The Salvation Army Employee Reviews

Found 245 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You live and learn
Truck Driver / Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Deer Park VIC17 September 2017
They don`t support there drivers, too many jobs in 1 day to get done, barely have time to take breaks, deal with bad donors all the time, they are more worried about there image then anything else, someone from the public made false accusations about me and they fired me with out sufficient evidence to back up the claims. Salvos don`t help the needy, they sell everything in there shops to turn over a profit, and what they don`t sell they throw into the garbage.
Pros
Not Much
Cons
Not much either
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for work experience
Work Experience (Former Employee) –  South Adelaide SA10 August 2017
It was fun and friendly environment. I really enjoy while I was doing my work experience. Others may think of it as not qualify place or something but I don't think the same.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, happy, bubbly workplace
Volunteer Work (Former Employee) –  Ipswich City QLD5 August 2017
The workplace was full of bubbly people, you met new customers with different personalities volunteer work made a huge improvement on me it taught me Alot of new skills.
Pros
learn new skills
Cons
No salary because it was volunteer work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
customer service, sorting stock (Former Employee) –  Carnegie VIC2 August 2017
gives self worth as you are helping out the less fortunate
very laid back and say working environment
fair enjoyable but can become boring
stock always has to be checked to see if it is up to standard
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Unley SA25 July 2017
I love volunteering, To be able to help out these guys was amazing, they care for you and are in general fun people to be around and love a helping hand.
Pros
fun
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Salvo's
RETAIL ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  Chelsea Heights VIC24 July 2017
Before working at the salvo's, had no experience working in retail. Now I feel a little more confident than when I started. I wish to continue learning and growing in retail.
Pros
Learnt new skills
Cons
Sometimes a tense enviroment to work in
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
oriented on disadvantaged and less fortunate people
Evangelism & Youth Outreach Director (Former Employee) –  Salisbury, MD12 July 2017
A typical day at work can never be predicted.
I learned that Doing the Most Good with the Salvation Army is a big privilege.
It's hard at times to manage your working hours trying to cover a lot of things that need to be done.
The workplace culture is very supportive and ready to share their experience with you.
The hardest part of the job as a Youth Pastor was to remain Spiritually healthy as much as physically and morally.
The most enjoyable part of the job was to see people's lives change.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Lilydale VIC11 July 2017
Fantastic culture at the Lilydale store I can't speak for any other division or store. Everyone is lovely and nothing i expected or demanded of you that you cant do, everything is within reason.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job I've had
Case Worker In Training (Current Employee) –  Brisbane QLD11 July 2017
Salvation arm have an amazing culture, training facilities and support programs. You never feel on your own, and there is no religious aspects or involvement for those no religious such as myself.
Pros
High pay, Hands on
Cons
Office gossip
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Clarkson WA8 July 2017
People were friendly and helpful which was why I enjoyed working here. I found that most of the things were easy to pick up and get used to. A good way to gain experience.
Pros
discount, experience gained.
Cons
standing for long hours, some rude customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report

Want to know more about The Salvation Army?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly friendly place to volunteer at
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Penrith NSW5 July 2017
I always had something to do, always found a task to be done and received breaks throughout the day. enjoyed helping people on the floor with any questions and enquiries they had. comfortable to ask for help if I did not know an answer a customer had asked me.
Pros
Met new people and learnt alot about helping people.
Cons
preventing customers from stealing donated items out the back of store.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Coffs Harbour NSW27 June 2017
Great work place, friendly staff.
Pretty easy tasks, feel as though you're helping people in need on a day-to-day basis.
10/10 Would work there again.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work for dole
Customer service (Former Employee) –  Bunbury WA26 June 2017
Work for the dole is a great program to get you back into the game off looking for work, While building self confidence back up with the general public.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
volunteering
Volunteer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kallangur QLD26 June 2017
i volunteered at salvation army for 8 months straight after high school
it was a new experience in seeing whats behind the curtains at salvos store and how the people do what they do with the donations.

i never experience anything like that and well volunteering there was dull but it was nice helping out with donations and saying hello to people who came to the shop the staffs were nice.
Pros
donations and sorting out which was good or bad
Cons
it could be quiet waiting for people to come into the shop
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was great now just another fundraising soulless corporate money gathering machine
Manager (Current Employee) –  Sydney Central Business District NSW23 June 2017
This significant NFP and charity is rapidly losing its grass roots and community connection. Its now just another Corporate.

Its base is moving to Melbourne and significant staff cuts are on the way.

Consultants are being engaged as the management appears unable or unwilling to face its workforce with its proposed structural change model.

The first to go was the Senior HR staff members - these are the ones charged with ensuring staff are treated with respect and equity and with reference to due process and legislation.

Donors and many volunteer directors or committee members are openly questioning the ongoing relevance and relationship of the organisation to its community and client base and are starting to look elsewhere for worthy organisations to which to dedicate their time and support.
Pros
The dedication of many staff and volunteers, the recognised brand
Cons
Some non employee Managers lack business acumen, or practical knowledge
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxing work inviroment
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  south geelong21 June 2017
It is a good experience for anyone to work in such an environment,

It helps teach valuable lessons, and allows people to learn these lessons in a controlled environment.
Pros
Meet interesting people
Cons
long periods of low customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Voluntary Organisation with good Christian ethics
Warehouse Labourer (Volunteer) (Former Employee) –  West Gosford NSW20 June 2017
Good charity organisation. Most workers there are volunteers. As volunteer organisations go it's a good place to work. Helping the organisation with getting the donations onto the shelves for sale. Great people and good ethics.
Pros
Good ethical charity. You are helping others
Cons
No pay, voluntary.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Women's Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD8 June 2017
Supported women and children who had found themselves homeless for a variety of complex reasons. Main role was to find safe and affordable housing within the wider community.
Pros
working with different people
Cons
demanding role
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caseworker
Case Worker (Former Employee) –  Goulburn NSW6 June 2017
Job was great till church members intervened, bullying and harassment, doing jobs that had nothing to do with my position. I enjoyed my job but too much interference. I love helping people. Clients came back to say Hi and how much I helped them. A typical day is to greet clients and make them at home, offer them a cup of tea. Be supportive and non-judgemental. Help in crisis situations. I liked putting a smile on people's faces and show them the way to get help and being Christian.
Pros
Working with and assisting clients in Crisis
Cons
working in churches, long driving hours in your own car
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team and welcoming environment
Customer Service all rounder (Current Employee) –  Myaree WA5 June 2017
I wish I could get full time work here, I love working at the Op Shop! Never felt so comfortable working than I have here. The only problem is that they rely on us volunteers and not enough full time work going around.
Pros
Great Team, variety of work to do and can be myself.
Cons
retail mentality and not long enough on the lunch break.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Salvation Army. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 5,276 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8

CEO Approval

79%
1,568 ratings
Add your rating

The Salvation Army Reviews by Location