Subway Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent people and job
Sandwich Artist (Current Employee) –  Salisbury Plain SA9 February 2018
behind the scenes things are bad: time off, hours, calling in sick, managment from SOME people. my old manager was excellent and rewarded hard workers with hours- my new manager deducted my hours for people who dont even do the minimal of teh job
Pros
free food on shift
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Sandwich artist (Former Employee) –  Newcastle NSW8 February 2018
enjoyed working there, learnt alot, very enjoyable, mangement was good and learnt many skills from being there, great team and staff. overll very enjoyable experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Newton-le-Willows7 February 2018
I loved working at subway as I interacted with customers on a regular basis and got to know them as well as having great workmates. I would most certainly work for them again
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Owner always available to talk.
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Gold Coast QLD5 February 2018
The owner of this store is very easy to talk to about any concerns. Everyone is treated fairly and equally and there is a good vibe when working in the store.
Hardest part of the job is having to deal with drive thru as well as front counter, but the training provided makes it easy to do so.
Most enjoyable part of the job is the challenge of juggling both drive thru and front counter and the feeling of success when you do it well!!
Pros
Discounts on food for employees
Cons
Shift work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall decent workplace
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Berrimah NT3 February 2018
A typical day at work, always kept you on your feet and loaded with tasks. Working in this management, has provided me with efficient social skills and customer service. However, some management areas along with benefits provided within the workplace were limited, and could be improved.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace, confusing via hours.
Subway Sandwich Artist (Current Employee) –  Perth WA1 February 2018
Very fun workplace, as their is minimal jobs and usually left on unsupervised, no reason to mess around but feel a lot more freedom and chilled. Usually working with people same age.
Hours a bit confusing, they usually use their managers on during the day and give the staff just random hours in the afternoon and at night.
Pros
Good discount, freedom, experience
Cons
Difficult hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was good and close to hoome
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  St Kilda Road VIC1 February 2018
pretty stock standard job would go back and work there if they needed the pay was very bad but eveyrthing else was ok met some good friends working there.
Pros
free cookies
Cons
minimum wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy money but poor company management
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Melbourne Eastern Suburbs VIC24 January 2018
The job at Subway itself was easy, especially being a young staff member, however as Subway is a franchise and did not see my small store as a priority, they as a company would not take action nor responsibility for my manager acting unfairly and degradingly towards young staff members, as he was meeting their (apparently low) health and wellbeing standards.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Manager Assistant (Former Employee) –  Yatala QLD23 January 2018
the people where lovely and also was a volunteer they liked the extra hands that they had when i was there, the people where very nice and also that my mother is the manager so i was able to prove to myself that i am a hard worker
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supporting, productive workplace
Sandwich Artist (Current Employee) –  Beerwah QLD21 January 2018
A typical day at work consists of cleaning the store, serving customers, preparing food and handling money. A typical shift can range from 5-10 hrs with between 1 and 4 hrs of that spent managing the store alone.
Pros
Productive, fast paced.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy and fun to work
Sandwich Artist (Current Employee) –  Dandenong VIC20 January 2018
Easy and fun to work with a friendly environment
Great talking to customers and knowing new people
Learned about food preps and customer service
Pay rate poor
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not great pay and constantly working
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW19 January 2018
always prepping food and bread, very stressful especially if a supervisor, constant flow of customers, a lot of cleaning and dishes, need to be aware of expiry dates. discount on food and food tastes great. made good friends. this was 10 years ago. pay was unacceptable especially for the amount of work that was expected.
Pros
free lunch, good team
Cons
hard dirty work with bad pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Coworkers
SANDWICH ARTIST (Current Employee) –  Buderim QLD18 January 2018
Advancement not possible due to unprofessional manager.
Work atmosphere stressful due to aggressive management and expectations.
Under staffed on shifts.
Pros
One Free cookie per day
Cons
Unprofessional manager
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stable work hours
Sandwich Artist (Current Employee) –  Ocean Grove VIC15 January 2018
Subway has provided me with stable work hours.
Subway has taught me valuable customer service skills and how to use a cash register.
The work environment at subway is enjoyable.
Pros
free sanwhich and drink after every shift
Cons
managment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good co-workers except the business itself needs to be improved in terms of shifts and pay rates.
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Hallam VIC12 January 2018
The workplace culture at Subway is healthy as most coworkers are good workers and do their job, however some people struggle doing their jobs in time which in return makes others stay back.
Pros
Staff discount
Cons
No penalty rates, hourly rate is poor, payroll is not consistent
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clean Hospitality Job
Senior Sandwich Artist (Current Employee) –  Kunda Park QLD12 January 2018
The morning opening procedure is enjoyable because you are the person who comes in an makes all the bread for the day's sales. Basically, to know that you produced the perfect stick of bread for every customer it's pretty cool!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Subway Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Jimboomba QLD11 January 2018
When i was at Subway i really enjoyed working the i had so much fun
they had taugh me so much about how to be more prepared and subway also taught me how to work in a team
Pros
free Lunches
Cons
To many people are rude
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a nice place to work at until we got a new manager.
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Toowoomba QLD9 January 2018
Each week I would get from 2-4 hours a week even after asking multiple times for more hours I never got anymore hours. Before I quit they changed us from casual to permeant part time. This is was not the case as i still ended up with 2-4 hours a week while the other junior got from 12-14 hours a week. I was tiered of being treated this way so i quit.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Narangba QLD8 January 2018
I enjoyed working in Subway for a first job. It was fun, fast paced in the busy hours, well routined and the team were lovely girls.
I was unfortunately young, silly, and full of health issues so I didn't get to enjoy it as much as I should have! The bosses were a married couple - not always easy to work with but it can't have been easy for them, they did what they could and still have a successful business today.
Pros
Discounts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning experience for costumer service.
Sandwich Artist/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Sunbury VIC8 January 2018
- Good learning experience for costumer service/skills.
- Learn to work in a fast-paced environment when
necessary.
- Build team work and communication skills needed in retail.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Subway. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 28,113 reviews
58.5K
48.3K
37.1K
22.4K
11.7K

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
2.8Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.4Culture