Optus Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Culture
Manager, Fixed (Former Employee) –  North Ryde NSW11 November 2017
Optus had a culture where individuals were focused on their own advancement not the good of the team. The organisation was full for individuals loafing behind inadequate process and excuses of 'it's not my job'.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company for career progression
Senior Service Management Officer (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW8 November 2017
I started at Optus working part-time when I was 20 years older. Over the course of my career I had 7 different positions working in consumer, small to medium business and corporate areas.

The best part about working for Optus are the people you work with and the opportunities for career progression.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun working environment
Technical Specialist (Current Employee) –  Gold Coast QLD24 October 2017
Good work and family life balance.
Good employee retainership
Excellent management skills
Fun and exciting work place
Good coporate quality governance
Good employee pecks, benefits and package
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff are generally well treated and management were always ready too listen and solve any problems.
Telephone operator (Former Employee) –  Macquarie Park, Sydney16 October 2017
Staff are generally well treated and management were always ready too listen and solve any problems.The general culture was one of respect for others and all assistance was provided as needed.
Pros
Well paid and well treated
Cons
Some difficult shifts i.e. overnight
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad place to work at the time but I'm sure has improved
RETAIL SALES ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Woden ACT9 October 2017
personally i didnt find it the best place to work, the team and management was terrible at that point in time.

I'm sure looking into the future that the management would of been replaced and the full potential of the store would been shown with the right team and management.
Pros
Great customer and products to sell
Cons
Management at team at the time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, productive, and passionate about the workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Modbury SA29 September 2017
I would assume that the work place has to be as interactive as possible and the staff at Optus is capable of showing respect towards the customer. I would think that the environment will be enjoyable to work with.
Pros
Respectful, Fun, Free lunches
Cons
Tough communications
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
SharePoint Developer (Former Employee) –  AU15 September 2017
It is having a very good and excellent working environment.The clients are very good and coperative enough to fix the issues quickly in the application.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mostly fun & extremely busy under the pump
Customer Service Officer (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC31 August 2017
On any given day we were under the pump, as we were answering 70+ Calls a day, with a KPI of 10 calls per hour.

Answering Calls for the following products:
* Fixed Line (Local Access Resale);
* Fixed Line (Optus Direct);
* Mobile Post Paid;
* Mobile Pre-Paid;
* Internet DSL Direct (ADSL); and
* Cable Internet.

Hardest part of the job, being at yelled at by customers as they think they have the right to treat you like a boxing bag.

Most enjoyable part of the job, working with great people, friendly atmosphere, with an awesome team.
Pros
Yearly Bonus (If you did well)
Cons
Being Berated By Customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clueless upper management
Analyst (Former Employee) –  Macquarie Park NSW29 August 2017
A company which made vast sums of money in its early years (the heyday of telecoms), which masked huge inefficiencies and poor management
Time and again, wasted vast sums of money on hare-brained ideas (what ever happened to the $6M eatability?) and the exodus of many of the most talented senior management show a company in decline
Coupled with an 'old boys' network you have a recipe for an organisation staggering from farce to disaster
For many years, the only idea management have been able to hit on is redundancies (which they even had the gall to refer to at one point as 'right-sizing'!!)
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent team
Senior Sales In charge (FULL TIME - PERMANENT) (Current Employee) –  Box Hill VIC17 August 2017
i am very happy to be a part of this team. excellent Management and wonderful people. Open minded and well comes to all kind of ideas and opinion. Excellent, motivational and super energetic environment.
Pros
Excellent team and culture, extraordinary motivated place.
Cons
limited opportunity to Expose due to small structure of business.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was great at the time
SME/Operations Support Officer (Former Employee) –  Adelaide SA29 July 2017
Cultural changes of the company since I left but it was fine at the time. Management was good, conditions good. No complaints..............................
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very controlled workspace limiting personal growth
Director Group Credit Risk (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW19 July 2017
Lots of meetings to engage key stakeholders. Limited autonomy to make key decisions. Senior exec limited access and visibility. Avoidance culture. ICT inhibiting required progress for growth and efficiency. The people were great to work with.
Pros
Great workspace
Cons
Poor exec engagement
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun enviroment. A fantastic employer.
Telesales Executive (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW10 July 2017
Optus HQ in Sydney is a great organisation with an awesome work-life culture.

With on-campus restaurants, a gym and a free bus service to the nearby shopping centre in Macquarie park, they install a perfect work-life balance.

The hardest part of the job was the commute to work due to the distance however they provided a free daily shuttle bus to and from Wynyard so they really do look after their employees.

What a great company to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Location
Senior Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW10 July 2017
Generally good place to work. Nice people to work with and I really value working at North Ryde and not in the city.
Culture is a bit lacking due to the company being run by Singtel.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad time working there
Cleaner - Part Time (Former Employee) –  Plumpton NSW6 June 2017
the owner was not kind or respect the workers there or there disabilities i would not recommend this job to people with a disability the pay changes on the hours or work you do no soiled income
Cons
not a soild roster or pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Work life Balance and package.
Successfactors Solution Architect (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW16 May 2017
OPTUS Campus, Culture and People are really Wonderful to work.

Lots of Campus events happening place. Free shuttle service to Macquarie shopping centre, Epping.

People are very nice to move and approachable to work. Great place to settle in Long term.
Pros
Campus Events, Free Bus
Cons
Remote working
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very demanding
Retail Assistant (Current Employee) –  Mulgrave VIC14 May 2017
a great job for someone looking to challenge themselves
a lot of sales goals and targets as the focus. Workplace culture is dictated on management. !!
Pros
employee perks
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be great place to work, not so much any more
Senior Network Engineer (Current Employee) –  Macquarie Park NSW8 March 2017
Optus used to be great place to work, very friendly teams and atmosphere, but past 4 years have been going down hill with every year more people losing jobs due to outsourcing and Optus management team getting more and more out of touch with the workers. The belt has been squeezed tighter and tighter, soon we will have no more space to breathe. Pretty much every part of the company has been outsources now and things are no longer looking good at all.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Optus in its early days was a fun and challenging work environment
Commercial Manager Interconnect and Regulatory (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW1 March 2017
When I joined Optus it was still building itself into a major competitor and was in a growth phase. Lots of challenges and fun, everybody was new and there was great esprit de corps. As the Commercial Manager of Interconnect, I was encouraged to take the fight up to Telstra and to challenge their incumbency in the fixed, mobile and data markets. We wrote the rules. As the company moved to a more mature position in the market and towards listing it became more conservative and predictable. A good company nonetheless.
Pros
A great place to learn about the dynamics of competition
Cons
Insecure management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diversity
Network Relocates/Vendor Payments Admin (Former Employee) –  North Ryde NSW23 February 2017
Optus being one of the Top Employers employees want to seek employment, career progression and surveys employees are happy to stay. Why wouldn't you stay in a company with the solid reviews and assessments from their own staff?
A great place to work.
Pros
Being 5mins-10mins drive or by 15mins bus
Cons
I tend to extend my working hours because I am so close
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Optus. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 123 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.4
Culture
3.7