Find companies:
American Express
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,170 reviews

American Express Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive in any activity
Travel Counselor (Former Employee), Москва, CENApril 1, 2014
Pros: any
Cons: any
I can work in any place and any time, because I just moved to Australia and I need to start my activity somewere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and quality work
Senior Travel Counselor (Former Employee), GurgaonNovember 13, 2013
I have worked with multiple organisation and it was my best learning period, where I learned team work, customer support and respect for people.

My most enjoyable moment when I was got selected for best performance award in first quarter after joining the WNS organisation.
Moreover, I have won lots of award for my performance.

As such there was no – more... hardest part in the job and but need to more careful and give 100% quality to our work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
customer service agent (Former Employee), Plantation, FLJuly 27, 2014
Pros: great healthcare
Cons: shift to late at night
customer service , taken payment, taken application for new cards, adding additional to account , mailing out statement. while making sure you are within rule and reguration
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be nice place to work, compensation needs to be better, Not the best management, job culture is okay
Customer Service (Former Employee), Montreal- TorontoJuly 26, 2014
Pros: relax environment if you do what they want.
Cons: compensation, weak incentive program that doesn't encourage you but police's you.
There is a sincere problem with american express treating it's employees, they sometimes treat you as corporrate slaves. Their bonus structure is out there to get you, so you don't earn your bonus. And they are always randomly changing things, Most of this can be lost, if a card member gives a survey about you, no mattter how hard you try to save a – more... bad mood card member, you will get a poor call which in turn would make you lose your bonus. Still does not sound convincing? Card members are asked two questions, one about the company and one about the agent they are working for. If the member is not in a good mood, he will rate american express poorly, and excellent for agent it would still effect the agent as poor, and would look poor in monthly evaluation. Amex takes away your bonus to reduce the damage of the card member's views about the company, if the card member considers amex to be poor, Amex doesn't say thank you for trying to save a card member but instead considers the employee poor in dealing with cm. At some times, it is American express's fault for not having leeway in dealing with some customers. Upper management can sometimes change situation with card members, but it rarely happens, so ones who are automatically affected are amex's agents. They tell frontline workers, to treat customers in a humanely way, but fail to reach that objective with their employees. This is current standard of american express today. They make changes, and they should aim to create a standard quality for their frontline workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management Priorities have changed
Business Analyst - Contract assignment (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 25, 2014
Pros: great community service and educational opportunities
Cons: benefit reductions occurred year after year and management has shifted priorities
Influx of new Management priorities have shifted more to shareholders and less to the people that work there over the years. Some of the people that work there and have worked there are quite outstanding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Employer
Analyst B2B Operations (Current Employee), GurgaonJuly 24, 2014
Pros: work life balance
Cons: not a good pay master
AMEX is amongst the best employers in the world. It has also been awarded the 6th best employer.
Amex has an excellent work environment and gives perfect work life balance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced and well paid company
Senior Customer Liason (Former Employee), City of Sunrise, FLJuly 22, 2014
Pros: being able to resolve cardmember's issues
Cons: management
I love my co workers and the great perks. What I love most was resolving the cardmembers issues regarding credit or conflicts with establishments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to learn and advance from!
Corporate Card Program Specialist (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 21, 2014
Feedback is very much apart of the culture at American Express. Receiving feedback from peers and superiors provide an excellent source of learning effective communication skills.
I've created long lasting personal and professional relationships at American Express.
The most difficult moments of working at American Express was the competitiveness of – more... advancement. The most enjoyable moments of working at American Express was understanding constructive criticisms and feedback to improve on my personal brand. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Airport
Boston- Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Boston, MAJuly 21, 2014
Pros: 4 day work weeks (2 "day" shifts)
Cons: your night shift would be depended on the last plane out and if your plane was late, you had to wait for it to depart. they wanted us to know all about the airport
The day started with helping fellow associates get into their workstations and making sure they had access to their working drawer. (each terminal had a certain opening time and had to be there to be sure it opened on time) communicated to shift leader for those associates who were late or covering for others. Go through airport security (TSA agents) – more... open all stations by 8am (some mornings I had to be at the airport at 4am to open at certain terminals) then call/ Instant message around to all stations making sure they had enough currencies in addition to United States Dollars. Cross sell gift cards, travelers checks, balance working till, work up against the clock and people waiting for you to sell currencies (afternoon sales were huge) technology issues while using the network, computer crashes, not having enough currencies or US dollars, filling out Currency Transactions reports for certain transactions, copying passports for internal use, using a watch list and checking customers name to a data base. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best in Class excellent Customer and Employee service
Business Analyst II (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 21, 2014
Pros: tuition reimbursement
Cons: location
This Company is and operates the way they say they do they train their employee to be part of a global best in class team, they offer opportunity for growth, offer many courses and tools to do your job above and beyond of what is expected. The company is very high on diversity and welcome difference as a plus to the business which makes working with – more... others wonderful!
The hardest part of my Job is being laid off due to re-engineering and after working for American Express for 24 years it was hard to say good bye to a family. My first two years I was a temp but it never seemed like I was due to how this company treats their employees with respect and equality. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Good Brand
Relationship Officer (Former Employee), Mumbai, IndiaJuly 19, 2014
Pros: a good incentive plan
Cons: long hours
Very supportive management, a good brand to work with, transparent job culture.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very strong and good comapny to work for
Supervisor (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 17, 2014
Pros: a lot of perks when worked as a team
Cons: good benefits promotions
I went from data entry to computer operations great steps to a higher level
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Team Leader (Former Employee), mumbaiJuly 16, 2014
Pros: free snacks
Cons: no long hours
amex is the great place to work with. i have learnt a lot.i have learnt how to understand the need of a customer. management is very supportive. incentives are really very good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great brand great coworkers
Collector II (Former Employee), phoenix, AzJuly 15, 2014
Pros: great people a new adventure with each call
Cons: bonus structure
the day to day of the job was the same to help customers resolve delinquency what made the job fun was the coworkers was a well supported environment. the team atmosphere was always a pick me up.. with all the changes in our industry management didn't fight for wronged workers out of fear of recourse.. managed by fear which sometimes made for a stressful – more... situation... 98% of the job was great – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great place to work
ccp wharehouse (Current Employee), Weston, FLJuly 15, 2014
Pros: benifit
Cons: extra days off
my review at it is a very fun place to work the one thing about my jos is that you have to pay good attention to what you are doing cause you dont wantto get cards member mix up or send out the wrong statement out to the wrong coustmer. the hardest part the job is it is a 12 hour shift and you have to stand to do your work. i overall rating is a 10 – more... at american express – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company & Highly Talented People
Product Development (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 13, 2014
Great company, hands down. Talented people and lot of opportunities for someone to grow vertically.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A PLACE WHERE WORK CAN STAY AT WORK
Dedicated Support Analyst (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 13, 2014
The balance is like nothing I have personally experienced in this position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic place to work
Financial Analyst (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 11, 2014
Pros: culture
Cons: there are no cons
American Express has been a great place to work. They have a culture of customer engagement and employee appreciation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy office setting, time went so fast
Travel Coordinator for NJ customer locations (Former Employee), Clifton, NJJuly 10, 2014
Pros: discount on travel
Cons: we were laid off due to the internet
A typical day was starting at 9am at my desk connected to a headset taking calls from clients to book their business travel. I learned so many things, listening to the clients needs and booking trips all over the world. Air, car and hotels. Booking a reservation quickly and correctly for each traveler.Management was very helpful when any questions or – more... concerns came up. Unusual requests were met effectively. My co-workers and I were a great team working and helping each other. The hardest part was when 911 happened and people really wanted to be home with family members, but the airports were shut down. All car rentals were sold out. The most enjoyable of the job were many things. One would be having many happy clients with nice reviews. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stiffling enviroment with poor leadership
Travel Counselor (Former Employee), Salt Lake City, UTJuly 10, 2014
Pros: smart and good clients
Cons: management, call center mentality
The travel department is in trouble. There is a manager who has no management skills and micromanages. Team Leaders are solely based on choosing "yes men" for the manager. No experience team leaders are chosen over highly qualified and experienced colleagues.
Co workers are extremely competative. The compensation is poverty level with the "benefits" – more... impossible to use. The "agent stay" program is never available and the travel perks are a 10% discount at 5 star hotels that no employee can afford.

I enjoyed my clients. Amex is looking for call center people not travel professionals. They do not care about their platinum or centurion card holders and treat them as if they are cattle to be shuffled. Don't have any opinions and don't expect to make any money, they change the goals yearly and each quarter "tweak" them which means you will make less and less each "bonus" (which is taxed at 40%) – less

1 2 3 4 5

About American Express

Each day, American Express makes it easier, safer and more rewarding for consumers and businesses to purchase the things they – Read more

American Express Photos