David Jones Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Logistic Assistant review
Logistics Assistant (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW12 November 2017
Fulfillment center in Sydney. They have good managers, good people to work with, can be busy during seasonal sales. A lot of staff discounts and staff benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace
Department Manager (Current Employee) –  Sydney29 October 2017
I have worked here for almost 7 years and it provides great opportunities and experiences. It is a company that has had many changes over the years and is heading in the right direction.
Pros
Good work environment
Cons
Open 7 days a week
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very professional and friendly working environment
Sales Representative (Men's Fashion) (Former Employee) –  Perth WA15 October 2017
One of the best working experiences i've had, as retail is a passion for me, the staff is very professional and welcoming, i learnt a lot in the retail industry that will definitely help me in the future
Pros
had 2 of my friends working with me
Cons
getting to the location of work wasnt as easy
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and effective
Cashier/ Drinks maker (Current Employee) –  Perth WA5 October 2017
During my time for David Jones, I have learnt to have responsibilities with customer service tasks. This has also helped to have strengthened my ability to multitask.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too much stress and not enough support
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Karrinyup WA30 September 2017
Fun culture
good experience
discount
sales and product knowledge

Not much management support
very stressful environment
expected to work unpaid hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All staff are lovely people
Loss Prevention Officer (Current Employee) –  Booragoon WA28 September 2017
Friendly place to work. All staff are helpful and customer service focused. I enjoy my work as it involves a lot of interaction with staff and customers.
Pros
20% staff discount
Cons
Management could use more inter personnel training
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail
Loss Prevention Officer (Current Employee) –  Chermside QLD18 September 2017
Many different brands under one roof. A typical day includes Administration duties, watching CCTV footage and preventing Loss and Theft of merchandise.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent team work and work ethic
Childrens Department Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chermside QLD31 July 2017
There was initial training given on the working practices of David Jones. When in the workplace there was continual support and training should it be required. Team members genuinely seemed to like working there it was a good working culture
Pros
good benefits and Staff discounts
Cons
Selling the store card
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Woden ACT1 July 2017
A pleasant place to work with supportive management and a good team environment. Bonuses available for those who achieved KPIs, and great staff discounts on products.
Pros
Great discounts
Cons
High pressure sale environment to sell credit cards
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly
Data Entry Operator (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW26 June 2017
i am so happy and satisfied to work with David Jones. it is a friendly environment, work comfortable, learning scope and good management.

i got many scope to learn many new work.
Pros
friendly enviorment
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ambiente de comunidad, social, multicultural
Responsable de ventas (Former Employee) –  Sydney26 June 2017
La suma importancia de la venta al detalle, trato individualizado y profesional de cada cliente, servicio de consultoría
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Uniformed security
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC25 June 2017
Was there for people to see that they were being observed during a busy shopping period .
Hopefully put off a few shop lifters.
Not there too long but it was an ok job.
Pros
as above
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management was disgusting at this store
Sales Specialist (Former Employee) –  Macquarie Centre NSW15 June 2017
A really bad environment to work in. While employees on the same level were mostly great to work with, management is the worst I've seen in any retail environment.

There is no support, no humanity and definitely no respect for anyone but themselves. This attitude stands for all levels of management in this store.

Extremely understaffed and over worked employees. Would avoid this store in particular.
Pros
Staff discount
Cons
Awful management
Was this review helpful?Yes 20NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company and sales potential
Sales Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW8 June 2017
Good place to work, friendly people good sales.
Start work and discover the sales target for the day.
Make sure administration tasks and pays have been done.
Open store and begin day to sell items to customers.
Make sure there is not new stock to come to floor for sales.
Lunch break
Continue sales then reset registers
Close store
Pros
Staff discount
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Castle Towers NSW7 June 2017
Lovely people to work with! Customers are great too! I've learnt so much at David Jones as they regularly hold training sessions on Customer Service and WHS to keep us and the customers safe.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical retail job with little benefits
Sales Assistant (Part-Time/Casual) (Former Employee) –  Macquarie Park, New South Wales20 May 2017
Management was an issue in this workplace. Advancement in the company was near impossible. Not a positive workplace. Loved serving customers otherwise.
Pros
Great colleagues.
Cons
Not positive work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
RETAIL SALES - FASHION CONSULTANT (Former Employee) –  Canberra ACT15 May 2017
awesome people. work and great fashions. great culture David Jones has and staff discounts, very friendly team environment and team building exercises
Pros
staff discounts
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work constantly on your feet
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hornsby NSW14 May 2017
Long hours, Working through lunch breaks but good work culture with everyone willing to help out in different departments. Positive is once work was finished it stayed at work.
Pros
Team events
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great journey with a lot of learning
Sales Executive (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW2 May 2017
Working in David Jones not only gives you the reputation but also teaches you many important things related to you and your surrounding. David Jones has helped me learn brands and accessories from different places of the world and their worth in terms of material and in terms of customer preferences. Not long ago I used to wonder why these brand shops had such high prices. Now, that perspective has changed and gone for good as I have seen the products of each brand and how unique they are from one another in terms of material, heritage etc. Moreover, David Jones taught me the appropriate attitude for dealing with customers. It has taught me the right etiquette to be more presentable in front of people. I guess the lessons that I have taken from David Jones outweighs the challenges on the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace.
Interior CAD Specialist (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW1 May 2017
A typical day starts with Project updates from the Planners & Designers.
Learnt the Interior design process for Retail sector, along with fit-out & fixture details.
Good management to oversee the progress.
Friendly culture.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at David Jones. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 124 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8