Downer EDI Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toucher chamber
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  North Sydney NSW13 February 2018
Nothing works its all fragmented lots of chiefs and parasites that thrive in broken environments beyond repair. There's good people but they dont last long.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Long hours, work overloading
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Downer EDI
Program Advisor (Former Employee) –  Sydney, Austraila31 January 2018
When I worked for Downer, I had a great team and a pro-active manager with a driven attitude. I wanted to stay there for longer, however my visa expired.
Pros
Free Lunches
Cons
Distance to travel
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical fifo gig
Instrument Tradesperson Electrician (Former Employee) –  Onslow WA30 January 2018
Construct and install cable tray, ladder, Instrumentation, small Light and power, control and power cables.

Calibrate and test Instrumentation - valves, Flow/Pressure Transmitters etc.

Construct and Terminate Gantry Cranes.
Pros
Good Pay, accommodation and food provided, gym access and classes
Cons
working away and on a 4:1 roster
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had fun with the staff and friends I,ve work with
Haul Truck Operator (Former Employee) –  Christmas Creek W,A10 January 2018
It was great to go back to work and meet friendly staffs and work mates and the feeling of just being back out in the pilbara working at day and night shift ,And accommodation was good ,the food was excellent ,it was good to back there working,
Pros
Good food
Cons
No cons, it was good to meet friendly people
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
QC co-ordinator (Former Employee) –  Queensland16 December 2017
Good company to work for, with a very professional management team. Very diversified with job opportunities. Downer has the ability to draw on staff and resources internally from other projects to assist with delivery of projects ontime.
Unfortunately, in my opinion, job security is not forthcoming in my chosen field, however, Downer does make an effort to find alternative opportunities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good company
PROJECT ENGINEER (SMP) (Former Employee) –  Western Australia6 December 2017
very good company
good people to work with
high quality facilities
safe working environment
friendly people.
multicultural environment.
caring management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company, terrible management.
Electrical supervisor (Former Employee) –  Barrow Island WA26 November 2017
Downers don't care about their workers it's only the dollars they're concerned about.
On Barrow Island it was amazing the continuous lies they kept telling the client to get themselves out of trouble and to make them look good.
Safety was all smoke and mirrors. I don't know how many times they turned a blind eye just to get the job done.
Unless you're mates or enjoy kissing the managers or superintendents butts there is no future for you.
Pros
Good guys in the same boat
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High reputation for technical excellence.
BD Manager (Freight and Passenger) (Former Employee) –  Perth WA23 November 2017
Excellent employer with many facets to their service offering. Specialised in rail industry and mining services. The One Downer approach have been an integral part to wining large projects.
Pros
Many facets to employment opportunities
Cons
Lack of local operations for Downer Rail.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good team efforts
electrical trades assistant Tele handler operator (Former Employee) –  Karratha WA23 November 2017
following orders working away good management
Working as a team to get the job done working as a T/A having responsibility given and opportunities to learn
Pros
learning
Cons
job finished
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked on contract in JV in Brisbane, in Perth, and in Sydney
SUNSHINE COAST PROJECT MANAGEMENT (Former Employee) –  Brisbane, Perth, Sydney22 November 2017
Overall a good responsible company to work for from a contract point of view. A typical day at work would be a meeting with the team I worked with to update where the project or tender was ahead or behind schedule and put measures in place to meet schedule. Then head down and do what I was contracted to do.

The work was enjoyable as most staff were prepared to help when necessary.

The company had a good safety, environmental, and quality culture.
Pros
Always felt comfortable with staff and management.
Cons
No treal cons. My contracts with Downer were usually short duration so difficult to make comment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managment Diffcult to work with
Project Controls Manager - WA (Former Employee) –  Perth WA4 September 2017
The company has many divisions but the section i worked within was very poorly run. The lack of smart leadership meant that the overall project and project team suffered.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start the career
Oracle DBA (Current Employee) –  North Ryde NSW7 August 2017
Right place to start but not good place for long run. There is good learning opportunity. Work culture is very good. The hardest part of the job is understanding the system environment.
Pros
Good learning
Cons
No Job Security
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and enjoyable
Electrician (Former Employee) –  Port Melbourne VIC24 July 2017
Great company to work for, really enjoyed my time there. Very professional with great importance of workplace safety and encouraging a team work atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management change was the end of a great company
Electrical Fitter Mechanic, Boilermaker (Former Employee) –  Gladstone QLD18 July 2017
Was a great company to work for until recent management changes and what seems to have become a culture of being just a number instead of a valued team member.
Pros
Great team onsite
Cons
Management needs to value their long term employees more
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job I ever had!
TRAFFIC CONTROLLER (Former Employee) –  Perth WA29 June 2017
I loved working here! The management staff were wonderful to work with, if there was an issue they dealt with it appropriately. The training was sufficient and ongoing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working For Downer
Electrical Trade Assistant (Former Employee) –  Onslow WA27 June 2017
For the past 5 years i have worked for downer as an electrical trades assistant. My time there I have learnt a lot about the construction & mining industry.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people on the right jobs
Electrician (Former Employee) –  Port Hedland WA21 June 2017
happily work with downer again. all jobs so far have been well run and good support all round. if I wasn't moving I would continue to work here doing fifo
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Leaning Experience for HR
HR Services Officer (Former Employee) –  North Ryde NSW17 May 2017
Learnt a lot regarding Oracle/ ExpressHR, EBA's how the construction industry leave entitlements it was a great way into the way in which I learnt how HR on site and how payroll to build a good relationship with them.
Pros
Learing about EBA, working with payroll
Cons
tight deadlines
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working for EDI was great and I enjoyed it very much
Leading Hand (Former Employee) –  Curtis Island QLD30 April 2017
Working with the other worker from the company was great I meet
many great guys, I also enjoyed the work as I felt that I was
part of a team, from top to the worker.
Pros
looked after
Cons
No flow up after completion of work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
safety conscience company
Regional Procurement Manager, Projects (Former Employee) –  Melbourne City Centre VIC24 April 2017
Typical day starts round 7.30am
Review previous days tasks and complete if not done
Attend daily catch up meetings either in person or telephone conference
Depending on what projects were on the go arrange meetings with (Telephone Conference) International cable manufacture suppliers and follow up on progress.
Pros
Great Projects and People
Cons
Long hours and lots of travel
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Downer EDI. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 219 reviews
581
487
330
28
113

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.7Culture