PCYC Queensland Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very exciting and challenging work environment, lovely staff and awesome manager
Branch Support Officer (Former Employee) –  Mount Isa QLD2 October 2017
The staff are awesome, great work environment and always challenged with new tasks. Great place for learning in a fast paced environment. Lovely manager and great co-workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Before and after school care educator (Former Employee) –  Shailer Park QLD25 September 2017
Friendly staff always there to lend a hand, amazing opportunity to work you way up higher in the job, flexable hours mean you can run errands between shifts.
Pros
Friendly environment to work in.
Cons
Split shift work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PCYC is a great club for all events, especially for School Age Care.
OSHC Assistant (Current Employee) –  Queensland8 August 2017
A typical day at working within the school age care- BSC, ASC, & VAC Care, is great and I enjoy every single day. The staff within the club are wonderful and welcoming.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good team environment to work in
Child Care Support Officer (Former Employee) –  Townsville QLD24 July 2017
Friendly staff member's
good team environment
Learned a lot of things as being a educator and the admin support officer.
the hardest part about the job was managing the debt.
Pros
friendly staff members
Cons
salary wasn't great
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Gymnastics Coach (Former Employee) –  Dubbo NSW22 May 2017
was fun time coaching levels gymnastics, kinder gym, and recreation gymnastics, i was of a period of time before i had my first child, i came back volunteer my time helping the coaches
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Judo
Judo teacher and instructor current (Current Employee) –  Arana Hills QLD17 May 2017
i love teaching judo to new kids

i think that its a perfect balance for me at the moment considering that i am studing my English and maths at grovely tafe.
Pros
its fits around my judo training everyday and tafe, job security
Cons
its not everyday
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Same as my other review
Volunteer at Crestmead (Current Employee) –  Crestmead QLD21 December 2016
please check my other review on the PCYC and how their management team operated. what the every day worklife was like and other things mentioned
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good way to give back
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD14 November 2016
It was good volunteering at the Pcyc because it had kind people and you always had something to keep yourself busy no matter what was happening that day
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
help run the activities for the disabled
Work Experience Student (Former Employee) –  Toowoomba QLD12 July 2016
was good at times, when we weren't doing anything because we had done everything and workers did nothing while we did everything
Pros
none
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Childcare worker (Former Employee) –  Hervey Bay QLD6 June 2016
Would start my shift by marking my role then would head over to my activity for the day. Have lunch with the kids and would monitor they're doing the right thing till lunch time was over and the next activity would be started. Ended the day with some free time or games room as the kids would head home we'd start cleaning up & preparing for the next day.
All co-workers we're awesome to work with and helpful.
I learned a lot of myself working this job and a lot about children and their behaviors.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy work environment
sac assistant (Former Employee) –  minden qld3 March 2016
easy work environment
kids were great
friendly staff
lacking of training
i learned what not to do in child care and
how to do stuff the right way
Pros
kids
Cons
split shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great Team Environment made all the difference
Childcare Coordinator (Former Employee) –  PCYC Mackay2 March 2016
Having a great team of Educators to work with and seeing them grow within their working capacity. The children were the highlight of my time at PCYC Mackay
Pros
Free lunches at staff meetings
Cons
Some days more challenging than others
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working their was a fun way to interact with both children and adults.
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Blackwater QLD17 February 2016
It started at around 6, Friday night skating. i mopped the floors and handed out shoes, keeping then sanitary. I learnt communication skills.
Pros
Interacting with children
Cons
The oder
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pcyc Pinerivers allows you to be creative, and learn. People are amazing and inspiring.
Personal Trainer & Crossfit coach (Current Employee) –  Brisbane, QLD13 September 2015
I love working with our community and sense of satisfaction, staff are amazing and inspiring positive people. Allows me to grow and learn and to be creative and free as a trainer and coach.
Pros
Free coffee. Continue to advance my studies.
Cons
Hours are staggered thats the nature of my business.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff, very helpful and friendly work environment
Volunteer/Work experience (Former Employee) –  Cairns, QLD6 August 2015
I did one week work experience at Cairns PCYC from 22/06/15-26/06/15. My coworkers were excellent and by the end of the week 2 of them had agreed to be referees for my resume. I learned how to do archiving by alphabet and date, i learned how to partake in new activities, how to supervise children, and most importantly how to become part of a team.
Pros
Great staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Placement Experience
Observation of Marketing Officer (Former Employee) –  Ipswich, QLD19 July 2015
Quiet most of the time. I learned about their facilities and background of their organisation. Using a bit of marketing skills that I learned from my university subjects to the best of my ability.

Being it as a work placement as part of my university course, it was hard to find an organisation to take me in for the summer semester period (November to February), so there was a delay in my studies. My mentor was helpful and giving me guidance to assist in my tasks.
Pros
Free to walk around, free tea or coffee
Cons
Less interaction, not much guidance from my course subject
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Trainee (Former Employee) –  Gold Coast, QLD22 April 2015
it is a good place to work the other employees are very friendly and willing to help you when need,

there are many duties that you must fill while working with children.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Support Officer Role -Childcare - Admin. - Management
SUPPORT OFFICER (Former Employee) –  Mount Isa, QLD7 April 2015
Quiet days a bit tedious - helped with childcare - helped with community programs - mostly kept self busy as there was always something that needed to be done. worked well with all the staff which was a bonus. Obtain Cert.III & Cert.IV Personal Trainer while with the company.
Pros
Free Gym membership
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and can workout while working
Sales & Training (Former Employee) –  Cloncurry3 November 2014
i was in a casual position and didnt have job security at all. was fun and casual, there were no hard parts in the job, was quite easy, i didnt learn much as i knew what i was doing already, co-workers were good and helping with what ever i needed, management was terrible as they were asking other people to work while they had already had full staff and hard working.
Cons
No Job security or trust
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
After school care
Child Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  124 Wellington Street, Aitkenvale Qld 481425 June 2014
Good communication skills
Working long ours without a supervisor
Cleaning.
Work with eight children plus one disabled child.

I enjoyed working with kids because they are funny and I learned many things from them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at PCYC Queensland. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 28 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
4.0
Culture
4.3