Telstra Employee Reviews

Found 440 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helpdesk
Helpdesk Consultant (full time) (Former Employee) –  Queensland20 July 2017
Buena oportunidad y ambiente de trabajo. Pero estuve poco tiempo
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Complex Complaints Resolution Case Manager (Current Employee) –  Melbourne VIC19 July 2017
It was good experience and load to learn. Some really good managers. good pay structure, reasonable working environment.
Really good people to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good if you can sell, but could care less about your customer service.
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  North Lakes QLD16 July 2017
Bottom line. If you are not great at selling then you will not get the recognition you deserve!

Rushed learning/training with no real follow up or confirmation of skills learned unless in trouble. While there I was never trained in how to sell, just on how to consult which is fine, but there is a fine line between finding what a customer needs/wants and pitching it to them. Especially when the culture is based around sales. Selling in high volume as apposed to appropriate products.

The amount of times a customer has told me that I saved Telstra a customer because of attitudes of other employees was more than I could count with 2 weeks of employment. But even then customer service skills come second to selling and up-selling products.

If you are not a good salesperson you will be forever in the shadows even when your other skills shine brightest.

Even when inquiring about different positions suited to my skill set, management would not help me and told me there was nothing they could do. You are gonna tell me you can't talk to a higher up and ask about a role better suited for your employee?

The culture in which the customers were treated was appalling, especially behind closed doors. The attitude we need to have is that every customer is an opportunity and not shun them or talk behind their backs.

Was also never asked about future goals within or outside the company. Sure we have a program which was discussed at a workshop, but not once was I sat down to discuss what I wanted to develop. Even when asking my BM where I could access it they couldn't give me an
  more... answer and shrugged me off. You want to develop me then you need to sit down day one and ask.  less
Cons
Poor training, poor management, poor development, pushy agenda, not customer oriented.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be great
Senior Procurement Specialist (Current Employee) –  Melbourne11 July 2017
Iconic company with excellent opportunities for those who are resilient or who desire to frequently move roles or managers. Great salary and employee benefits.
Pros
Great employee benefits
Cons
Constant restructures, administrative processes, politics
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD5 July 2017
At the time Telstra was a great place to work, with great management and staff.
Strangely enough the systems we had to use seemed antiquated but they did the job.
The only real negative was when customers would call in regards to faults and/or new connections that had been backlogged due to staffing issues with the technicians and linemen.
Pros
good salary and benefits
Cons
old computer systems
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun working place
Inbound Business Sales And Customer Ser. (Former Employee) –  Melbourne Eastern Suburbs VIC3 July 2017
Productive and fun working place with a table tennis set up and free coffee machine. Subject matter experts are who you want to get close with and will teach you the most to enable a strong skill set moving forward in this job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of opportunity and a supportive company to work for.
Senior Network Engineer (Former Employee) –  Sydney Central Business District NSW3 July 2017
Having been insourced to Telstra from a multinational tech company, working for Telstra was a breath of fresh air. Being a very large company, there is plenty of opportunity to move within the company and broaden your skills.
Pros
Large variety of technologies and fields to learn in.
Cons
Their limited and strict windows only SOE platform.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate cutthroat
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Leichhardt NSW1 July 2017
Commission based sales with poor management and little to no training, impatient with staff and negligent attitudes. In addition, I am personally not a fan of Sales roles.
Pros
Short hours
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to meet diverse people
NBN Technical Support Member (Former Employee) –  Townsvile, Qld 481028 June 2017
Wonderful opportunity to learn alot about IT, very stressful, most enjoyable job to talk to people from all walks of life and so enjoyable being able to help people
Pros
Great "Special Days" of dressing up and different food cultures to taste
Cons
Very Stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fus sometimes competitive
Residential Faults Consultant (Former Employee) –  Townsville QLD26 June 2017
Loved the job, friendly environment felt very safe and secure at times it could get a bit stressed bit after taking a break in the relaxing lunchroom you are then ready to tackle any obstacle.
Pros
Lunchroom
Cons
Stuart bg Times vary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Telstra experience
Problem Manager (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW25 June 2017
Telstra provided a lot of opportunity to move around into various roles. It did offer opportunity for growth and some educational development. Unfortunately with the reduction of roles onshore the quality of the business was often diminished. I believe the company should invest more in the presence of their staff onshore as well as offshore or doing cost minimising practices.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rather no disclose
IT Network Specialist, 3rd level support (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW25 June 2017
Rather no disclose due to privacy and repercussion of writing any types of reviews while working for the company, even though it says anaonymos posting i still rather not say.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company was Telstra / SNP not Telstra
Account Executive (Former Employee) –  Newcastle NSW22 June 2017
Handle phone inquiries, follow up on emails.

Learned how to use SIMPRO.

Good local work colleagues.

Enjoyed getting out and seeing customers. Good to get Sales Leads.
Pros
Plenty of sales leads
Cons
Telstra's involvement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Senior Software Engineer-PS & M, Business Analyst (Current Employee) –  Melbourne VIC15 June 2017
Fun Place.

Perseverance.

Management - no comments.

Fun people to work with.

Management needs improvement.

Challenging roles.

Organised events are good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Need to be very sales driven
Sales (Former Employee) –  Miranda NSW14 June 2017
Need to be very sales driven, culture is good, meet really interesting people, the bosses are very good at teaching you new techniques also the company rewards you for your achievements
Pros
culture
Cons
leads
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People are great, company direction/management not so much.
IT Domain Specialist (Former Employee) –  Melbourne City Centre VIC13 June 2017
Loved the potential there - so much to get done - all big projects.
BAU work consisted of ensuring green lights, looking for improvements etc - standard internal support stuff.

A lot of talented individuals work there, unfortunately hamstrung by leadership.

Management can be good if you get in the right area, or the right one; pockets of bad managers exist in every business i guess, but they are unnoticed, even endorsed by the leadership here.

Workplace Culture: the company is going through an outsourcing love affair at the moment, put it down to cutting OpEx and giving the work to 3rd party; not sure on the long game there, i am no director.

Hardest part of the job: satisfying the business of the risk/reward no-brainers; example: an innovation to reduce internal customer wait times from 2-3 hours down to around 5 minutes with zero risk and zero impact to the front end experience did not get through.

Enjoyable: the people are fantastic, work-life balance is great and the enterprise infrastructure is amazing, they own the network so connectivity is out of this world.
Pros
Work-life balance.
Cons
Outsourcing/cost cutting.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unfit to review
Work Placement Student (Former Employee) –  Port Macquarie NSW12 June 2017
As i was employed as a work placement student, I am unfit to review Telstra Australia, as I did not experience enough work to judge day-to-day, and therefor cannot comment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High level of professionalism. Emplyee support was exceptional.
Technical Officer (Former Employee) –  Dandenong VIC8 June 2017
Telstra at this time was a great place to work at. The employees were treated with respect. Telstra provided a high level of investment in the workers, with on the job training par-excellence.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One way ticket to mental breakdown
Sales Professional (Former Employee) –  Docklands VIC7 June 2017
Horrible micromanagerial style.
Development and progression is a game of favourites.
Staff are treated poorly, and seem to start being edged out after 12 months.
Some staff were performance managed and publicly berated for going to the toilet during shift.
Would not recommend to anyone hoping for a positive environment, a rewarding job or to maintain their sanity.
Pros
No pros what so ever
Cons
Everything.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy job!
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC30 May 2017
always busy and something to do.
repour with customers is very important.
management very hard on workers for sales. though rewarding when commission hits your pay!
Pros
comminsion
Cons
very busy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Telstra. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 578 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.5
Culture
3.8

CEO Approval

Andrew Penn
78%
243 ratings
Add your rating