Compass Group Australia Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chef / Manager / Everything else!
Chef (Former Employee) –  VIC14 February 2018
Expecting too much from you, in this very demanding role..

Chasing up all the policy and procedures / OH&S etc, etc.... from 3 companies - including ESS, for whom i worked for.

Duties in the role increased significantly once i started full time, that were not mentioned in the job description.

All the cooking and all the office work / budgeting, banking etc, had to be done by myself.

Staff backstabbing was rife. Staff taking sick days was constant - which were very hard to fill, mostly leaving us understaffed. Management using bully / pressure tactics to reduce all staff hrs, but to increase mine! including doing weekend work, all the while being on a LOW salary..

This job was done by FIFO's before me who were being paid $120k+!!
No wonder they didn't want the job!
Pros
Free lunch and coffee
Cons
Long hours, pressure tactics
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
some employees were fantastic some weren't. Management were not about helping the employees
Utility/ Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Blackwater QLD4 February 2018
some employees were fantastic some weren't. Management were not about helping the employees. typical day was serving grouchy miners who had no respect for anyone
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love my job
Cafe Attendant (Current Employee) –  Gosford NSW27 January 2018
-love my job
Love the chicks I work with
Love the atmosphere
Love working with coffee
Love my customers
Hate the parking
Not enough hours
Love my boss
Pros
Hours
Cons
My workmates
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a reliable place to work
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC24 January 2018
If upper management knew what they were doing it would help this business immensely.
They have no idea how to run a Medical Centre and procrastinate over everything.
ALL staff are constantly worried that the management will sack you for no apparent reason

Not a happy place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Bar and Dining Attendant (Current Employee) –  Singleton NSW7 December 2017
Always changing infrastructure. Fast paced environment. They don’t always train everyone who is employed. I used to love the job, being a part of a team who looks after the men & women who protect us. Know your place or you’ll get screwed over. The company will always stand behind the military and not their employees
Pros
Money isn’t good. The more hrs you can work, the more you’ll get
Cons
Work you to the bone. Constantly changing shifts, a lot of back stabbing and brown nosing
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
daily prestart .warm up job alications
utility worker (Former Employee) –  Perth Central Business District WA4 December 2017
checking our ppe is in order and going to allocated work site .making sure our work site safe to commence cleaning put out cleaning sign to commence cleaning . duties included wiping desks sweeping floors moping floors . empting bins /. cleaning coffee machines . making sure lunch rooms were fully stocked with essentials
Pros
great location
Cons
i dont think there was any
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great casual job
Barista (Current Employee) –  Lady cilento children's hospital5 November 2017
Amazing staff and workplace , I have been here for three years because I just can't leave. The attitude is very friendly, professional and engaging. Everyone is valued and on the same level as each other.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Security LNG Wheatstone
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Wheatstone Onslow24 October 2017
High turnover staff and management for a reason hence why position is always advertised. Good roster 2 x 1 but favouritism and underhand management is rife. Two companies don't work together either.
Pros
Good roster 2 x 1
Cons
Office staff/HR have no idea of fifo conditions
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Work Place
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Brockman4/Nammuldi21 October 2017
I was there on a six month contract and really enjoyed myself, i met alot of people and now call them my family. Although the days were 12 hours shift 14 days straight it goes fast when your busy, but also your co workers make the days by alot quicker. Just an amazing experience :)
Pros
Co-Workers and Seeing alot of the wild life in the mines
Cons
No Cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
be prepared to work hard
Catering Assistant / Aged Care (Former Employee) –  Central Coast NSW11 October 2017
hard work with little or no advancement for your career.
left to learn on the job yourself no training provided
do not expect any help pleases or thank yous for a job well done.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workers are hard working
OFFSHORE UNIT MANAGER - CAMP BOSS (Current Employee) –  Perth WA10 October 2017
The people I work with are reliable and hard working, however not appreciated by management. Constantly having to do extra hours and made to feel unappreciated. The more I do for these guys the more I have to do.
Pros
Equal Time off
Cons
Long hours with no Recognition, and constantly getting calls when on R&R
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and great place to learn
Catering Unit Manager (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW21 September 2017
Fun, fast paced, goal driven. Catering for 180 boarders. 1100 students via retail outlets, site based functions. Supportive management and career progression
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Catering Assistant (Current Employee) –  Huntingwood NSW21 September 2017
love the job, Great environment to work in with a fantastic management, I have learnt so much throughout my 10 years but I now want to work closer to home
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pressure to make profits for management that do nothing
Head Chef / Manager (Current Employee) –  Melbourne VIC6 September 2017
A company that look after the upper management and not the staff forcing the middle management to work harder with no resources. with management that lead by just looking at figures.
Pros
education
Cons
long long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work place was cold and angry
Utility Worker (Former Employee) –  Ipswich QLD30 August 2017
I did not like working at this place, it made everyone feel miserable and no one liked it.

The job was unsafe and had bad management.
I would not recommend anyone to work there
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was great but i needed a change
Retail production Taronga Zoo (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW26 August 2017
I had a good time in my compass days and got to run some amazing venues and events, met a lot of great people and made good friends along the way.
unfortunately 2 young boys at home increasingly wanting dad at home more saw me eventually make a change to a different direction for a few years
Pros
great venues
Cons
hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed my nearly 3 years
Administration Manager (Former Employee) –  Spinifex Village19 August 2017
It was great to do fifo as a once in a lifetime experience and I gained so many skills from my many roles with compass. I highly enjoyed working in Admin.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
alright
Apprentice Chef and Utilities Worker (Former Employee) –  Leonora WA12 August 2017
i was alright i guess. playing with dirt, rocks, fire, and dangers machinery from 4am till 1pm a lot of standing around and you get covered in dust and dirt.
Pros
good placement
Cons
nice people
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good employer
Catering Assistant (Current Employee) –  Gatton College QLD24 May 2017
Productive work place. Fun. Free lunch no bullying, good training for health and safety.

Equal opportunity employer. Which is very good. Can transfer job anywhere.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Stand down time
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mine Site Work
Utility Worker (Former Employee) –  Curtis Island QLD16 May 2017
I worked on the APLNG project on Curtis Island and no day was the same I had a number of roles as a utility worker, the job was very challenging at times but was a great experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 7Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Compass Group Australia. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 131 reviews
534
438
339
26
114

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.3Culture