Thiess Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good accomodation and transport
Crane Operator (Former Employee) –  Surat Basin25 July 2017
The accomodation at the camp was nice. The Bus drivers were experienced and friendly. Tarvern was a fun and friendly place. Housekeeping staff were good
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family first company
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Various locations throughout Western Australia6 July 2017
Fantastic family driven company, Always acknowledging personal milestones . Great communication between management and work force. Excellent safety record.
Pros
Family first company
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Administration/Logistics/Stores (Former Employee) –  Dalby QLD4 June 2017
basically 10 hour days. some days were a lot longer. Construction industry is what it is. My job could change daily and thats what i liked about it. I had great managers and would work with them again. Great people to work with and gave me a chance to prove myself in various areas along with training
Pros
great managers
Cons
long days some times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits and amenities
Casual Administration Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD22 May 2017
Thiess allowed me to learn and grow. I progressed from Admin Assistant to Personal Assistant with generous salary increases. I made long lasting friendships in the process.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small mine with terrible layout
Step up Supervisor 7 (Current Employee) –  Jellinbah QLD14 May 2017
The site is small but very handy to work at due to only a few hours away from home in case of emergency's. Thiess is a good company to work for with little entitlements at present.
Pros
close to home
Cons
low income
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thiess was an amazing company to work for with brilliant supportive managers that became a second family.
Incite - Document Management Programmer (Former Employee) –  Newman WA9 May 2017
I would love to return to Thiess who is now CPB Contractors however the work was FIFO and unfortunately this is not suitable for my situation. They have amazing management and support from the bottom to the top. I would highly recommend this institution for employment.
Pros
Every aspect of the job
Cons
None that I can think of.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work in with great people
Safety Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Perth WA4 May 2017
its important to feel comfortable and confident in your workplace. Theiss provided this healthy environment of friendly people who are professional and comfortable at the same time.
Pros
good people
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learnt construction
Personal Assistant/Administration Officer (Former Employee) –  wonthaggi18 April 2017
Day to Day looking after 30 superintendents,
data entry
Jde
diary Management
Learnt about civil construction and how things connected
It was long hours
Pros
satisfaction
Cons
it finished
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to move locations nationally
Account Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD5 April 2017
Enjoyable surroundings
Enjoyable company to work for and willing to train and develop staff
Very good culture in head office
Management helped with career movements
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Roy Hill Construction
Mechanical Superintendent (Former Employee) –  Roy Hill WA29 March 2017
Well at Roy Hill as all trades are working with each other that's mechanical fitters boiler/makers welders electrical trades Riggers and T/A. What I learnt that we all worked as a team and its was good to see our management supported us all the way from bad times to competition. The work place culture was excellent and the hardest part of the job was saying good bye to all and the most enjoy part of the job was our completion date on time.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very structured non flexible workplace.
Customer Service Officer (Former Employee) –  Hallam VIC15 March 2017
Took 2 years for them to offer me a full time job instead of recruitment. Happy environment. Truck drivers were fantastic to work with. Management very non committal. Whilst i was there 6 staff were offered career advancement only to have it unoffered at the ladt minute. Very high turn over of staff due to their non committment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being able to go fishing after work was a great bonus.
Franna Operator and rigger (Former Employee) –  Onslow WA27 January 2017
The job was good the camp was great, management was good most of the time the work was normal construction. I enjoyed working on that job a lot.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging but rewarding
CHPP MANAGER / OPERATIONS MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Mackay QLD17 January 2017
Expand your horizons.. look out side the box on what you can achieve.
listen to the work force ,,communication is a must
Long hours long days but the rewards pay off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
positive attitudes from all staff, make a safe and harmonious workplace
Production Operator (Current Employee) –  Curragh Nth8 January 2017
Great company to work for, however, I do need to find something permanent. Having a family and mortgage means I need a little more job security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
construction workforce
Roller Operator (Former Employee) –  Newman WA31 December 2016
ability to learn new machinery , work the overtime, team environment,
management were approachable everyone looked out for each other
Pros
ability to learn new machinery
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thiess have always endeavoured to progress the individual
Plant Operator (Former Employee) –  Curtis Island QLD16 November 2016
I have obtained a great deal of skills enhancement as a result of working for Thiess.
They were pro active in providing opportunities to improve on existing skills and to learn new skills.
Very safety conscious and this created a constant reminder (vigilance) as you carried out your working duties which stays with you in life as well.
Safety was paramount in that we had prestart and close down meetings each day and safety talks. Methods of work (recording) done daily also enhanced compliance with safety during tasks and for people in and around machinery.
Any form of harassment or discrimination was not tolerated.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not bad
Allround Operator (Current Employee) –  Leinster WA3 November 2016
the camp and facilities are more than adequate
people are reasonable and kept the place entertaining
all round not a bad place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shamble at times
Rigger FIFO (Former Employee) –  Roy Hill WA31 October 2016
Great crew to work with,made good friends and enjoyed the company of co workers.Management have a lot to learn about non civil condstruction. However I would work with them again
Pros
good crew
Cons
bad management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Electricians keep you active with instructions and knowledge
Electrical Trades Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dalby QLD24 October 2016
To work in a team environment where correct procedures are held with safety a must through out your shift, management hold an open door policy for all problems.
Pros
Team attitude through out site
Cons
being away from Family
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic project, supportive management, great staff and team
Labourer/Pilot Escort Driver/Traffic Control (Former Employee) –  Yandicoogina WA8 September 2016
A typical day of work started with a pre-start and exercise to warm up and stretch for the day.

I learned about respecting your colleagues, the importance of safety along with consistent productivity, all aiming for the same goal.

Management were very supportive and encouraging.

My co-workers were from all walks of life, different ages, cultures and backgrounds. It was an eye opener being associated with such a broad spectrum of people, from working as a team to socialising during breaks. Everyone looking out for each other and having a great comradery.

Hardest part of the job was leaving when the contract finished, I loved it.

Most enjoyable part was being able to achieve my daily set goals and being appreciated for my efforts.
Pros
FIFO - Great colleagues, like a family. Great accommodation and meals included
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Thiess. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 243 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
4.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.8
Culture
4.0