Airport Retail Enterprises Employee Reviews

Ratings by category
Found 17 reviews matching the search See all 19 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy but fun workplace
Barista (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW2 March 2019
Serving beverages for customers, cleaning up dirty dishes on the table and cleaning them.
- very friendly working team members which makes it a comfortable place
- gets busy at times but nothing too hard
Pros
free food sometimes
Cons
might get too tiring sometimes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They need to look after their employee
Food and Beverage Attendant (Former Employee) –  melbourne tullamarine26 February 2019
need to encourage and support more employee
focused only on making money.
Nice spot to meet many people and create relationships
lack of organization
Good salary rate
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very very good environment and people
Supervisor barista (Former Employee) –  New South Wales8 February 2019
fantastic company, very good people i really enjoyed working there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work but bad management
Food and Beverage Attendant (Current Employee) –  Gold Coast QLD25 January 2019
almost on my first shift had me doing things like I was supposed to know how things work when I had no clue had more people quit due to poor management and them not owning up to their mistakes

got to meet new people most days as they are always hiring

need to learn the value of stuff and other workers
Pros
pay for everything
Cons
never honest
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HJ at T1 is a geat crew Love coming to work
Shift Leader (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW18 January 2019
Good team
We have won national awards 3 yerss in a row
Been here since we opened I am training to become a manager and get help to get there
I like what i do
Pros
Team
Cons
Busy busy
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work and learning
Office Assistant (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW16 October 2018
I learnt a lot so far working for this company and it is really good environment to work with. I got to meet lots of people and customer. So far it has been a good place to work
Pros
Free Tea and coffee, good salary
Cons
Sometimes long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Culture
Manager (Former Employee) –  Sydney Airport24 April 2018
HR and Company Directors well aware of bad culture within the company but not willing to support though those changes, allowing the senior management to continue with bad work ethics and attitude towards other colleagues.
Pros
Free food and coffee
Cons
Red tape policy's allowing bad culture to continue
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Such a great team environment and great to be taught so many roles
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Sydney T3 Qantas21 September 2017
A typical day at ARE is never the same so you don't get bored.
So many stores and different roles you can move into. A great place to learn. Management will provide you with the training you need.
Great workplace culture and different teams you can be a part of.
Hardest part of the job is if the wind hits and all the flights are delayed... can be very busy! Most enjoyable part of the job is the people you work with and the customers you can laugh with.
Pros
Free lunches and discounts in all airport shops
Cons
3am wakeup alarm
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big Organisation based on Brisbane Domestic Airport, Australia
Retail Manager (Food Court Services) (Former Employee) –  Brisbane17 July 2017
Big organisation with more than 150 employees at one site works with proper working ethics and always respect each other.

everyday is new challenge and great fun to work at airport,
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Productive Workplace, although staff to management needs improvement.
Barista/Bartender/Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brisbane Airport QLD11 January 2017
A typical day at work, would be normally very busy. I learned and improved of my barista skills. Co-Workers were amazing. Everyone got along, great teamwork. The hardest part of the job was never knowing when you were going to finish due to delayed flights ect. The most enjoyable part of the job would have to be interacting with customers from all over the world. Also being trained in multiple cafe's and restaurants this allowed a lot of variety and something new each day.
Pros
free lunches, great CEO, variety of workplaces.
Cons
unpredicable hours. Poor Management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work at Airport
Café All Rounder (Former Employee) –  Sydney International16 November 2016
Leaning a lot here. I like that i get trained in a few shopsand it is never boring. The other staff I work with are very nice and funny
Lots of regular customers so its nice to have a talk with them and it makes it nice when you can joke around with them and they know you
Managers are very helpful and give less experienced staff chance to proof themselves
Shifts can vary but are flexible which works well for me
Can be stressful when it is really busy and we have long lines
Pros
Crosstraining, Team, Location, good wages
Cons
sometimes understaffed
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Food and Beverage attendant
Food and Beverage Attendant (Current Employee) –  Melbourne Airport VIC18 October 2016
Working in the airport in a food and beverage shop, you learn a lot of things. How to manage everything on time, doing multiple things on time, preparing the food and serving customers. And of course, being really fast at making coffee. It is a very busy shop and you need to be fast and alert. When you start familiarising yourself in the job, you understand and learn more techniques. And that is the best thing about working in a food and beverage place. The more techniques you learn the better you'll be and the skills you have/gained. The company has 5 different shops around the terminals and you have to move around to them and help out. It is a friendly area to work around with, the supervisors and managers are amazing people and so are the co-workers. To work in a place like this you will need to have the following certificates
- Food handlers
- Barista course
- RSA (some stores do provide alcohol).
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Work times - too early in the morning (3am start)
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW9 September 2016
Good pay and good working team. Good working environment provided me with many great skills. Team works together very effectively and support each other to get the job done
Pros
Travel Allowance and free meal
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
vibrant environment
Customer service/waitressing/bar tending (Current Employee) –  Melbourne Airport VIC4 February 2016
Bar Pulpo by Movida in Melbourne International Airport
Spanish based restaurant and bar
Early morning start of 6.30 to open and prepare for opening for the day
Busiest and hardest times are the early morning rushes
orders taken at counter by other workers while I work on the floor serving out all meals and drinks
working very fast and constant due to being only person to serve on floor
lunch times become table service
most enjoyable part is to meet new people and help them with anything they need before their long flight
Pros
meeting new people and conversating with customers
Cons
very busy
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed working here although the hours weren't suitable for my lifestyle
Barista/bartender (Former Employee) –  Brisbane, QLD12 November 2015
plenty of hour although the shift times were just not flexible enough to suit my life style. the hardest part of the job would be waking up at 3am to start my 4am shift.
Was this review helpful?Yes 29No 6Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
daily routines
Customer service/cook/barista/cleaner (Current Employee) –  margate,qld5 May 2014
can be stress full.
mostly work solo.
the weather does affect the job, so sometimes work is cancelled.
nothing hard about it.
co workers have a don't care attitude.
enjoyable part of the job is communicating with the public .
management is great.
what I have learned is don't rely on co workers.
Pros
50% off food/drinks
Cons
hours change too often
Was this review helpful?Yes 41No 2Report

See more Airport Retail Enterprises reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Airport Retail Enterprises. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 19 reviews
56
47
35
20
11

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
4.1Salary/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.8Culture

Airport Retail Enterprises Reviews by Location