NAB - National Australia Bank Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales orintainted Organisation
Customer Advisor / Banking Advisor (Former Employee) –  Mornington Peninsula VIC21 November 2017
Its all about sales, meetings about sales meetings and debriefing on sales.
I feel the bank has lost some goodwill in nature and focuses only on achieving set sales targets, at the clients experience. My review is only the culture in the Branches and head office postions may be different. The colleagues are lovely however are put under undue duress in relation to meeting sales targets.
Hardest part of the job is achieving sales targets in an integral and honest nature. There is a culture of working unpaid over time.
The most enjoyable part is meeting clients when they come into the branches and being able to assist the in achieving their financial goals. I have made life long friends from the colleagues I have worked with.
Pros
Uniform is supplied
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs a lot improvement in all areas
AML/CTF Officer (Current Employee) –  Melbourne City Centre VIC19 November 2017
Slow systems, frequent crash downs, huge technical upgrades required. Company require to look at the management structuring and improve workplace culture. Recruit talent from outside rather than creating eye wash.
Pros
Training, time flexibility
Cons
Long hours, poor systems, weekend work, poor management, no clear path defined to follow both operationally and technologically, work place culture, recruit right talent, increase risk appetite as a bank, still far behind major banks both locally and internationally, invest on technology and people. make right choices
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive and understanding manangement
Account Manager - Corporate Superannuation (Current Employee) –  Sydney, Australia16 November 2017
The company has been very good to me ever since I started. The managers were very helpful and understanding, and had a lot of foresight in seeing how their staff could grow, and they are very supportive in that sense.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of options
Banker (Current Employee) –  Knox City Centre VIC13 November 2017
I learned to care for the customers that had done NAB right. but when it came down to someone struggling there was not much care from them even when the customer was honest and asking for help which was disappointing to see.
The culture is very much the 'cool kids' and everyone else that didn't matter.You could often hear the 'cool kids' talking negatively about anyone and everyone which was very sad as you would think a bank would be above politics??
Pros
weekends free
Cons
work/life balance, just a number, the myth of career progression
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NAB values people
Team Leader Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Melbourne City Centre VIC8 November 2017
NAB is a great place as there is career progression and team culture and engagement is a key priority. The direct contact centre is a fast paced but exciting area to be involved in.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bank hours, low pay but decent benefits, focus on sales.
Customer service Adviser/ Lead Teller (Former Employee) –  Mount Isa QLD25 October 2017
Low hours due to bank work, will have to put in regular unpaid overtime, ie start early and finish late by about 30-45 total until you really learn the role. Upper management only cares about figures, lower management varies from person to person, and can very well be terrible, and as long as they talk the talk managment doesn't care.
but with a good team it can be very enjoyable with reasonable opportunity for advancement within 4-5 years.
Pros
good work life balance due to late start and early finish
Cons
low salary and very dependant on good team and management to succeed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive supportive and Work life culture
Pre Assessment Officer (Current Employee) –  Melbourne City Centre VIC22 October 2017
Its a great experience every day. NAB has a great working policies which supports a lot to work life balance concept.
Nab has a great working culture and off course it has great goodwill in Australian market.
Pros
very supportive team and good working culture
Cons
mine is temp Job
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team but poor management
Business Credit Analyst (Former Employee) –  Perth WA6 October 2017
More like a factory worker and they micro manage you. You are expected to submit file a day, and point is given to a file depending on the complexity. Great team, however almost impossible target to achieve which make it stressful.
Pros
Great individual
Cons
Almost Impossible target to achieve
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture
Product Manager (Current Employee) –  St Leonards NSW11 September 2017
No single day is same in my role and constant opportunities to learn more. Having multiple divisions and multiple locations provide great flexibility to move around.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
homeside lending...
Inbound CSA, mortgage Service Centre (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC6 September 2017
Home side lending was a division of the NAB, who had only just purchased the model from the American loan market -which differed enormously from the Australian lending market at the time- so the product struggled to 'fit'. The system was based in Texas which made it clunky and extremely slow- it was difficult & outmoded (so much so that new parts for the server were almost impossible to source), and I remember many long lasting computer system outages. I did get a lot of reading done at my desk waiting for the system to come back online. Subsequently, I didn't stay in this position for long...
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quite good to work for.
Enterprise Services Technology Banker (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC5 September 2017
Generally quite a good company to work for, they seem to care about their employers and do not drive you too hard to meet targets, minimising stress levels.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work enviroment. Positive and Fun.
Mortgage Retention Specialist (Outbound) (Former Employee) –  Docklands VIC29 August 2017
It was an amazing experience. The people were great and the enviroment was amazing.
There were many opportunities to move around with in the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We all got along very well great teamwork
Customer Service 24 years (Former Employee) –  Sunbury27 August 2017
Close to home part time 4 days a week every Monday off hence the 24 years service loved the local people's always friendlyI would work on my day off to help out short staff
Pros
Great place to work
Cons
Bit pushy on sales targets with only local customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A diverse job culture with high expectations
Banker (Former Employee) –  Adelaide SA26 August 2017
Over a period of 21 years I experienced many changes with the company. I feel that through the changes, staff lost their status in lieu of shareholders satisfaction. I would have liked to see the bank value their staff more and take into consideration the different needs of them all.

When I ended my career I was working an average of 50 hours per week which was not unusual but we were made to feel that it was our job and not to claim payment for extra work.

I left because of long and underpaid hours and high stress levels
Pros
Some workplaces were fun
Cons
Log Hours, High Stress from unreasonable expectations
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Analyst (Former Employee) –  Melbourne, Australia22 August 2017
Excellent culture in the company
Great career opportunities worldwide, very supportive environment and flexible workplace. Highly recommend as a place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the Customer Journeys Work
Change Management Consultant (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW15 August 2017
Good leadership
care about customers, people & stakeholders
Enjoyed working on Agile/LEAN methodologies
Telling the why for the change is very critical for change to succeed.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
National Bank if very Target and result driven
Residential Valuer (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC4 August 2017
A typical day would start with a 10 minute meeting of all staff with the days expectations, designed to motivate the staff to do their best and achieve targets.
If you are wanting to advance within the company you are expected to be self motivated a to drive your own career by working outside the square and to go above and beyond.
Pros
Flexible working arrangements
Cons
Long hours to achieve expectations
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Senior Analyst Programmer (Current Employee) –  Melbourne City Centre VIC2 August 2017
Great multicultural Environment
Great amenities for a comfortable work space
Great work life balance
The team ensures that your work is appreciated...
Pros
Great work life balance
Cons
Less opportunities to learn new things
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Credit Assessment Officer (Current Employee) –  Docklands1 August 2017
Project Team leader has no leadership skills at all, Worst management ever!!!
No work/life balance, Not following NAB values, Unprofessional, No support for career progression
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture
Inbound Mortgage & Personal Lending Specialist (Current Employee) –  Docklands VIC23 July 2017
The work culture is very good at Nab as everybody is always willing to help one another & the support by the Team Leaders are second to none as i do believe they have found the right people to be leading at the front. On the progression side of things, it is very hard to move around at Nab, especially on the retail to corporate platform and there is not much support in that regards.
Pros
Table Tennis & work events
Cons
Rotational Rosters
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at NAB - National Australia Bank. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 236 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.3
Culture
3.6