Department of Education Employee Reviews

Found 79 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and rewarding
Teacher Aide (Current Employee) –  Penrith NSW30 August 2017
Love working with children and enjoy watching the growth and development as it is a great and rewarding experience. This position is an ongoing delight for me as I feel I have skills in this area and a lot to offer by way of professional approach and a commitment to education and development.
Pros
Time
Cons
Can be emotional
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was good
Teacher (Current Employee) –  New south wales14 August 2017
I loved working as am primary school teacher and it was a very rewarding job. I learnt a lot about myself and gained valuable skills as a teacher that i did not learn during univeristy
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people and management.
Facilities, Grounds & Maintenance Manager (Current Employee) –  Melbourne Northern Suburbs VIC3 August 2017
The culture is great as well as the staff. Fantastic people great culture to be involved with. But ideally would like a more in-depth challenge work wise.
Pros
Great Staff
Cons
Not stimulating
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunity of working with people who care about our future.
Teacher's Aide (Current Employee) –  Albury NSW30 July 2017
I thoroughly enjoy the opportunity of working with children and as such have found mu experience as an aide totally satisfying.
The assistance offered by all the schools I have worked with has
been invaluable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work but rewarding
Teacher (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW28 July 2017
It is always challenging to meet every student's needs, not an easy job, and it can make physical exhaustion by the end of the day. However, it is always very rewarding to see the students' great achievements and potential extended.
Pros
School holidays
Cons
Endless work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work at. Very 21st century inclined. Moving with the times technology wise.
Teacher (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW/South Coast NSW24 July 2017
I have had a very rewarding 29 years working with the Department of Education. Have moved to Sydney to do casual teaching and tutoring till retirement
Pros
The children
Cons
Heavy workload
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Teacher (Current Employee) –  Sebastian VIC15 July 2017
Its fun and enjoyable...in teaching the child especially when the learned. It gives an aspiration to them to build their skills, abilities and capacity to develop them holistically.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wireless Upgrade Project
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD26 June 2017
Managed assessments of sites, design of equipment, procurement, implementation, post implementation support
The Department of Education Queensland is a government department and works along government lines.
The management is driven by public service processes.
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
training
IT Consultant (Former Employee) –  Hobart TAS18 June 2017
Education Department is a friendly and supportive place to work.
Management are supporting and always willing to have an open mind. I enjoyed my time while working here
Pros
training
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working with children need a lot of patients
Teacher 1 (Former Employee) –  PH27 May 2017
I worked as a primary school teacher from grades 1 to 6. Experience wise is very rich and learning new skills along the way. Every year different children.
Pros
full of beautiful experience everytime
Cons
plenty of patients
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secure, reliable, high stress job
Tasmania, Early Childhood Educator (Current Employee) –  Tasmania17 May 2017
Great if you love children and teaching.
You work long hours, there's not much flexibility in the times you take leave.
It's very rewarding. Great if you have supportive staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its hard
Teacher (Former Employee) –  Kurri Kurri NSW19 April 2017
You are too busy controlling behaviour to be an affective teacher.
I loved teaching drama because that is so different then a regimental classroom teacher. You have freedom to allow students to explore themselves and their environment much more effective way of teaching
Pros
Good salary
Cons
Too much takd home work
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working alongside other team members
Teachers Aide (Current Employee) –  Campbelltown NSW16 April 2017
Working with other teachers is great, we work as a team and achieve the goals we needed to achieve. On the other hand, the main department are the ones who call the shots in pay cuts and hours which is a downfall
Pros
Great experience, learning alongside a great team
Cons
The department tends to weigh in what's right to them
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working in the depertment of education is fun and productive
Special Education Teacher (Former Employee) –  Philippines11 April 2017
The department gives us reasonable time and days of work. They support us in our professional growth and needs. The department is well balanced in managing the people and open to cultural diversity. The hardest part of my job are the paper works and report that we have to prepare. The most enjoyable part of my job is working with the children and with my co-worker.
Pros
the support us in our educational growth
Cons
they give us reasonable time to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Willing to work in any teaching agency
Public School Teacher (Current Employee) –  philippines7 March 2017
Everyday at work gives me new things to explore. I want to discover other places or countries to work with. I am happy to serve people at my best especially the school children whom I believe needs the immediate training and molding them into patriotic and good citizens in the country. It's my passion to teach basic literacy and numeracy to children.
Pros
High salary
Cons
few hours for family
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
focussed on outcomes and compliance
A/Senior Programme Officer (Former Employee) –  Wagga Wagga South NSW25 February 2017
focus on transactional activities like programmes and contract management rather than the transformational.................................................................
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good training ground in developing and inspiring the mind of the pupils.
Teacher (Current Employee) –  PHILIPPINES13 February 2017
It is not easy to be a primary teacher, but it is challenging. Helping struggling pupils in their needs is an achievement for us. Engaging in different types of pupils and handling their needs make me more proud of being a teacher.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun helping little kids with developing their skills
Education Assistant (Former Employee) –  High Wycombe WA6 February 2017
It was fun working for the education department. I was able to work part time and still be home at a reasonable time.

The teachers I worked with were very nice and made my time there easier and fun.
I got to meet a lot of people and also help with the lessons which was challenging when working with pre kindy children but also very fulfilling.
Pros
Flexible hours, no stress and good people to work with
Cons
Having the budget cut by the government and losing my job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Teacher of Swimming & Water Safety (Former Employee) –  Mandurah WA25 January 2017
A really fun work environment with plenty of room for job progression. The work itself is very rewarding and there is never an end to what you can learn or take away from the experience
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding job when students achieve their goals.
Teacher (Former Employee) –  Perth WA22 January 2017
Excellent salary and benefits but be prepared to work on school holidays with exam and assessment requirements. Great social networks and team building opportunities within and outside school environment.
Pros
Professional Development encouraged
Cons
Work/life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Department of Education. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 2,267 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8

CEO Approval

84%
838 ratings
Add your rating