Coles Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great team environment
Dairy Assistant manager (Former Employee) –  Waterford QLD21 February 2018
Coles is where I started my retail career they liked to train and promote within .The team members there where a great at what they did. I started there as a storeman for 5 years and then went on to dairy assistant Manager.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part-time Job
Check-Out Person and Front End Controller (Former Employee) –  Toombul QLD20 February 2018
This was a part-time job whilst I was in High School. I learnt how to use a Cash Register, handle cash, deal with people, how to supervise my fellow employees and how to use the Deli equipment.
Pros
Earning my own money
Cons
Long hours on my feet
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
standard
Deli Team Member (Current Employee) –  Lalor VIC19 February 2018
work place and other team memebers are nice. typical day includes a lot of customer service and cleaning around. Hardest part would be the actual closing process on a closing shift or the place getting too busy on a day shift.
Pros
customers mostly nice
Cons
very hard to find someone thats willing to let you go on a break
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work at
Work Experience Student (Former Employee) –  Box Hill VIC19 February 2018
The team members were friendly and they were willing to help. I arranged the items on the shelves every day, guided people to the right aisles and helping them to look for their wanted items, and i also learnt how the process worked in the bakery.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was okay but not that great
Stock hand (Former Employee) –  Perth WA19 February 2018
Everyone seemed to be constantly unfocused too much staff was put on at once everyone often had no clue that they were doing due to lack of instructions
Cons
Short lunch breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Deli team member (Former Employee) –  Wodonga VIC18 February 2018
I had a lot of experience as my first time job. didnt mind it but was very full on at times. i wanted to be placed around the store and have more experience but wasnt aloud only had to stay in the deli. otherwise was fine to work at
Pros
money
Cons
not getting placed around the store like i asked
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
talking with the customers and helping as much as you can with lack of staff
CSR (Current Employee) –  Chisholm ACT16 February 2018
a typical work day at coles you would come in clock on do your work and if you had time help other staff if needed. help customers .talking with other staff is looked down upon
Pros
the customers and helping people
Cons
not allowed to think ahead or think for yourself
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
Console Operator/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Oak Flats NSW15 February 2018
It was a good place to work sometimes . Sometimes you work long hours by yourself. It hard to have a break and go to the toilet. And people are always calling in sick and hard to get staff
Pros
Discount cards
Cons
Long hours no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy going team members
Service Cashier (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW14 February 2018
a typical day at coles for me involves standing at the register for most of the shift serving customers, when it is not busy my da involves facing up and tidying stock, cleaning the register, answering phone calls and helping to replenish stock, coles is a great place to work if you are studying as well.
Pros
hourly rate
Cons
amount of hours received each week
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
everyone was happy and nice
retail store (Former Employee) –  Sydney Western Suburbs NSW14 February 2018
I worked for only a week but as I could see the work conditions where pretty good and the workers seemed nice and happy about their jobs. all in all I enjoyed the work there and would happily work there again.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for students or aspiring retail workers
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Australia13 February 2018
Work is constant and challenging at times but among working with like minded colleagues creates a good atmosphere.

Good for those wishing to get through college and helps with keeping your head above water.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but challenging
Service supervisor (Former Employee) –  Deer Park VIC13 February 2018
Busy but you have a good team environment. Managers help - most times. Can have difficult days where its very busy and no staff is rostered. However, overall, its a good fist job/starting point.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work at
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC13 February 2018
Poor management - Managers do not care about their employees
Do not feel like Coles tries to help employees
Most managers are not friendly
Coles is always short on staffs which puts pressure on workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coles
Work Experience (Former Employee) –  Greenacres SA10 February 2018
I loved it at Coles Greenacres. It was only work experience but it it was a great learning experience with lots of friendly people, Workers and customers.
Pros
Workers
Cons
Standing on feet all time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a enjoyable place to work in anymore
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Hurstville NSW8 February 2018
Too many drastic changes have been made to the company, affected employees, not enough support for our mental wellbeing. If they put in the effort to improve i will think about staying.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and productive environment
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Lismore NSW8 February 2018
my 1 weeks work experience at coles was challenging but educational. i learnt alot of new skils and procedures. staff were friendly and supportive. most of my days were spent packing and re packing shelves but some days i worked in the meat department and the veggie department.
Pros
very open environment
Cons
alot of work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on the store
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Batemans Bay NSW7 February 2018
Some stores are well run and can be a great place to work. Sadly though most of the management team are appointed for who they know not what they know. This leads to the wrong person in the wrong position more times than not.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Voice picker & forklift operator (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW6 February 2018
The job was fun driving a lolop machine to voice pick your orders then wrapping pallets and staging in the loading zones ,had to be quick with good stacking skills. because you were on kpi time based . Most days working on the highreach storing pallets that just came in or doing replents for pickers ..The company was really OHS strict on everything which was reassuring for tne worker's
Pros
The company supplied us with lunches and bbq every now and then
Cons
Very hard to get a permanent position
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Suitable place for everyone
Job experience student (Former Employee) –  Ashfield NSW6 February 2018
I really like working at Coles. The environment is friendly and the co-workers are so kind. Everyone always helps me .I learnt how to deal with customers, to work as a supermarket assisstant.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced enviroment but always enjoying and all team members were always willing to help.
Cashier and Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Mandurah WA6 February 2018
I did not find the job difficult as we all worked as a team.
The most enjoyable part was meeting the diverse range of people and being able to assist them when I could.
Pros
Great team enviroment
Cons
Dealing with difficult customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Coles. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 1,659 reviews
5562
4535
3394
296
172

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.6Culture