99 Bikes Employee Reviews

Showing all 9 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Retail Environment
Sales Consultant (Current Employee) –  Hoppers Crossing VIC23 January 2019
I have worked in a number of retail establishments in my time. Typically, management is uncontactable or beyond reproach. 99 Bikes has the attitude that if you can see a better way of doing things. just implement it and tell us all about it. Commission structure promotes ongoing growth, with consistent high achievement rewarded with bumps to commission %.

Pay is award rates, including penalty rates - a rarity in retail these days - with commission on top.

Weekend work is a must - which is difficult for some, but if you can spare your weekends the rewards are significant!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Support Team (Current Employee) –  Brisbane QLD30 April 2018
99 Bikes has a great company culture, the team are incredibly welcoming and there is a strong work/life balance.

I have worked at several retail companies and big brands, and 99 Bikes by far has the best culture I have seen.

Expectations are clearly stated and regularly reviewed with your team leader which means I know exactly what is expected of me. Performance is fairly rewarded and there is a flat structure and no "stuffiness".

I thoroughly enjoy coming to work at 99 Bikes :)
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 11Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All About the Bikes
Hubstore Specialist (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC28 April 2018
Great sales process.
Hard work required.
New pay structure that is better.
Talking to people about bikes.
Good discounts for staff.
Good colleagues..
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 9Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energetic workplace with focus on the future & what's next
Marketing Manager (Current Employee) –  Brisbane QLD26 April 2018
I've worked at 99 for many years and loved it. I've had so many opportunities that never would have existed at other companies. The company has grown so fast over recent years and I've always been impressed by the accuracy of future goals in the company, which are always shared openly. There's a very flat reporting structure in the company so it's easy to raise any ideas you have. I worked in shops for years and benefited so much from it; learning about our customers and helping improve shop systems. 99 Bikes has a very strong culture of working hard and celebrating rewards.
Pros
Small team with big influence
Cons
Only operates in Australia
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 10Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Underpaid sales roles
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW18 October 2017
This job centres around working weekends with no penalty rates, working hours longer than contracted and having to work towards unrealistic sales targets just to get minimum wage.
Pros
Nothing. All benefits can be had at any other bike shop
Cons
Long hours, staff turnover, illegal pay structure
Was this review helpful?Yes 30No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun until you receive your first paycheck
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW7 April 2017
Overall a company with a great working culture but extremely poor pay and advancement prospects. The only people i can recommend this job to are those who are looking for an easy start in the bike industry. Expectations are extremely high and pay will always lag behind what you could earn elsewhere. Although the bike industry is known for long hours, low pay and poor career prospects 99bikes takes this to the extreme.
Pros
Monthly function nights, staff discount, an easy entry into the bike industry
Cons
Stressful sales culture and poor pay structure, inexperienced management, poor career prospects
Was this review helpful?Yes 40No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cut-throat and unsupportive company
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD25 September 2016
Overall this is a company with shortsighted management, cut-throat sales culture and poor career prospects.

As a sales consultant, sales performance is measured on a daily basis. Sales results are measured by the amount of profit that is earned on products that staff sell. Commission is then paid based on these results. The costs for each shop are divided by the number of staff at the store and this is then set as a minimum target that staff must reach or risk dismissal.

This gives goals to work towards but often external factors come into play and are not appreciated by management. For example a rainy couple of weeks will lead to poor sales which will lead to staff being criticised for poor performance. In addition if a shop is genuinely unprofitable this will be attributed to poor performance of staff rather than a shop that struggles due to location, catchment, competition etc.

Things like having weekends off or being sick will lead to being targeted by management. Head office will shift blame towards front line staff wherever they can. For example head office decides promotions and sales which often impact front line staff commission and sales results. However if a promotion is poorly designed then blame will be laid on staff inability to sell rather than the promotion itself.

While head office is unsupportive of staff, they expect staff to go above and beyond for the company. Things like transferring bikes between stores on unpaid days off, coming in without pay on days off are encouraged and commonplace. Staff are not paid to open or close the shop which will
  more... take between 30 min to an hour every day. There are no penalty rates for working weekends or public holidays. Staff are expected to attend (unpaid) team meetings even if these fall on a rostered day off.

This company does not take safety seriously and hurting yourself lifting a bike etc. is not likely to be supported by management. Safety is not a KPI of anyone in the company.

The best thing about this company is the fun culture (monthly reward nights) and good performance will be rewarded in the short term.

Most of the staff in this company are very young and there is only a handful older than their 30s and only a handful that are parents. Expect little support for a work-life balance.

Progression opportunities are limited for front line staff. Opportunities in head office are not generally offered to store staff.
  less
Pros
Monthly reward nights
Cons
Cut-throat culture, no pay outside store opening hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 73No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good atmopshere to work in
Workshop Manager (Current Employee) –  Macgregor, QLD1 February 2015
Good place to work, good people, good products, and great rewards. I have been in the bicycle industry for many years. so i haven't learned to much from the trade side. However i have learned that as a mechanic you shouldn't work for these guys.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 25Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at 99 Bikes. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 9 reviews
53
41
31
21
13

Ratings by category

3.0Work/Life Balance
2.7Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
3.4Culture