Compass Group Australia Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great casual job
Barista (Current Employee) –  Lady cilento children's hospital5 November 2017
Amazing staff and workplace , I have been here for three years because I just can't leave. The attitude is very friendly, professional and engaging. Everyone is valued and on the same level as each other.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Security LNG Wheatstone
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Wheatstone Onslow24 October 2017
High turnover staff and management for a reason hence why position is always advertised. Good roster 2 x 1 but favouritism and underhand management is rife. Two companies don't work together either.
Pros
Good roster 2 x 1
Cons
Office staff/HR have no idea of fifo conditions
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Work Place
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Brockman4/Nammuldi21 October 2017
I was there on a six month contract and really enjoyed myself, i met alot of people and now call them my family. Although the days were 12 hours shift 14 days straight it goes fast when your busy, but also your co workers make the days by alot quicker. Just an amazing experience :)
Pros
Co-Workers and Seeing alot of the wild life in the mines
Cons
No Cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
be prepared to work hard
Catering Assistant / Aged Care (Former Employee) –  Central Coast NSW11 October 2017
hard work with little or no advancement for your career.
left to learn on the job yourself no training provided
do not expect any help pleases or thank yous for a job well done.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Catering Assistant (Current Employee) –  Huntingwood NSW21 September 2017
love the job, Great environment to work in with a fantastic management, I have learnt so much throughout my 10 years but I now want to work closer to home
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pressure to make profits for management that do nothing
Head Chef / Manager (Current Employee) –  Melbourne VIC6 September 2017
A company that look after the upper management and not the staff forcing the middle management to work harder with no resources. with management that lead by just looking at figures.
Pros
education
Cons
long long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was great but i needed a change
Retail production Taronga Zoo (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW26 August 2017
I had a good time in my compass days and got to run some amazing venues and events, met a lot of great people and made good friends along the way.
unfortunately 2 young boys at home increasingly wanting dad at home more saw me eventually make a change to a different direction for a few years
Pros
great venues
Cons
hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed my nearly 3 years
Administration Manager (Former Employee) –  Spinifex Village19 August 2017
It was great to do fifo as a once in a lifetime experience and I gained so many skills from my many roles with compass. I highly enjoyed working in Admin.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good employer
Catering Assistant (Current Employee) –  Gatton College QLD24 May 2017
Productive work place. Fun. Free lunch no bullying, good training for health and safety.

Equal opportunity employer. Which is very good. Can transfer job anywhere.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Stand down time
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mine Site Work
Utility Worker (Former Employee) –  Curtis Island QLD16 May 2017
I worked on the APLNG project on Curtis Island and no day was the same I had a number of roles as a utility worker, the job was very challenging at times but was a great experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Compass are a good to work for.
Housekeeper/Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Perth WA1 May 2017
Compasses work sites where great to be at lots of friendly people & helpful.
Training was up to date all the time.
The meals where absolutely awesome.
The accommodation was cleaner & well maintained.
Pros
Free bbqs
Cons
Heat
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tropicana Managment a nightmare
Utility Worker (Current Employee) –  Tropicana28 February 2017
After coming from a place where everyone was happy to Tropicana where everyone hates the manager I was sadly disappointed to find that the bad culture was coming from the ESS site manager.
It could be a great place to work but here you are micromanaged then talked down too.

Im sure other sites have much better managers but stay away from this one
Pros
cooler weather than most mine sites
Cons
Manager
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
apprentice chef
Mine Chef FIFO (Former Employee) –  Perth WA14 February 2017
I really liked cooking was always up for a challenge the most part I liked was meeting new people and your got to move around each section there out the kitchens ,they were very helpful when you need it I don't think there was anything hard to do so long as you had a good attitude and are willing to learn all aspects of cooking
Pros
meeting new people, got to move around alot
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyone's friendly and management are helpful
Chef/Cook (Current Employee) –  Melbourne VIC25 January 2017
The company is very experienced and highly professional
It is the biggest company of its type in the world
I always allowed to try new tastes,I love cooking Asian food and French food so I am able to cook all of the things I love,no restrictions
Pros
Day shifts
Cons
Early starts
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great camp with great facilities
HOUSEKEEPER (Former Employee) –  Perth WA17 January 2017
Wonderful camp to work in with a lot of great things to see and do. Management were great with an easy approach to anything. My co workers were amazing and could not have asked for a more awesome friends that I still keep in touch with.
Pros
free food
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor managment
Head Chef (Former Employee) –  Adelaide SA11 January 2017
Poor management, unrealistic budgets, under staffed.
Worst experience I have ever had. Worse than Cater Care.
No support, and an unwillingness to learn by mistakes, or error.
Management not in touch with on the ground operations.
Big disconnect.
Pros
None
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 18NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Catering Assistant (Former Employee) –  Caulfield VIC10 January 2017
One of the most terrible company I have ever worked for absolutely terrible no words beyond this disgusting and terrible.
Pros
No thanks
Cons
No thanks
Was this review helpful?Yes 15NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was ok till I got hurt
Food an beverage (Former Employee) –  Canungra QLD17 December 2016
Pay was average, hours were good, I got hurt at work, was completely bullied by the manager, made cry several times, an after the Christmas break was never put back on the roster, not even sure if any of that was even legal, but they did it, an I was so sad An depressed at the time I let them,
Pros
No lunch or dinners not even coffee
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love my job and would like to be able to achieve my goals.
ACTIVE LIFE COACH CORODINATOR (Current Employee) –  Rolleston central Queensland19 November 2016
I really enjoy my job. I would like to be home more often or find work life balance. I would also like to have the opportunity to train in a management role.
Pros
My clients
Cons
Working away to long
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
an experience
Utility Worker (Former Employee) –  Mount Isa QLD4 November 2016
was happy to work for COMPASS GROUP but disappointed I wasn't given a job when moved to Brisbane. I know not the reason why.
Pros
belonging to a pristegious company
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Compass Group Australia. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 117 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4