Subway Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people to work for
Sandwich Assistant (Former Employee) –  Perth WA20 November 2017
I Worked 10 to 2. This made it possible for me to take my son to school and pick him up. the people i worked for were great except the owner.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work at
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Goulburn NSW17 November 2017
A typical shift includes making sandwiches, shop keeping, preparing food items for future use.

You learn to work as a team within a fast paced environment.

As a senior, you will gain management and leadership skills in setting out tasks and delivering results.

Workplace culture is relaxed and friendly.

Hardest part of the job is delivering customer service to some customer who are hard to deal with.

Best part of the job is interacting with customers, working within a dynamic team at rush periods and being able to building lasting relationships with colleagues.
Pros
Free lunch after each shift
Cons
Standing for long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job but lacks consistency
SENIOR SANDWICH ARTIST (Current Employee) –  Brisbane QLD13 November 2017
A typical day at work normally include a slow start to the morning the a huge rush around lunch time then often slows down after that. i learned how to deal with different types of customers and ways to deal with different situations that occur. The hardest part of the job is the time management due to the continuous flow of customers. The most enjoyable part of the job is easily the people you work with.
Pros
Cheap meals and flexible hours
Cons
Stressful situations and bad customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Toowoomba QLD12 November 2017
I'd describe working here as a pleasant experience. I learned a great deal of things and I feel as though I have acquired many skills that I may use elsewhere.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work experience
Subway Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Parramatta NSW12 November 2017
I enjoyed learning and interacting with the community during the time I worked with subway, it gave me the experience and life skills I was hoping to gain.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Smelt bad
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management and Store Owners could have been better
Senior Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Warwick QLD9 November 2017
The day to day job wasn't all that bad. My coworkers were lovely to work with. However, management and the owners of the store were absolute nightmares to work for.
Cons
No free lunches, terrible management, micromanaging
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, cleaning but friendly workplace
Sandwich artist (Current Employee) –  Gympie QLD8 November 2017
A typical day consist of cleaning, handling customers and customer complaints if any, money and also food handling.
I learnt an extensive amount of knowledge on how to handle customers and their complaints.
The workplace is very multi-cultural and friendly as all were welcome.
The hardest part of the job was the inconsistent hours
The most enjoyable part was working within a team that was friendly and welcoming. .
Pros
Discounts
Cons
inconsistent hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace with friendly staff
Sandwich Artist (Current Employee) –  West Ryde NSW7 November 2017
Depending on the day it may be tiresome or stress-free.
Time management and setting goals is vital to stay on time
Ensuring that all preparations for the next shift is ready and that i have completed my job to at least a satisfactory standard
Working with staff members and learning skills from them
Pros
Cookies
Cons
Sometimes not enough people working
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Adelaide SA4 November 2017
I'm not too sure what general Subway stores are like, but I worked at one owned by the Peregrine Corporation and it was terrible. Pay was bad, manager was bad, everything! Just felt like I was chewed up and spat out.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Bundaberg QLD2 November 2017
Love the company to pieces, each store I’ve worked at has always had such a great bunch of staff. Understanding and helpful. You look forward to going to work. Would definitely work there again
Pros
Great discount and always willing to help out when needed
Cons
Grumpy customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quite a cool place, nice people but poor job management.
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  High Wycombe WA2 November 2017
The job was a really good learning experience. It was challenging enough to force me out of my comfort zone but easy enough to remain enjoyable. Co-workers and boss were always nice but at the time of my termination I was given very little information and basically let go on the spot without a word.
Pros
Flexible hours, free lunch.
Cons
Fast paced environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable and Delicious
senior employee (Former Employee) –  Cherrybrook NSW1 November 2017
While the busy hours were hectic, as you being to work you find and rhythm and it becomes easier. Great staff, great boss.
Night shifts include a lot of cleaning, but the hours are good!
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Alot of cleaning
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly workplace
Sandwich Artist (Current Employee) –  Bowral NSW30 October 2017
I open the store at 5.30am to cook breads and prepare salads for the day ahead.
The store becomes busy at 12pm when customers are constant. I am required to work hard for 1-2 hours during the lunch rush which makes time go so quickly.

Subway has taught me good organisational and planning skills along with positive communication with staff and customers.
Pros
Time goes quickly whilst at work
Cons
Early morning starts working alone
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendships made, Personal requirements not taken into consideration
Junior Sandwich Artist (Current Employee) –  Ballarat VIC30 October 2017
A typical day can be busy. once it comes into summer/busy season, little care for your personal requirements and availability. Made many new friends but boss does not get to know the employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and happy work place
Sandwich Artist (Current Employee) –  Tasmania30 October 2017
I have learned how to use a Point Of Sales system and handle cash in a appropriate manner, the hardest thing i have learned in my time at subway would be the cash flow and banking. the most enjoyable part of the job is getting to interact with customers.
Pros
50% off food when working 20% on days off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a great learing place an a step towards learning how to run a business
Sandwhich Artist (Former Employee) –  Gympie QLD29 October 2017
subway was a good place to work at the bosses where nice productive people had a goof role an future set up for the business they had. subway taught me how to be quick efficient and hard worker .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressful
Senior Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Baldivis WA24 October 2017
The place was very cut throat with the only thing that was really enjoying was a few nice staff and the fact a free six inch sub could be created before or after every shift.
The leadership was all over the place and i would not recommend others to join under there supervision.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Toowoomba QLD23 October 2017
The subway managers Generally work around family and other commitments. Not so great if you become sick or an emergency arises and you need a shift covered.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly staff and enjoyble staff
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Perth WA19 October 2017
I enjoyed my position at subway, it was challenging at times and very fast pasted at times.
I did learn a lot while in this position that I am thankful for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The job is not bad by any means.
Sandwich Artist (Current Employee) –  Ormond VIC17 October 2017
Working with other people made me learn a lot of new things. However the manager at this subway made me disgust the job even though I would work hard.
Pros
One free sub per day
Cons
Not paid fairly at all
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Subway. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 25,762 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.3
Culture
3.4