Hogs Breath Cafe Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rude employees
Kitchen hand (Former Employee) –  Epping VIC8 January 2018
Not a good place to start a career path, the bosses were rude and so were their employees.
The work life balance was terrible, despite my certificates I was underpaid.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome vibes
Terrigal' Cook and Desert maker (Former Employee) –  Terrigal NSW2 January 2018
Worked here back in the day during christmas period. Very fast paced. We were smashing out over 300 orders within the night time and the pay was great. Was working in the kitchen. Awesome vibes with fellow employees
Pros
Great pay, Lovely staff.
Cons
Don't expect to get a break if its busy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly staff and great service
Kitchen hand (Former Employee) –  Joondalup WA11 December 2017
It was nice to work in Hog's Breath Cafe. They have good service with friendly staff. They know how to serve their customer. the area is really clean.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not good
Kitchen Hand (Former Employee) –  Sydney Central Business District NSW5 December 2017
I did not enjoy my job at hogs breath, it was a very stressful environment and the hours are not worth the abuse from managers, might be better if it was better pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Amazing Staff
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Melbourne Western Suburbs VIC19 November 2017
Having the privilege to work at Hogs Breath is a blast and an absolutely amazing time. There is no better place than Hogs Breath as the Hogspitatilty is outstanding and there are friendly staff.
Pros
Friendly Staff
Cons
Hard work
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Waitress and bartender (Former Employee) –  Blacktown NSW10 November 2017
Really good place to work at, taught me the skills I have now 3 years on, which I still remember to this day and have used it in the last few jobs I've had. Was really good training from the management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at work
Food Runner (Former Employee) –  Perth WA1 November 2017
I loved working at Hogs breath it was a lovely place to work and was always busy so there was always something to do and you were never just standing around doing nothing.
Pros
good place to work
Cons
hours got cut as more staff joined
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hourly rate is terrible
Casual Waiter (Former Employee) –  Aspley QLD31 October 2017
I worked here for 2 weeks because of how poorly you get paid and the hours you work is only 4 hours a week and that's not enough for me. It is a fun working environment but the pay and the hours are terrible.
Pros
Fun working environment
Cons
Hourly rate and hours are terrible
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
FOH / Bartender/Barista/Manager (Former Employee) –  Napier NZ30 October 2017
Working there for 3+ years , was a fun environment. Main downside to it was split shifts due to closing times In the afternoon.

Recommend working there if your interested in hospitality
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and easy going workplace
Kitchen Hand (Casual) (Former Employee) –  Hervey Bay QLD5 October 2017
I absolutely loved working at hogs breath. The staff were so friendly and easy to get along with, they also were always willing to help one another out. I always looked forward to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and lively work place
Head Chef (Former Employee) –  Caloundra QLD2 October 2017
There was very rarely any quiet times during work but always was enjoyable. I learned the ins and outs of running a busy restaurant and how to manage a team efficiently.
Pros
free lunches, fun staff
Cons
demanding work hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid this place 4810
Food and Beverage Attendant (Former Employee) –  Townsville City QLD25 September 2017
Awful management at my store, with pay rates that in no way were worth what you had to put up with (not quite $14 as an 18yr old), no benefits bar some super and holiday hours, no penalties, mothers/fathers day was a absolute must work (even for the girl whos mum wouldnt be around for any more mothers days ever) regular split shifts, long hours (without breaks) and late nights with no compensation.
Pros
Staff are nice
Cons
Everything else!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Kitchen Hand (Current Employee) –  Morayfield12 September 2017
Enjoy learning kitchen skills
Teamwork
Learning great communication skills
Ability to work in high pressure environments
Customer Service
Kitchen maintenance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible pay for horrible hours
Cook (Former Employee) –  Port Macquarie NSW5 September 2017
with no penalty rates for weekends or public holidays and long hard hours it was not a fun job to be in.
Other employees were rude.
no negotiation of shifts, no outside life.
Pros
eat left over food
Cons
no life, bad pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Widening skill set
Kitchen Hand (Former Employee) –  Wagga Wagga NSW6 August 2017
I had learned so much being at hogs breath when it comes to the finer details of being a chef and putting the customers first. Great mangagent, amazing staff
Pros
Happy environment
Cons
Split shifts, no penalty rates
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no breaks, no benefits, illegal
Dishy (Former Employee) –  Perth WA5 August 2017
I worked at Hogs Breath for a few months, during which time I was treated poorly, given no breaks, provided no superannuation and paid very little for the work conditions.
Pros
free meal if you work over 6 hours
Cons
no breaks or super
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Team Oriented Workplace
Larder Cook (Former Employee) –  Canberra ACT26 July 2017
Hog's Breath Café was a fun workplace with a great team and team mentality. Intense dinner service shifts with great support during the busy shifts. Friendly management.
Pros
Free Lunches
Cons
Very busy for dinner
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hospitality job
Chef (supervisor) (Current Employee) –  kelmcott wa25 July 2017
not good job who want to balance life and work.
you have to work split hours and work on the weekend

no double pay on a public holiday.
you have to work on mothers day and fathers day.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
you have to work weekends
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright
Chef (Former Employee) –  Tuggerah NSW14 July 2017
Works alright not that bad
learned my trade skills
managment is young but ok
workplace culture and morale is good and high
hardest part is dealing with the owner
best part the people
Pros
50% discount
Cons
long days
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Work Place
Kitchen Hand (Former Employee) –  Cairns QLD6 June 2017
When I first started at Hogs Breath, I thought it was great. The pay was awesome, I worked with an awesome kitchen team and I never had any troubles. And then for some reason, everything went bad. There were arguments between wait staff and kitchen staff, things kept going missing, and eventually, I was just taken off the roster. To this day (1.5yrs after working there) I have still not been contacted in the slightest as to why I lost my job or was kicked off the team.
Pros
Cheap Lunches
Cons
Dreadful Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Hogs Breath Cafe. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 106 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.6
Culture
3.9