St Vincent de Paul Society Employee Reviews

Found 135 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with great co workers
Front Counter, customer service (Current Employee) –  Airlie Beach QLD7 September 2017
The shops are awesome with great volunteers and there is always something to do. The shops are very helpful to communities that are small and need extra help with food, clothes and other essentials people need and it is all at great cheap prices.
Pros
free lunches, some volunteers bake.
Cons
can be slow sometimes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
helping the less fortunate with clothes and blankets
Shop Assistant (Current Employee) –  Griffith NSW3 September 2017
it is good working with St.Vincent DePaul, but its sad that the higher management is NOT seeing the true Nature of this society.
there are a lot of people that are struggling to survive in today's society.
I get a real buzz in helping those who really need it.
Pros
actually working and helping
Cons
Not enough paid hours !!!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Volunteer Worker (Current Employee) –  Sydney Western Suburbs NSW16 August 2017
My experience was a school based environment, therefore the culture was already very positive. It is very rewarding giving back to the community and helping out those in need. That is the best part of this volunteer work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
volunteering, shop work
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Woy Woy NSW14 August 2017
I liked working for this company, I worked on Fridays in the store.
I liked meeting and serving all kinds of clientelle. The friendly staff are always helpful.
Pros
volunteer work, helpful staff, choose own hours
Cons
two hours travel time, I personally could only spend a few hours in the store
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place with approachable people who offer their help when needed.
Volunteer Retail Worker (Former Employee) –  Mornington VIC13 August 2017
A typical day at work meant that I would assist in the sorting of clothes, clean-up of the shop, and customer service (i.e. answering queries, locating items that customers were looking for, etc.).
The hardest part of the job was not being able to be there for long, I could only be working at the same time I was having a particular subject at school. The most enjoyable part was being surrounded by a team of people who were welcoming and were like family.
Pros
Putting in part in the community
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive place to work
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  townsvlle25 July 2017
Items would be collected from pickup areas, sorted for resale or taken to dump. There is a lot of heavy lifting involved.

Staff are friendly and most of them are volunteers who work for non profit.
Pros
early finishes
Cons
too much heavy lifting
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working conditions varied and staff support could have been improved
Professional Driver/Removalist Handling (Former Employee) –  Adelaide SA5 July 2017
This position entailed the collection and delivery of furniture and household essentials, requiring on many occasions two people to assist.

The position was made redundant when St Vincent De Paul outsourced their transport division.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun at the library and St Vinnies op shop korumburra
Volunteer Worker (Current Employee) –  Korumburra VIC3 July 2017
St Vinnies is wonderful, the volunteers are lovely and will help you when you need it even if they are busy.
library is fast paced and easy the carts are easy to manuvoure as well as the computer.
Pros
accomodating and flexible
Cons
toilets
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Casual and relaxed, a positive environment
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Geelong VIC2 July 2017
While working at St Vincent De Paul I learnt a lot about retail work, including cash handling and working on a till, cashier balancing and recovery of a store. The environment at St Vincent De Paul was very relaxed and positive, making going to work and learning a fun experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun productive
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Shepparton VIC29 June 2017
It's a very welcoming environment, the management and staff members are very helpful. They put passion into their jobs, and treat costumers with warmth.
Pros
free tea and coffe
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A rewarding volunteer position
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Fitzroy VIC22 June 2017
A really friendly environment amongst volunteers. Very flexible in terms of commitments, catering from every fortnight to multiple times a week. I mostly serve the local residents, who have proven to be polite and pleasant overall.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a typical day at the service
ACTIVE VOLUNTEERING (Former Employee) –  Corinda QLD12 June 2017
you start by opening the till, then the rest of the day folding and labeling clothes along with helping and talking to customers . The closong of the store was accompanied with 2 others in case of an emergency ,
Pros
happy people, happy customers
Cons
labeling the price for second hand clothes were overpriced
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Youth Worker (Former Employee) –  Canberra ACT12 June 2017
Good place to do work experience with, productive days and enjoyed creating happiness for disadvantaged kids. good to see the parents happy and enjoyed travelling to schools.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seeing life on the other side...
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Miller 21687 June 2017
I Was only a kid myself though i remember going around and giving people food and any children they would find them a shelter and help them ...i had done lots of work with my own area my Dad would cook for all the old pensioner's in units near us and i would take there meals over every night it was about giving and helping and caring so important...
Pros
See Them Smile ...
Cons
seeing people on the street's
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
St vincent de Paul
Sorting clothing, customer service (Former Employee) –  Australia31 May 2017
I really enjoyed volunteering at this retail store, I meet lots of new people and enjoyed working as a team. The staff were very friendly and made me enjoy working. I learnt a lot.
Pros
Discount clothing
Cons
Not paid
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive place, casual.
Volunteer Worker (Current Employee) –  Sandgate QLD 401729 May 2017
I enjoy volunteering at Vincent de Paul Society, but unfortunately I am not earning any money to make a living. I am 20 years old and need to support myself.
Pros
Friendly people to work with.
Cons
I don't earn money.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work life balance, can be under resourced at times
Warehouse, Recycling & Distribution Centre Manager (Current Employee) –  Sydney Western Suburbs NSW24 May 2017
Running the Distribution Centre is challenging and rewarding helping others, pressure is on to perform and have the DC running and having a productive team. Culture is good but the business is lacking a focused approached and plans. Being under resourced is an issue.
Pros
Work life balance
Cons
Senior managers need a focused approach
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and rewarding place to volunteer
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD19 May 2017
Vinnies was a great environment to work in. I started with no previous experience in the retail industry and all the staff were understanding and happy to teach me. It's perfect for anyone looking to gain retail experience!
Pros
Relaxed atmosphere
Cons
Tricky customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Catholic organisation
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Townsville QLD16 May 2017
Found the management approach somewhat hypercritical and not reflective of Christian values. Good fun working in opportunity shop at times. Met great customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy peasy!
Part Time, 12hr week (Current Employee) –  Lawnton QLD22 April 2017
Work at St. Vincent de Paul's Society Lawton Warehouse is extremely easy to anyone with no experience at all. Love the work culture also. Management is friendly and willing to help.
Pros
Flexibility with free days, flexible lunches, pleasant work culture.
Cons
No pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at St Vincent de Paul Society. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 578 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Salary/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.7
Culture
4.0

St Vincent de Paul Society Reviews by Location