging Team Support (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW6 May 2016
Busy day but enjoyed providing premium customer service.
Excellent relationship built up with clients , co-workers and stakeholders that are crucial in achieving a successful resolution to customers enquiries and complaints. Enjoyed every moment of my job.
Pros
Have fun with the team
Cons
Temporary work
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you ambitious, go for it
Fraud Prevention Senior Analyst (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW29 March 2016
These days any job are not secure, however working for large corporate you feel more that one day my day to be redundant.
However, very diverse talent out there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, great work/life balance, friendly and supportive place to be.
Business Planning Analyst (Former Employee) –  Pyrmont NSW21 February 2016
Great people to work with, very supportive and career driven.
Leadership teams are great and plenty of career path advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very comfortable environment
Internal Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  12 Shelley st, Sydney18 February 2016
The company is very employee oriented and has the best environment, such as equal opportunity , health benefits, great training program and employee performance incentives. It has been the best place to work.
Pros
Leadership surveys
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at American Express. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 4,104 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Salary/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.8
Culture
4.1

CEO Approval

86%
1,243 ratings
Add your rating