CIVMEC Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible place to work with
Graduate Mechanical Engineer (Current Employee) –  Henderson WA8 November 2017
no self development, poor management skills, extreme long working hours, salary is below average market rate. Every project has tight budget, push the guys on floor too hard. Working environment is also a disaster
Pros
everything
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work mates were great and we worked as a team
Fluxcore/Stainless steel Welder (Former Employee) –  Henderson WA18 June 2017
I really liked the bosses, i know some may seem they are tuff on people at first, but that's how to motivate people! And get the job done. we worked to a high quality standard, i worked for them 4 or 5 times. i would love to go back
Pros
good welding machines, well maintained
Cons
long hrs and want you to work sat/ sundays, but were ok with just the sats
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
could improve but overall not to bad of a place to work
Boilermaker (Former Employee) –  Tomago NSW23 May 2017
not a bad place to work will be better once they have there facility up and running properly. only bad thing was the drawings not the best to understand and they had lots of measurement and welding details missing
Pros
interesting and challenging work
Cons
drawings
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Pre cast concrete / labourer (Former Employee) –  Tomago NSW9 May 2017
It is a very good work site n workforce safety comes first at civmec they are a top Bush of people regret leaving there , they have a good work ethic n many areas to work in n plenty of ongoing work
Pros
Friendly workforce
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good bunch of lads,mainly civil dirt scratchers,
Scaffolder (Former Employee) –  Port Hedland WA3 May 2017
An unusual collection of people,lots of 457 visa holders,who by the way were great lads trying to earn a buck.
Management seemed a bit fractured and struggled with the client.
We made it fun and caught a few fish plus had a good time at the camp.
Pros
Fishing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
supporting company in all your needs.
Pipe Fitter (Former Employee) –  Port Hedland WA13 March 2017
very friendly all my co workers, no discrimination, I love work in civmec. at all time, I hoping get the job in civmec in construction.thank you thank you
Pros
yes
Cons
yes
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment & good compensation package
Quantity Surveyor (Former Employee) –  Henderson WA6 March 2017
Civmec has great people to work with and a good working environment. Most of the staff are friendly and motivated to work with and has a lot of experienced to share.
Coping with the amount of work that the company took on, the time frame & deadlines are some of the challenge that you must get over the line.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay rate is too low
Welder (Current Employee) –  Newcastle NSW20 February 2017
Big company but pay rate is too low. And hard working. Its too hard for workers.

You need to think before working.
Thinking first. Its important
Pros
Close to home
Cons
Low pay rate
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive but not enjoyable
Pipe Fitter / Special Class Welder (Former Employee) –  Perth WA15 January 2017
you get treated as a dog no body says good morning the,management wont even acknowledge you, there is no thanks for the effort you put in or over time done, the work is good it is very exciting and precise but i resigned on my own accord because i refuse to work in a place like that.
Pros
close to home
Cons
English is the third language
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Boilermaker (Former Employee) –  Henderson WA29 October 2016
safety meeting,reading and signing of JSA prior to start of works start at 6;30 am, I learned how to adjust my self meeting new people new environment, The hardest part of my job is being layed off,meeting new people
Pros
great pay and binifits
Cons
not enough works
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work
Boilermaker (Former Employee) –  Kwinana WA3 October 2016
Well paid, but hard working
Not much chance of job advancement
job security not very good, very big turnover of people
if not got excellent knowledge of trade you will not work here.
Pros
good pay
Cons
bad reputation of how men are treated
Was this review helpful?Yes 18NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sweat shop
Senior Fabrication Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Henderson WA10 August 2016
civmec is a sweat shop with a my way or the highway attitude and a basically do as i say attitude. Management at civmec flex there muscles all the time and will stomp on anyone who doesnt agree with them
Was this review helpful?Yes 29No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Rigger Advanced / Leading Hand Logistics (Former Employee) –  Alcoa kwinana14 February 2016
Good enough job to be happy to wake up in the morning and head off to work, Employs good staff, and supervision, A busy company that will keep you busy.
Pros
Supportive
Cons
Must fit in
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Civmec
Boilermaker (Former Employee) –  Perth, WA5 January 2016
general boilermaking running a crew organising crane lifts welding fabricating workshop boilermaking and on site boilermaking construction
Pros
money
Cons
management being one sided and only listening to one side of the story
Was this review helpful?Yes 22NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
steel fixer (Former Employee) –  Perth, WA15 November 2015
I really enjoyed the 2 months i was working for CIVMEC - meeting new and well respected people it was a pity that that the job ended. I would love to work for CIVMEC long term and can prove that i am a fast learner, honest and reliable.
Pros
Long hours and good pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Boilermaker fabricator (Former Employee) –  Henderson, WA15 October 2015
Enjoyed my time with the company. Great management, work ethics and work mates. Working environment was comfortable. Meals and accomodation was most acceptable. Roster was an easy one to get used to.
Pros
Fifo
Cons
nil
Was this review helpful?Yes 31No 19Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work due to variety of scopes of work
Fabrication Co-Ordinator/Inspector (Former Employee) –  Henderson5 October 2015
Civmec is an excellent place to work. The facilities are world class and the location is ideal. There is access to the barge facilities without going onto main roads which avoids a lot of transport headaches. I was working there as a Sub Contractor so when my contract was complete I moved on as their staff people rightfully have priority. I would not hesitate to go back there should an opening arise.
Pros
Location as I live in Rockingham
Cons
High focus on production which sometimes puts their staff under pressure.
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 16Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Haven't a clue!!
Senior Project Engineer (Former Employee) –  brockman 2 mine, near Tom Price WA26 August 2015
Just a pack of cowboys, out to grab what they can get.... no consideration for their workers at all!!!

Way too many people in the Head Office doing absolutely nothing and far too much control of what happens on site.

Procurement was a total DISGRACE!!!
Pros
None
Cons
No support from management what so-ever!
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable place to work with skilled people for all challenges
Martin Sweeney, Senior Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Henderson, N4 July 2015
would work there again, huge company with many different work fronts and job potentials for all types of experienced people. enjoyable place to work with skilled people for all challenges
Pros
pub nearby for friday bevvy
Cons
as many hours you can do
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good to work in big company
BOILERMAKER (Former Employee) –  Henderson WA23 June 2015
Various job everyday basis, different techniques and experience, well plan job and management, freindly and team work with co-workers, hardest part of job being work in difficult situation, enjoy to work in a team.
Pros
good pay
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CIVMEC. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 39 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
3.1
Culture
3.2