Uniting Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place, family friendly
Education Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Denistone West NSW7 November 2017
Excellent place to work, great team culture and placed a big emphasis on professional development. Uniting was always very flexible around my work hours and I was given opportunities to explore other aspects of the organisation.
Pros
Great team
Cons
Intense work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful place to work
Manager (Former Employee) –  Sydney1 October 2017
Staff regularly hung out to dry particularly by upper management. Their mission statement is definitely not put into practice where staff are concerned.
Trying to drag ILU into 21st century with no or very little help for their managers. Managers under incredible strain & Area Managers are really only concerned about their own jobs & how they look to the Pitt Street office.
Cons
Incredibly long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT place to work
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Wendouree VIC27 September 2017
Restore is an op shop in wendouree. Its mostly volunteers there. The volunteers price items and use the cashier. I love working there. Meet lots of people and make friends with the other volunteers. Love working at restore. The bosses are easy going and great to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learnt about clothes
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Geelong VIC10 September 2017
loved working with my boss tori at detroit crescene it was voluntry and got me back in working with people. I still visit to say hello and buy things sometimes
Pros
meeting people
Cons
not payed work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Uniting Care cover a broad range of community activities
Youth Art Therapy Chaplain (Current Employee) –  Brisbane QLD20 August 2017
Enjoyable area I work within, however as it is voluntary it is not financially beneficial. The training offered is very beneficial and they offer professional supervision which is conciderate
Pros
Challenging
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressed workers and many left due to management and lack of support
Disability support worker (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW20 July 2017
I worked for Uniting Disability and found that many workers were very stressed and that many new staff (including casuals) were not trained properly and were often left on their own to work with very complex clients. It was a very female dominated management ( at all levels) who could be very icy cold and pro-feminist, not the best place to work for males. Very hierarchical management style which is top down. I saw many good workers leave very broken and hurt and many, before they left, were doing extra unpaid hours and did not feel properly supported. The NDIS had made Uniting a place that is more about profit and money and there is a culture of change which never ends. Very high staff turnover among disability support consultants who have been given unrealistic amount of client loads. Very sad to see this happening to good workers. When Uniting changed their name from Uniting Care it is the care that went out the door for sure.
Pros
Other workers are often dedictaed, always paid on time and fairly
Cons
Constant change, high staff turnover, not being trained well, huge stress loads, males not given many chances to go up in managemet, cold work environment from management/leaders, very little christian emphasis
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work place
Aged Care AIN (Former Employee) –  Tamworth NSW20 July 2017
Realky injoyed working with the older people in the nursing home loved my job enjoyed it to the tee would go work back there anyday its a really good work place
Pros
Free lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for Profit. Pleasant work staff and conditions
Finance Officer (Former Employee) –  Penrith NSW8 July 2017
I was on contract assignment, general accounting duties. Reconciling G/L and Fixed Assets.

New software. very powerful.

I had worked with management in a previous contract assignment.

Once again, Not for Profit culture, polite and calm.

Nothing really, all familiar.

I like Not for Profit environments.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An innovative and person centered organisation
Local area coordinator (Former Employee) –  Bega NSW4 July 2017
Uniting is embedded in local communities across Australia. It offers good salary sacrifice arrangements and is in the forefront of taking a person centered approach to all of its care roles.

Being such a large organisation there are advancement possibilities especially for those willing to be flexible around location.
Pros
A thoughtful and person centered employer
Cons
generally low salaries
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly place
Test Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW18 June 2017
Uniting Care is a friendly and supportive place to work.
Management are supporting and always willing to have an open mind. I enjoyed my time while working here
Pros
friendly
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport

Want to know more about Uniting?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs improvement.
Assistant in Nursing (Current Employee) –  Newcastle NSW14 June 2017
No one taught me how to do any documentation and they always say if you don't know something ask but when I do ask they get angry. I was once told by an RN that I shouldn't be working on a particular side because they are too sickly. Good pay and only an enjoyable experience if the staff are your friends otherwise you're stuck on your own and no one wants to help you when it becomes overwhelming.
Pros
Residents
Cons
Unfriendly staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work plenty of staff meetings to voice your opinion on how things are going
AIN (Assistant in Nursing) (Current Employee) –  Hamlyn Terrace NSW12 June 2017
Uniting are a good Company to work for but at the moment they are more Task orientated than Person Centre Care Staff spend more time Cleaning than they do with the Residents
The manager is New and there are a lot of changes
The hardest part of the job is not having enough one on one time with Residents
The most enjoyable part of the Job is making the residents aware that they are being cared for and putting a smile on there face most times
Pros
some great staff, salary packaging and free meals
Cons
not enough time spent with residents
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no support
Care Worker (Former Employee) –  Sydney Western Suburbs NSW7 June 2017
There is not much support for staff
management are not supportive
the client that are glad when you arrive as you maybe the only one they see
being able to put a smile on some ones face
Pros
meeting new people
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible culture
This is meant to be anonymous (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW23 April 2017
Too many managers and too many making silly decisions
No work-life balance
Was responsible for working on critical business infrastructure but not trusted to work from home or other locations other than head office.
No money gets spent on anything of importance. When childcare centres have to run their own independant fundraisers so they can buy stationary there is an issue.
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A leading organisation in the AOD sector
Non-Residential Withdrawal Program Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Coburg VIC5 April 2017
As a previous employee of UnitingCare ReGen, I can confirm that this place prioritises evidence based practice and staff's work satisfaction. The leadership team is compassionate, innovative and passionate.
Pros
Work/life balance policies. Culture.
Cons
Work is subject to funding opportunities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caring
Care assistant (Current Employee) –  Salamander Bay NSW26 February 2017
Lots of caring good environment very close to home and many hours caring environment caring understanding staff great place to work just need a change of work place
Pros
Close
Cons
Short staf
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unrelalistic work load for Care Servce Employees
CSE (Former Employee) –  Peakhurst NSW18 February 2017
Never been so stressed in my life for the low pay and rediculous work load is not worth the job.
So many paper works and barely anytime to care for the resident.
I went home and cried everyday.
The cleaning staffs get the same pay and less stress.
Pros
Uniform Supplied
Cons
Constantly working back to get through the paper work and not getting paid for it
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay is ok but expectations are unrealistic
Service Manager (Former Employee) –  NSW3 January 2017
The community care team used to be great but all the good managers are gone. There is a culture of fear and the systems are dreadful. If you speak up those at the top with big egos and no skills come after you. Clients get dreadful service because of the call centre and the front line staff cop the complaints

I have never worked for an organisation where the public image was so far from the reality ..they really don't care about their staff let alone their customers. It's all about the money. A shame for an organisation that was once a social justice leader
Pros
Not much
Cons
Poor systems and senior management. Staff treated appallingly
Was this review helpful?Yes 34No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best workplace I've ever had
Educator (Current Employee) –  Canberra ACT20 December 2016
VERY happy with my work with Uniting. Head Office genuinely care about the children and the staff. Above award wages and great conditions. My manager checks in on us regularly and communicates well with us. Finally found a company that means what they say about caring for the children, will be staying here!
Pros
Training opportunities, feel respected by head office, treated like a professional.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright I guess
Assistant in Nursing (AIN) (Former Employee) –  Gerringong NSW16 November 2016
For the job it is hard enough as it is. I loved my residents but the older staff are cruel and don't show any respect for younger staff. I was there for my residents and not them.
Pros
My residents
Cons
The staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Uniting. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 90 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6