Alcoa Employee Reviews in Geelong VIC

Found 10 reviews matching the search See all 1,719 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work, great staff
Smelter Shift Electrician (Former Employee) –  Pt Henry Geelong7 December 2016
Challenging work environment, heat, dust and many vehicles. Highly automated plant provided stimulating fault finding work. Improved my leadership and technical skills, most enjoyable was the relationship with coworkers
Pros
Good work hours, Good pay
Cons
Heat and fumes
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked 12hr rotating shifts (day to night) in the casting plant. Loved my job and my crew
Senior Operator, OH&S crew rep, PEO member (Former Employee) –  Pt Henry, Geelong16 November 2015
Worked directly with molten aliminium across the whole process of the Ingot Mill as a senior operator. Every day was different due to production demands and skill sets. I was the only female operator on a crew of approx 20 and my crew are like my family and we still catch up regularly. The hardest part of my job was dealing with the extreme heat that radiated from the molten aluminium. I thoroughly enjoyed my time at Alcoa and loved working in a team environment, loved shift work and enjoyed working closely with my crew and management to safely meet production targets.
Pros
Shift work
Cons
Heat from molten aluminium
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work, wish it didnt shut down !
APPRENTICE ELECTRICIAN (Former Employee) –  Geelong, VIC6 November 2015
Great place to work with good benefits and pay. job scope was wide spread and constantly changing. Able to move up in the system if desired and easy to work with fellow workmates. Extremely safe environment and fun place to work testing your abilities and work ethic at times
Pros
Work hours
Cons
No overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a great place to work
Operator in pre heats (Former Employee) –  Pt Henry, Geelong Vic21 July 2015
Spent all most 17 years at this company , enjoyed my time there and made some great friends.
My first day began in April 1998 on the hotline, as my skills progressed I was trained in other areas of the plant, of which I thougherly enjoyed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A daily saftey meeting and then complete all designated jobs.
Apprentice Electrician (Former Employee) –  geelong, vic9 November 2014
A typical day at work would be everyone in the area would go to a safety meeting in the morning to talk about our jobs for the day and picking one of them jobs deemed to be the highest risk, or the high risk task of the day. The job would be discussed in greater detail and we would go through methods to lower the risk of that job.
We would also discuss any overnight issues and if something has happened to the bog equipment.
I would then go off and complete my jobs for the day.
At the end of each job I done I would go and see my tradesman and start my next job.
Pros
A+ saftey
Cons
some of the systems of alcoa were inefficent
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I work as a Refractory Equipment manager
REFRACTORY EQUIPMENT MANAGER - Ingot Mill (Current Employee) –  Geelong5 October 2014
I work as part of a team of Equipment managers consisting of 2 x Fitters, 2 x Electricians, 1 x Boilermaker and 1 x Rigger. I maintain all refractory linings in the Cast house including Furnaces and Launders. I also supervise Refractory contractors when we have shutdowns. I really enjoy the comradery and I have met most of my closest friends through work. Alcoa Rolled Products are also a very family orientated company which has allowed me to work and have a very happy family life as well. Unfortunately AARP will be ceasing their operation here in Geelong on December 19th 2014 which will be a fairly emotional day as I have spent 90% of my working life here
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked in the Smelter area of Alcoa
Refractory Bricklayer (Former Employee) –  Geelong, VIC5 October 2014
I started my Refractopry career in 1981 with Alcoa and 6 months of the year in the Carbon plant and the remaining 6 months in the Cast house. I worked in a small gang consisting of 2 x Bricklayers and 1 x Labourer as part of a larger group of Bricklayers and Labourers. The hardest part of the job was the demolition of refractory and the most enjoyable part was meeting a lot of work mates and forming long term close friendships with some as well
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people to work with who have can do attitude
MATERIALS DELIVERY TECHNICAL OFFICER (Current Employee) –  Geelong,Vic26 June 2014
A typical day at work consists of isolating pieces of equipment for contractors to perform planned maintenance tasks, co-coordinating reactor & dense phase pipe overhaul schedules, management of alumina from holding silos, through feed systems to potrooms.

l have learnt good people & organisational management skills.

Built good relationship with management through coordinating plant operations, safety forums & budget planning

Built good work relationships with fitters , electricians, plant operators & management through management of planned work & breakdowns.

Management of maintenance of equipment under very tight budget restraints.

Achievement of zero injuries for the contractor work l manage , knowing that we have focused on SWI's & completed high risk task assessment prior to job start, ensure to planned activities are carried out safely & efficiently group that l manage.
l
Pros
Gift vouchers for implementation of employee suggestions
Cons
Long hours to get worek completed
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pressure but rewarding when goals reached
Crew Leader (Former Employee) –  Pt Henry Geelong Vic21 May 2013
Set scheduals, allocate manning, run mill, deal with quality and safety issues, run rates, break downs, and shift pass overs. Learned how to deal with and manage people. Co- workers were good to work with, we did outside activities together. Hardest part would be job security, best part would be the people l worked with.
Pros
12hr shift rotation
Cons
Job pressures
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report

See more Alcoa reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Alcoa. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 1,719 reviews
5647
4591
3325
284
172

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
4.0Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.7Culture