Gloria Jean's Coffees Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Friendly environment.
Barista/All Rounder (Former Employee) –  Glenmore Park NSW9 January 2018
As i'm not sure for all stores, my store was a lovely place to work.
We received penalty/weekend rates and everyone got along.
Previous boss had paid minimum wage, but after a switch over we gained normal basic rates. Would encourage to work there, experience needed is minimal as most training is done in store.
Pros
30% Of drinks, Free drink per shift
Cons
Minimal hours provided
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Time Reliable
Barista duties, cleaning, food preparation (Former Employee) –  Windsor NSW20 December 2017
When working amongst a great team, work can be very welcoming and successful, like Gloria Jeans café was next to The Grill ON George street, however not so much Gloria Jeans in the riverview centre.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly co-workers
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Chatswood NSW20 December 2017
* you would have to get the customers' orders, make drinks/coffee or serve with the food. You'll have to clean the tables, e.g. wipe the tables, relocate the chairs/tables, put the rubbish away.
Pros
Employee discounts
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People you work with become your family
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Logan QLD27 November 2017
Very people orientated. Experience depends on management as this is a franchise business. Training can be a bit cut throat but is fool proof over all. Takes a lot of dedication to coffee and the job to be happy here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most enjoyable part of the job
Customer Service / Cashier (Former Employee) –  Kogarah NSW10 November 2017
Working here is enjoyable even in days it gets hectic and busy. You build customer relationship and co workers also.There is good workplace culture and the day go's by so easily.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good environment
Customer Service Barista (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW6 November 2017
I learned how to deal with the customer and how to work on time and how to coordinate with other. The management was also good. the other store person was supportive.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Barista/All Rounder (Current Employee) –  Tweed Heads South NSW31 October 2017
Very friendly colleagues and great customers. Daytime hours as it’s located in a shopping center.
Nice coffee and friendly boss to work with. Overall good job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and enjoyable place to work
Customer service (Former Employee) –  Broken Hill NSW18 October 2017
This is an interesting place for a productive day of work, where you spend time making many different types of coffee and other drinks e.g iced tea, milkshakes, hot chocolate, blended ice drinks etc. The management was good, for people not used to being on their feet it is a new experience with hours walking around without sitting, but that can be overcoming over time. the most enjoyable is meeting new people and trying new things.
Pros
free small drink
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy place to work
Casual Employee (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW12 October 2017
I like the people there but I would rather do something I enjoy and I don’t really enjoy cleaning all that much. I make cold drinks and hot drinks also clean and take costumers orders. I get along well with costumers.
Pros
Free drinks
Cons
Always on night shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The workplace
Back of house/Front of house Waitress (Former Employee) –  Bankstown NSW29 September 2017
The work placement was great, Learned how to make cold and hot beverages along with serving it. Great workers in the placement. very welcoming and they show you around!
Pros
Free food and drinks
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly paid, but nice paced job and friendly employees.
Barista (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD25 September 2017
The job was fast paced but the electronic screen made it easier to keep up with the rushes and having two people on the machine made it easier as well. I was treated rudely by one of the managers at the start, but towards the end I had less shifts with her. The organisation of the business was poor as well- rosters were sent out on a Sunday before the week started.
Pros
Free Coffee
Cons
Poor pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great part time job
Barista/Waitress (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW19 September 2017
Gloria jeans was a perfect part time job for me while I was finishing high school and also my first year out of school. I made some really great friends which I am still friends with today. Management looked after me well and were never unfair to me.
Pros
Free coffees
Cons
Working till 10pm
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fast paced and fun atmosphere
Hospitality (Former Employee) –  Darwin NT14 September 2017
I thoroughly enjoyed working and doing the barista training required it was always a very fast moving and fun place to work employees would get free lunch and drinks through shifts
Pros
free lunches and drinks on shift and discounted when not on shift
Cons
long hours on your feet
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very professional atmosphere
Owner/Manager (Current Employee) –  Moorabbin VIC28 August 2017
I learnt peoples skills and customer service.
I can lead a team very easily now.
I am a professional barista and I know how to run the business with profit.
We have a different day everyday.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not What I Expected
Barista (Former Employee) –  Jesmond NSW22 August 2017
A typical day at work consisted of serving beverages to customers and they would complain about different aspects of our store.
I didn't learn much except to not listen to others judgement of people.
I often question how the management got their position as they were constantly making mistakes with ordering in stock and in my time working there, more than 3 shift leaders were fired based on order times or cleaning habits or just general behaviour from one day at work.
I found that the culture of the workplace was miserable with a common chatter of "I've been applying for other jobs".
The hardest part of the job was dealing with at least 5 customer complaints in one day.
The most enjoyable part was occasionally working with some of the younger workers i'd made friends with.
Pros
free coffee
Cons
late notice of shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Barista/Waitress (Former Employee) –  Dapto NSW21 August 2017
I enjoyed being a barista, it was a good social job. Learning customers and creating a bond. Although I wanted something more challenging. I enjoy the people I worked with.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love working here
Barista, food preparation, cash handling (Current Employee) –  Wendouree Village VIC26 July 2017
During my time at Gloria Jeans Coffees I have learnt a great deal, made great friends, and really value my time that I have been privileged to share with every one there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Serving exceptional coffee
Barista (Former Employee) –  Browns Plains QLD17 July 2017
Providing customer service
Serving beverages and food
Easy and good health and safety, clean environment
Maintaining a good friendly atmosphere between customers when it is busy
Leaving the customer satisfied
Pros
Free beverages / food
Cons
Short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and lively but poorly managed
Trained barista (Former Employee) –  Ballarat VIC12 July 2017
the Gloria Jeans environment is exciting and rewarding, we were always on our feet and ready to go
the management was less than impressive though- needs to improve
Pros
experience
Cons
boss
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Barista (Former Employee) –  Winston Hills NSW26 June 2017
was good experience, really enjoyed it. it allowed me to balance uni study and work. gave god payment. training was well done. would recommend to anyone looking for a job to apply there
Pros
free drinks
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Gloria Jean's Coffees. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 285 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.4
Culture
3.8