Anglican Retirement Villages Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed having fun with residents during play time
Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  New South Wales14 November 2017
I recommend ARV because i learned how to carefully look after clients. their system of using menus every day and cooking fresh food is good and it motivates residents and their families as a whole.
Pros
Some times
Cons
sometimes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management and staff are coniving liers
Assistant in Nursing (Former Employee) –  Castle Hill NSW19 May 2017
management manipulate and are rude. staff will lie through their teeth to get rid of people they don't like or Know more than your work college. Not a nice place to work, 6 years of back stabbing.
Pros
lovely clients
Cons
depends who you are.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enthusiastic, quick learner, team player love to travel
AIN (Assistant in Nursing) (Current Employee) –  Winston Hills NSW30 March 2017
I spend most time providing care to the elderly. I have extremely good time management skills, good at communication and prorating task. I believe in understanding and difference of each individual and respect differences. I like challenges because they sharpen personality. I am bubbly and find it easy to bring smile in people. I find it difficult to pass the massage to the loved ones when their family member pass away. Even though i have been in this industry for a numbers of years and have face the situation a lot, I still find it difficult in this situation. Apart from that I believe nursing is the job one has to enjoy fully to do the best. Its about how to deliver the care more than what is delivered.
Pros
developed my personality
Cons
can be be tiring
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managent needs improvement
Carer (Former Employee) –  Castle Hill NSW27 January 2016
Pros:

ARV has a higher rate of pay than average. 
Ongoing training provided. 
Career developement opportunities for the right candidates. 
Excellent dementia specific training by outside organisations such as Alzheimer's Australia. 
Staff are, for the most part, genuinely wonderful to work with, with a shared passion for delivering quality care.

Cons:

There is often a lack of communication between management and staff. Also, there is a tendency by management towards favouritism of some staff over others, based on the personal opinion of management and supervisors. This has lead to a lack of career development for those employees who are not in the clique. 
Furthermore, some ARV managers/supervisors tend to take constructive criticism or legitimate grievances as a personal attack. Overall, one's experience would depend on the culture and management of the particular facility in which they worked.

 
Pros
Higher rate of pay. Ongoing training and developement.
Cons
Lack of communication from the top down. Bias shown by management towards some employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 43No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Managers
Admin (Former Employee) –  Castle Hill NSW21 December 2015
Lack of support for staff not much communication. The Manager was more interested in looking good for her own position. Would not recommend as a good place to work because of management . Staff and residents all lovely people which helps you to stay at your job.
Pros
Good staff and lovely residents
Cons
Not being appreciated
Was this review helpful?Yes 36No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All Staff and Management is very helpful and very enjoyable to work with.
Work Placement (Former Employee) –  Winston Hills, NSW1 October 2015
During for my 120 hrs of work experienced I never missed one day of going to work there. I really enjoying my whole time working and I missed my daily conversations to clients and work routines and some of the activities that I do everyday.
Pros
Tea and Coffee
Cons
8hrs
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very supportive coordinators and the feeling of being valued as a worker.
Carer/Community Support Services (Former Employee) –  Penrith, NSW23 September 2015
I like working with this company because they value us as part of the team. Providing us and updating our knowledge through trainings, seminars and regular meetings.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable day at work
Carer (Former Employee) –  Sydney2 July 2015
Very important to have supportive management.Work as a team and have a great repoire with staff and residents.most enjoyable part of the job is making a difference in someones life.
Pros
being in a job that you love.
Cons
not finding a parking spot
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment with multicultural diversity as staff comes form different part of world.
Assistant in Nursing (AIN) (Current Employee) –  Sydney , NSW31 May 2015
Working as a team and individual basis.Learned to handle situations and pressure as each and everyday different problems were encountered.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management
Carer (Former Employee) –  Winston hills28 May 2015
being a ex employee staff are great but manger is all about money couldn't careless about needs of staff or residents. There is a lack of support and lack of communication. If you do get a job with Arv your best way is to stick to yourself.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 63No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Satisfaction in the workplace caring for the residents.
Independant Living CoOrdinator / Admin (Former Employee) –  Castle Hill NSW13 April 2015
Enjoyed working in aged care especially caring for the residents and making long term friendships with work colleagues.
Pros
Getting to know residents and their families.
Cons
Work load could be heavy at times.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor experience
Private (Former Employee) –  NSW1 March 2015
I think ARV may be good if you have a good manager. But if there is a problem you are on your own. There is a large turnover of staff.
Pros
Fellow staff members
Cons
Lack of support
Was this review helpful?Yes 58No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be better.
Respite Carer (Current Employee) –  Sydney, NSW12 December 2014
I used to love working here but the new format is making both carers and clients unhappy.
At first we had our regular clients who were happy to see the same carers each visit as the carers were pleased to see them.
Now, many clients and carers are not happy being sent everywhere to different clients all the time.
The other carers are all very nice and caring but not nearly as happy about losing their regular clients.
Listed above are the most difficult areas to cope with in the job.
The most enjoyable part of the job is the rapport and joy I develop from the relationship I have with my clients.
Pros
Lovely clients
Cons
Being changed around to different clients and housework.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competent collegues to work with
Carer (Current Employee) –  Castle Hill, NSW29 July 2014
It is a physically demanding job.
You learn to be patient and to listen to others.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job is emotionely rewarding knowing you are making a differance in someones life
Community Care Worker (Current Employee) –  Moruya NSW 25378 May 2014
assist client to shower,prompt client with medication,hydration and breakfast. Assist with daily living. Domestic assistance. Listerning to clients needs and concerns. Advising to management of any concerns the client may have.
Pros
Bringing a little happiness into clients life
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To continue to further my skills in the Community Aged Care Sector.
Community Aged Care Nursing (Current Employee) –  Port Kembla, NSW14 April 2014
I thoroughly enjoy my work and place 150% efforts in ensuring my client base is well looked after in every aspect of their service. I enjoy working with so many different clients, from different avenues of life, and have a profound respect of their current situation. Whether this may be low care Community Care, or High Care Community to Palliative. My Coworkers are all very personable, and open and honest individuals, whereby I hold them very dear as we are all doing what our heart desires, and that is to assist those that are in a less fortunate position than ourselves. We all share a common sensitivity to our clients and their needs, hence why we all work well within the team.
Pros
Ongoing training and incentives
Cons
Wear and tear on your vehicle.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, fun and and a wide medical discovery
AOC program student (Former Employee) –  Sydney, NSW29 October 2013
Anglican Retirement Village is an organization that was been like a real home for me. My typical day of work is not just giving medication and doing my specific job. I communicate and understand my patient's needs and wants. I talked to them give some extra care because at their old age they are more emotional and sensitive. The hardest part is loosing a patient, the most enjoyable part is the interaction of knowledge with my co workers we help and understand each other for the benefit of the organization to have a good working harmony.
Pros
modern technology was used in the facility
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Interaction between staff and Residents.Flexible Shifts
General Service Officer (Former Employee) –  Castle Hills1 October 2013
Working for ARV retirement village has been booth rewarding and frustrating.
Rewarding because I felt was caring and giving a service to the residents.
Frustrating because there was not enough time allocated to the various tasks.
Good choices of shfts
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ARV is a very nice place to work, to learn, to grow and to improve personally and professionally.
Assitant in Nursing/Care staff (Current Employee) –  Castle Hill16 July 2013
ARV is a very nice place to work, to learn, to grow and to improve personally and professionally. The job is really challenging for I work in different facilities/villages with different systems, not to mention that I don't get to know the residents because of that. But that is okay because the job itself is enjoyable even if it is tiring.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall I love my job and would like to be involed in a situationw where I can make a difference for more than one person
community care worker eachd (Current Employee) –  Belrose nsw12 February 2013
a typical day is getting ready to drive to the homes I visit watching the time so that I am able to complete all that is required for the person I am taking care of and leaving them in a reasonably good frame of mind, and myself too as I go for the next service. Management is very supportive and very approachable and where necessary management will take over our care duties if we are unable to. I am very happy with the management and the tasks they set and the support they give. I only get to see my co-workers at peer support meeting and its good to catch up with them.
The hardest part of the job is the driving bit and when the client is alittle unwell and I have to leave them, but do inform our co-ordinators But the best part is seeing my clients and communicating with them as I go about doing my work and involving them where it is possible.
Pros
casual work
Cons
driving and cost of fuel
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Anglican Retirement Villages. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 33 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Salary/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.2
Culture
3.7

Anglican Retirement Villages Reviews by Location