Volvo Employee Reviews

See reviews about:
Found 21 reviews matching the search See all 1,582 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Volvo National Fleet Sales Co-ordinator (Current Employee) –  Wacol QLD17 September 2017
Enjoyable place to work and good work balance. Company offers good health programs. I have learned a lot about truck manufacturing and driving trucks as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Give long service and treated poorly
Head of Volvo Penta Oceania (Former Employee) –  Coomera QLD26 April 2017
Unacceptable work/life balance for management. A culture of under resourcing and overloading. Lack of support from overseas managers. Don't walk the talk, don't listen to managers on the ground.
Pros
Travel
Cons
Not treated with respect
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Assistant Accountant Intern (Former Employee) –  malaysia23 April 2017
I learned how to work harmoniously in a team of different cultures and i also learned heaps about my job tasks and responsibilities. Which makes me more keen to do more accounting roles.

The channel of authority is centralised making it easier and better for employees to carry out work operations
Pros
free food
Cons
more work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Close to Home
Service Adviser (Former Employee) –  Melbourne Northern Suburbs VIC20 April 2017
Progressed from Heavy Vehicle Mechanic to Service Adviser, looking after daily work shop workflow, ensuring parts availability for work progress, and completion.
Pros
Well equipped workshop
Cons
Limited advancement opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fair and valued
Technician (Former Employee) –  Melbourne, Australia10 March 2017
Volvo in Melbourne was a joy to work for, there was constant bonuses and perks, and I was valued to such an extent, was a great team I worked with, great product. Over all I really enjoyed my time spent at Volvo
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and exciting place to work
Heavy Diesel Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Gold Coast QLD6 March 2017
Great culture and workmates
Excellent management in place with understanding and friendly supervisors to report too
Great variety of work and clean workshop
Pros
work/life balance
Cons
Can be demanding at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company to work for
RTO Engineer (Current Employee) –  Brisbane QLD13 February 2017
High Quality Commercial Trucks are manufactured each day. The work is difficult, but rewarding. I have learned so much about building Trucks and what it takes to build quality into the product from the beginning of the Design process through to the end.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work at the time
Assistant Parts Manager (Former Employee) –  Darwin NT3 July 2016
This company is ok to work for, working hours were a bit hard to take being on call 24/7 for break down service. I would work for them again depending on hours required.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
negative hostile environment
Warehouse Storeperson (Former Employee) –  Minto NSW6 June 2016
poor management , no advancement ,negative work environment
bullying culture ,favorites getting preferential treatment
discrimitive culture where physical appearance or ability is used against people
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Storeperson/Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD22 February 2016
Learned a great deal about the parts sector with my time at Volvo and thoroughly enjoyed my time with the company. Sourcing parts on short notice and picking orders for various truck companies like Linfox, Toll, Patrick etc really like working in the industry and found it very rewarding!
Pros
Variety with in the job
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Picking customers orders accurately
Warehouse LO picker (via Chandler Macleod (Former Employee) –  Wacol, QLD18 May 2015
Pick, Pick, Pick need to be an accurate picker, management was good, co-workers works just as hard, the hardest part of the job is coming into work motivated, the most enjoyable day is when I have completed appropriate daily tasks and choirs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive every day keeps me on my feet on switched on every day!!!
Leading hand/Storeman (Current Employee) –  Brisbane, QLD22 February 2015
A friendly enviroment to work in Ive learnt most of the job requirements in two months i only have 1 co worker and we get along fine very funny lad the hardest part would be dealing with lazy workers from warehouse 1 but it all good i just focus on my game ;))
Pros
free bbqs every 3 mths for the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work but hard to get on higher paying levels
Storeman (Current Employee) –  Brisbane, QLD9 December 2014
Picking/packing
Operating buggies LO?LF
General warehouse duties
In house computer systems
Pros
Every fortnight friday rdo
Cons
set holidays at school holidays for longer than annual leave days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Warehouse Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Sydney, NSW21 August 2014
This was a most enjoyable job, with opportunities to make a difference. I gained a great deal of my skills and experience during my time in this job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
WODONGA - DEISEL MECHANIC (Former Employee) –  Albury, S19 March 2014
as the company was a Mach, Volvo and UD Dealership worked and carried a various of technical and diagnostics on all three brands. Part of duties were that I would carry out 24 hour on call as well as my daily duties in the workshop,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
always go on training
Technician (Former Employee) –  kuwait13 January 2014
Volvo is one of the safes car in the world and high technology
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive .a good company to work for .
store man (Former Employee) –  Brisbane, QLD9 October 2013
my job as a storeman was to investigate and fix all the pick errors at all the stations in the truck production line I would get called down to a station and they would tell me the part number that is missing the I would go back to the warehouse find the part location and then do a cycle count on the missing part and if the count was correct I would then go back to production and look for the part 9 out of 10 its been put in the wrong trolley or bounced out on the way done to production or it could have been wrong part put in wrong location and if so I would have to fix this problem strait away so it didn't happen again on the next pick. I learnt a lot at Volvo they also put me through certificate lll in transport and logistics (warehousing and storage).I got on with over 450 people there It was a stress full job but I enjoy and get great satisfaction solving problems
Pros
BBQ's
Cons
good houly rate
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Selling large commercial vehicles
Sales Executive (Former Employee) –  Chullora NSW2 August 2013
Early starts
Lots of driving and demonstrating trucks with clients and fleet managers.
Lots of justification of highest cost on the market, due to safety and vehicle economy figures, as well as environmental cleanliness and good fuel economy, plus long service intervals.
Good co-workers, though they often tend to drink too much
Not a good place to join, as they do not value new employees, only the ones that have been aound many years. They have a policy of last in, first out and a revolving door mentality. Also, lazy managers with no new ideas.
Pros
Subsidised canteen
Cons
Make lots of people redundant, like me ....due to GFC.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good salary and work Values
Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Townsville, QLD23 July 2013
every day had customer contact.
Learning was expected and encouraged with company website exercises.
The hardest part of the job for me was finding the correct job descriptions/number for work carried out on vehicles.
Most enjoyable part of the job was when a vehicle was fixed and i could call the customer to come and collect it.
Pros
Meetings every friday
Cons
Team work is lacking some direction.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job is ok, but not where i want to be
Storeman (Current Employee) –  Wacol4 December 2012
little personal contact with others, not the area i would like to work in, great pay however.
Pros
money
Cons
poor lifestyle, feel un appreciated
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

See more Volvo reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Volvo. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 1,582 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Salary/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.7
Culture
3.9