Downer EDI Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good team efforts
electrical trades assistant Tele handler operator (Former Employee) –  Karratha WA23 November 2017
following orders working away good management
Working as a team to get the job done working as a T/A having responsibility given and opportunities to learn
Pros
learning
Cons
job finished
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked on contract in JV in Brisbane, in Perth, and in Sydney
SUNSHINE COAST PROJECT MANAGEMENT (Former Employee) –  Brisbane, Perth, Sydney22 November 2017
Overall a good responsible company to work for from a contract point of view. A typical day at work would be a meeting with the team I worked with to update where the project or tender was ahead or behind schedule and put measures in place to meet schedule. Then head down and do what I was contracted to do.

The work was enjoyable as most staff were prepared to help when necessary.

The company had a good safety, environmental, and quality culture.
Pros
Always felt comfortable with staff and management.
Cons
No treal cons. My contracts with Downer were usually short duration so difficult to make comment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managment Diffcult to work with
Project Controls Manager - WA (Former Employee) –  Perth WA4 September 2017
The company has many divisions but the section i worked within was very poorly run. The lack of smart leadership meant that the overall project and project team suffered.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start the career
Oracle DBA (Current Employee) –  North Ryde NSW7 August 2017
Right place to start but not good place for long run. There is good learning opportunity. Work culture is very good. The hardest part of the job is understanding the system environment.
Pros
Good learning
Cons
No Job Security
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and enjoyable
Electrician (Former Employee) –  Port Melbourne VIC24 July 2017
Great company to work for, really enjoyed my time there. Very professional with great importance of workplace safety and encouraging a team work atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management change was the end of a great company
Electrical Fitter Mechanic, Boilermaker (Former Employee) –  Gladstone QLD18 July 2017
Was a great company to work for until recent management changes and what seems to have become a culture of being just a number instead of a valued team member.
Pros
Great team onsite
Cons
Management needs to value their long term employees more
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job I ever had!
TRAFFIC CONTROLLER (Former Employee) –  Perth WA29 June 2017
I loved working here! The management staff were wonderful to work with, if there was an issue they dealt with it appropriately. The training was sufficient and ongoing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working For Downer
Electrical Trade Assistant (Former Employee) –  Onslow WA27 June 2017
For the past 5 years i have worked for downer as an electrical trades assistant. My time there I have learnt a lot about the construction & mining industry.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people on the right jobs
Electrician (Former Employee) –  Port Hedland WA21 June 2017
happily work with downer again. all jobs so far have been well run and good support all round. if I wasn't moving I would continue to work here doing fifo
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Leaning Experience for HR
HR Services Officer (Former Employee) –  North Ryde NSW17 May 2017
Learnt a lot regarding Oracle/ ExpressHR, EBA's how the construction industry leave entitlements it was a great way into the way in which I learnt how HR on site and how payroll to build a good relationship with them.
Pros
Learing about EBA, working with payroll
Cons
tight deadlines
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working for EDI was great and I enjoyed it very much
Leading Hand (Former Employee) –  Curtis Island QLD30 April 2017
Working with the other worker from the company was great I meet
many great guys, I also enjoyed the work as I felt that I was
part of a team, from top to the worker.
Pros
looked after
Cons
No flow up after completion of work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
safety conscience company
Regional Procurement Manager, Projects (Former Employee) –  Melbourne City Centre VIC24 April 2017
Typical day starts round 7.30am
Review previous days tasks and complete if not done
Attend daily catch up meetings either in person or telephone conference
Depending on what projects were on the go arrange meetings with (Telephone Conference) International cable manufacture suppliers and follow up on progress.
Pros
Great Projects and People
Cons
Long hours and lots of travel
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great to work for good support from management
Site Supervisor/Mgr (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD15 March 2017
Challenging environment, good people, got the chance to extend my experience and well rewarded for efforts...variety of works and never boring.

Got to see most of Australia and learned a lot from my peers and crews I've managed.
Pros
Well rewarded
Cons
None that come to mind
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a nice crowd
sub contractor (Former Employee) –  Blackwater QLD28 February 2017
management have no respect for the real workforce and is made up of supervisors whome are overloaded with unrealistic exspectations by higher management.This is then transferred through the workforce,where the hypocracy of safety is only superficialy relayed through prestarts meetings to appease the major client.This company uses peoples fear of not being able to pay their morgages to enslave them in a workplace with less respect then being in prison.
Pros
nil
Cons
unrespectful
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good bunch of people to work with
Boilermaker/Leading Hand (Former Employee) –  Mt isa QLD14 February 2017
Get towork see what jobs needed to be done either in the workshop or out on site. gather what was needed, tooling, materials, vehicles and then head out to the job site.
Worked many continuous days and long hours
Pros
good people, made good money
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The hardest put of the job
Rigger/Trades assistant/Scaffolder (Former Employee) –  Orbost VIC11 February 2017
The hardest part of the job was working out in the rain and wind and long grass as we did not have a workshop and most of the welders were broken down it always took awhile to get the equipment that you needed for the job apart from that i had the pleasure of working with great guys and was happy to be shown some jobs i have never done and was taught a great deal.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Electrician (Former Employee) –  Perth WA23 January 2017
Long hours but worth it!

- I learned to work well in a team environment

- Management was fair

- Diverse workplace culture which is a plus

- Being away from home for long periods is the down side to this kind of work

- Socializing and using the recreational facilities was on the up side to the job on the mine
Pros
Recreational facilities
Cons
being away from home for long periods
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic environment with a great work culture.
Senior Recruitent Officer (Current Employee) –  Perth East St Georges Tce WA18 January 2017
I have learnt a great deal about the Downer business and in particular being involved with some of the largest Oil and Gas Projects in Australia which has been challenging but also exciting and rewarding.
Pros
Friendly work environment.
Cons
Long Hours at times.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and great team to be a part of.
Electrical Trades Assistant (Former Employee) –  Perth WA15 January 2017
Learning all aspects of theElectrical Trade. Installing Lighting towers.
Pulling cable and trench works.
Operating and learning to use different types of mobile equipment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
all good to work for
Advance Scaffolder / Leading hand (Former Employee) –  Barrow Island WA6 January 2017
they pay me to do a job so thats what i will do !!!
pays on time good crew of people. no more to say
they give you oppertunitys to progress .............just filling in the minimum word quota now
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Downer EDI. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 207 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.6
Culture
3.7