Marriott International, Inc. Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unorganised management
Commis chef (Former Employee) –  Port Douglas QLD6 January 2018
changing management between startwood to Marriot, it gave bad impact to my sponsorship. i have to leave this job in the middle path for my sponsorship
Pros
free meals
Cons
unorganised
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent pace to work
F&B Attendant (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW13 December 2017
Beautiful hotel and location and pleasant management.
Transport to get to and travel is excellent location.
Great training place for me to learn a lot about hospitality.
Pros
Meals are tasty and great.
Cons
We get paid well for and overtime so its great make good money.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace
Shift Leader (Current Employee) –  allegro4 December 2017
its good for short term but for a long term career its not that recommended, but for working visa its good place and to gather and practice your skills
Pros
free lunch
Cons
roster start time no roster finish time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice to work but long hour work
Commis III (Former Employee) –  united arab emirates1 December 2017
It was really memorable time while I work with ritz carlton abudhabi. I have got lots of experience and skills during the time of eighten months.people from different country and service they provide to customer was really nice and inspiring but didnot found any motivation and need to work for long hour up to 17 hours a day and paying just maximum of 2 hours of overtime. They Just suck blood of staff. So I leave that place.
Pros
Goodwill
Cons
Long hours work up to 17 hours a day without extra pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A world famous brand and a great company to work for
Accounts Receivable Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Perth WA17 September 2017
The Sheraton was a great company and family of brands to work for. The environment was one enjoyment and teamwork. Felt like family. Interesting work and never dull.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice experience working at Westin
apprentice pastry cook (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC7 August 2017
Westin is a big hospitality Industry, the Westin Kitchen full of people from all over the world. it's been fun working at Westin, I made a lot of friends there. from day 1 they trusted me in making some recipe at Westin Kitchen. pastry chef de party let us learn by experience, she is a cool Lady who runs Westin pastry kitchen for 10 years. the hardest part of the job is just the quantity we produce is in a huge amount. it was difficult in the beginning but as time goes, it becomes easier.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too much work in limited time
Steward (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW29 July 2017
Stewarding job was always tough and gets tougher with time. Every time there is a change in management, the stewarding department gets burdened with extra jobs to be completed in same time with little or no help and this way management shows its efficiency of optimal utilization of resources.
Pros
International students always get this job
Cons
Extremely busy if you try to finish all the assigned tasks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work
Events Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW7 April 2017
A very interesting place to work at with a lot of job rotation within the department.
Many different opportunities to explore and grow with the brand.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Middle Management leaves much to be desired
Concierge / Commissionaire (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW16 March 2017
Lots of talk about caring about employees but not much actual management in regard to this. This company should practice more of what it preaches to it's employees
Pros
Starwood accomodation discounts
Cons
O n your feet all day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
renaissance 5 star hotel
Kitchen Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW15 March 2017
i only did a 2 weeks work experience in this hotel .. it wasn't a paid job .. gained experience working in the back kitchen with food preparation and kitchen hand duties like washing up and cleaning , chopping ingredients and other duties
Pros
great food
Cons
standing long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for a large chain was benifical
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Perth WA9 March 2017
Working with a vast diverse
of people. That everyone works together to give 100%.
Not every day is the same. Management were there to give you guidance if needed.
Seeing the regulars come back and being treated like family.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and very nice workplace
Cook Trainee (Former Employee) –  Amelia Island, Florida, United States of America23 February 2017
Working in this company gives you a lot of benefits. Being able to work in this luxury hotel is an honor. You will experience a lot of things, you have the opportunity to work with great people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
helped me improve
Concierge (Former Employee) –  City of Sydney NSW16 December 2016
It was a good place to work , i learned a lot about customer service and managing money , made a lot of friends and grow in a good working environment.
Pros
consistent work
Cons
bad management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Pace Environment, High Expectation- Great place to succeed and learn
Banqueting & Conference Manager (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW5 December 2016
The Westin Sydney is a high end property with guests with high expectations. Great Place to develop and, due the lean structure, to have exposure to areas that within my current role I would not have access too.
Pros
Access to Resources
Cons
Long Hours however within the normal expectations from a hotel.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy and fun
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Perth WA29 November 2016
A great hotel to work for.its busy depending on the season , wok hours can be long or short , you get to meet a lot of people,There is different department to choose
Pros
cheap lunch
Cons
short and long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice for ever
Bar waiter (Former Employee) –  Honeywood TAS16 October 2016
is my best hotel and good organize nice system good staff nice guest is veryy nice hotel in el gona honest safety hotel nice
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and good workplace
Houseman (Current Employee) –  collins st. melbourne Vic12 September 2016
always busy working place because it is in the city and many people are coming in the hotel.i have learned a lot because I am working not only for one position but three. i have learned how to manage time very well and how to offer a very good customer service.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company that Cares
Front Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW3 August 2016
Great place, Great leaders and thrives on empowerment. Enjoyed my stint with them and grateful for the opportunities for travel.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
highest level of service in everyday
F &B attendant (Current Employee) –  27 little collins street21 July 2016
Typical day starts with a greeting with my team and people with other department followed by briefing.
seafood buffet dinner during the whole week involves a good team effort which i enjoy a lot.
setting buffet, table allocation, guests with food allergy and special requirement and hotel occupancy are the key to deliver the highest level of service.
management is supportive and great fun to work with.
i have learned effective use of micros system,wine knowledge and modern cocktail recipe.
more the pressure more i enjoy working in these situation as i take it as challenge in satisfying guests needs and wants.
always try to wow the guests by going that extra mile.
Pros
free seafood buffet for staff
Cons
no breaks during long shifts.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and cooperative work environment with good benefits
Food and Beverage Attendant (Current Employee) –  Sydney Central Business District NSW17 July 2016
Basically, we set the hall or room for the conferences, dinners or any events in the hotel, and serve food and beverages. I have learned how to work as professional team here and how to make memorable moment to our guest. All supervisors and co-workers are very cooperative and supportive. We work as a team as if we were a big family. I really enjoy meeting and serving people as 5 stars level. I found the motivation by helping people and making them happy.
Pros
Excellent work environment
Cons
few shift and opportunity for further career
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Marriott International, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 14,784 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.7
Culture
4.0