Active Tree Services Employee Reviews

Found 13 reviews matching the search See all 14 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & enjoyable workplace epecially for those who like to work away from home
Horticulturist (Current Employee) –  South Australia12 August 2018
Great sense of team when working 'On-Ground'

I have learnt quite a lot about the processes involved when managing vegetation around powerlines

Management does appear to be a 'footy Club' here in South Australia.

As far as the workplace culture goes "It's not what you know, it's who you know"

If you're looking to advance within the company in South Australia, you will not- unless you play for the same football team. Workplace nepotism. Which is a shame, because the skills on-ground, far outweigh the skills in South Australia's upper management (education, training, REAL knowledge vs office knowledge). Which is a loss to the progression and betterment of Active Tree Services SA division

But the travel and people you get to meet, make it all worth it, if you can look past the exclusivity.
Pros
Travel
Cons
Being away from home
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
Vegetation Inspector (Former Employee) –  Throughout south australia22 May 2018
Exciting opportunity to learn new skills and challenge myself.
I enjoyed working using a tablet and gps equipment. Working 5 days a week 8 hrs a day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
District supervisor (Former Employee) –  Australia20 March 2018
It was good company to work for but after 10 years I decided that I needed a change when I left it was a very sad day to this day I still contact managers and other supervisors and the door will always remain open if I ever wanted to return.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
linesman
Electrician (Former Employee) –  Newcastle NSW8 December 2016
electrical linesman. A typical day will involve isolating and de energising power to network for active tree work can commence safely with understanding of the power network and the ability to receive and hand out permits to the required persons.
Pros
Good wage
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management will lie to you and stab you in the back
Vegetation clearance officer (scoper) (Former Employee) –  South Australia15 February 2016
the workers are a great bunch to work with but management aren't they lie to you to make it sound like they are willing to work with you but when you join its a "do it or find another job" attitude half of them don't know what it takes to do the job properly in the field and if you make a small mistake they give you a written warning so find some where else to work
Pros
no two days are the same
Cons
no job security if they want you gone start looking for another job
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging but worthwhile.
Fleet Maintenance Supervisor (Current Employee) –  New South Wales, Australia.4 December 2015
Often very early starts to meet vehicle crews and supervisors to discuss outstanding faults and work priority. Sometimes working evenings and weekends to ensure minimum vehicle downtime. Due to the nature of the operational environment, vehicle damage was a constant. Driver education on vehicle defect reporting and vehicle positioning proved to be the biggest challenge to maintaining working relationships but comedy often prevailed. The satisfaction of seeing reduced downtime and damage costs over my two year tenure demonstrated my ability to adapt the previous framework to a more effective solution.
Pros
Working environment.
Cons
Some weekends. Very early starts.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
On the Rise
GIS Mobile Data Technician (Former Employee) –  Adelaide, SA22 November 2015
Well Adjusted company that has successfully transitioned from small almost single state company to multinational.

Some rough edges in management but not a lost cause.

Fairly flat management structure with sound ability to deal with IT issues and staffing shortfalls.

Does perform research in IT and process facilitation eg Tree clearance.
Pros
Forward thinking company. Good systems, Active CEO.
Cons
Copany split over several states so some hard to create mateship.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secure Work place
Cutter (Former Employee) –  Melbourne Eastern Suburbs VIC18 November 2015
Great company to work for. They Pay for all your training. Cert 111 is offered after about 12 months. Great incentives for the right employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good productive company
driver opperator (Former Employee) –  all over south australia15 October 2015
enjoyed my time with the company travelling all over south aus
management and team crews very enjoyable to work with hardest
thing about the job was leaving /enjoyed all the travel to different places in SA /all my co-workers where great to get along with easy going and professional in there field of employment
Pros
room for expansion of job requirements
Cons
na
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Yard Manager/Plant Operator (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW1 January 2015
Good company, good training and conditions. I enjoyed the culture and challenge
.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 6Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work by yourself
Vegetation Inspector/Leading Hand (Former Employee) –  Keswick, SA12 May 2014
management has little experience,inspect vegetation under powerlines and notify residents of pruning required.
Cons
always away
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good physically demanding work place that kept me fit and alert and focussed on safety.
Arborist (Former Employee) –  11a Croyden rd Keswick.14 January 2014
Active trees was a fun enjoyable place to work. I traveled the whole state clearing vegetation from power lines, I got the opportunity to get up close with wild life and was able to travel from Renmark through the Adelaide Hills right over to coffin bay on the far west coast. Unfortunately some of the vegetation that we cleared from powerlines was sometimes privately owned, And the general public weren't to happy with us entering there properties to clear there trees. This struck a particular chord with me because i didnt like angering residents, some people spent a lot of time and effort on there gardens and due to legislation were unable to keep them. I want to help people and provide a service that people can benefit from, not destroy their gardens or make them angry.
Pros
Travelling the state
Cons
upsetting the general public becaame all in a days work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report

See more Active Tree Services reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Active Tree Services. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 14 reviews
53
45
33
21
12

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
4.0Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.4Culture

Active Tree Services Reviews by Location