University of Tasmania Employee Reviews

Found 17 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great lifestyle. Good conditions. Frequent travel between campuses
Lecturer (Current Employee) –  Launceston TAS6 June 2017
Tasmania is a great place to live and The University of Tasmania is a solid institution with an established reputation.

Salary and work conditions are generally good.

The University is currently going through a period of restructure which makes life difficult and uncertain for many academic and professional staff members.

The University has had some problem recruiting high profile academics in some discipline ( e.g. Business and Economics). There is a frequent change in Management and some uncertainty about the strategy of development.

The University main campus is located in Hobart and staff located at other campuses feel somewhat left out unless they are prepared to travel to Hobart frequently.
Pros
Life style, small student numbers realtive to mainland
Cons
Current uncertainty, frequent travel between campuses
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
On call for suitable jobs
Photographer (Former Employee) –  Sandy Bay TAS3 April 2017
3-5 hours photographic work, plus preparations, processing of imagery and delivery of content to the client. Jobs are well discussed prior to the event with support available.
Pros
Well looked after and included as a participant
Cons
Working hours continue after hours for processing
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun
Casual library assistant (Current Employee) –  Hobart TAS29 January 2017
It has been fun and a learning experience for me to have worked with some amazing people at the University of Tasmania. Working at the University of Tasmania has provided me with an opportunity to develop and enhance my communication skills as well as being a friendly environment to work in.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very positive place to work. Good motivation from supervisors.
International Peer Leader (SET) (Current Employee) –  Hobart TAS13 December 2016
Very relaxing workplace. Supervisors trust me. I learned to communicate better with students and staffs. Also learned a lot about all the services provided to students.
Pros
Free coffee, staff trainings, self development opportunities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working towards a culturally appropriate respectful environment
University cultural advisor (Current Employee) –  Tasmania9 December 2016
Positive outcomes
Working in a team environment
Working with upper management on a range of concerns within the university to improve outcomes for Aboriginal students
Challenging and rewarding.
Pros
Good relationships and outcomes
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked as an authorised education agent and running my own business with Government Education and Training international which was very rewarding.
Authorized Education Agent (Former Employee) –  Hobart and Overseas11 May 2016
Rewarding job, great learning and multi tasking, continuous interaction with people which made me more of a people's person. Great support
Pros
Great support chain
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work.
Administrative Assistant - HEO3 (Former Employee) –  Newnham10 January 2016
I enjoy being part of a team. Getting the job done and feeling that I have accomplished something for whichever company I have worked for.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Too much overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
free coffee made by yourself
Visiting Scholar (Current Employee) –  Hobart, TAS20 December 2015
setting up the model, simulating, thinking
Communication with the teaching staff here
getting the best result
writing the English papers to international journals
Pros
free coffee
Cons
computer service
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding Career
Financial Accountant (Former Employee) –  Sandy Bay12 October 2015
Retired from the University after 23 years.

I am very satisfied with the opportunities I was given and with the University a quality employer.
Pros
A large organisation that continued to challenge me.
Cons
Change process sometimes too rapid.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible computer based work, self paced hours.
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sandy Bay, TAS10 November 2014
Highly recommend this employer for any students. Very flexible hours and excellent remuneration for student researchers.
State of the art facilities available through APAC.
Leaders in their fields as your direct boss, co-workers and advisors.
You must be able to write the different modelling programs input parameters, understand and adhere to the computing requirements of each calculation submitted to APAC and be able to interpret the data returned by the calculations and tabulate them in a form such as Excel spread sheets.
Best job ever but only covered by short term ARC grants.
Pros
Excellent remuneration and work hours to suit study. Excellent project management.
Cons
Short term ARC grants to fund the positions, I had to pay for internet access and buy my own coffee when I worked from home after hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice boss
Technical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tasmania Australia18 June 2014
I have done a lot of plant tissue culture and preparation for the the work eg making medium and plates. I have been working with a little supervised in that time. But I have good relationship with people from other labs.
Pros
My boss trusted my work
Cons
I could not give any comment
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours and demanding Board of Directors
MICROSOFT SYSTEMS ADMINISTRATOR (Former Employee) –  Hobart, TAS30 March 2014
After an initial period of the board listening to the staff and workers, they started cutting people and putting a higher workload on existing staff and still expecting the same output and quality of work in a shorter time frame.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not applicable
Law Faculty, Australia (Former Employee) –  Australia4 March 2014
Researching complex legal problems and teaching students in the areas of legal reasoning and tort. The most enjoyable part of the job was providing help and support to the students.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A decent place to work.
Research scientist (Current Employee) –  Hobart20 February 2014
The job involves reducing and analysing scientific data. In this role I have learned the importance of team work and built on my data handling/analysis skills. The best part of job is extracting meaningful results from masses of data; if there is a tough side to the role, that is, it can sometimes be lonely.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed and Thorough
Tutor (Former Employee) –  Launceston, TAS5 November 2013
Assisting your clients with course related work is the most fun I ever had. I also learned a lot myself.
Pros
Mentoring
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Australian University
Senior Lecturer (Current Employee) –  Hobart, TAS6 September 2013
In the area of Computing a typical mid order university.

Worked here for 20 years as I was too lazy to move out.

In many ways the department is hugely "in bread" with over 80% lectures being graduates of the same university with little outside staff.
Pros
Only University in an island state
Cons
Exessive teaching focus
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 11Report

See more University of Tasmania reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Tasmania. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 18 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.7
Culture
3.8

University of Tasmania Reviews by Location