ALDI Australia Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace and team member environment
Store clerk (Former Employee) –  coomera square2 June 2018
Aldi is the perfect company to work for, they give you skills and training that you would never expect to learn in a supermarket environment.

The area managers, managers and all other team members are caring and friendly and arent afraid to help you and give you guidance along the way in the career you are gaining being there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shocking Culture
Retail Assistant - Part Time (Current Employee) –  Mornington Peninsula VIC19 May 2018
Managers are very pushy, treat you very poorly and have no time to listen to your concerns. i cant say there is a single good part of this job. Avoid working here if you can
Pros
none
Cons
Management pressure, injury, poor culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
plesant enough place to work at but not ideal
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Adelaide SA16 May 2018
busy days, long hours, often stayed back overtime. was expected to work late nights when not rostered on. high expectations. good team mates. good lunch breaks but fast paced, in realistic expectations of team.
Pros
hour lunch breaks
Cons
long hours, early mornings
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for a part-time job
Store Assistant (Current Employee) –  Mundaring WA1 May 2018
Been with the company for 2 years since their launch in Western Australia, including training 6 weeks before the official opening.

Coming from a recent graduate, ALDI is the perfect job for university students looking to make some money in a part-time gig whilst they study - impressive rate p/h, great penality rates, extensive training, have been flexible and acknowledged the importance of my study, good work-life balance, caters for family aswell.

Only cons would have been the fact that ALDI is a very cost reducing company and it means you are worked hard and fast, you will not be able to fake hard work here.
Pros
great rate, good penalities, flexible hours, great staff and management
Cons
hard work, extremely fast paced, repetitive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i worked hard there
Picker/Packer (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC27 April 2018
i am willing to work hard and do my best to your organsation. Since i was a student when i was working in Aldi i had to return to Sri Lanka. Then i got Termporary resident visa. therefore i applied this again.
Pros
adjustable time
Cons
noting
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding and demanding role
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Minchinbury NSW18 April 2018
*Fast pace
*Excellent organisational skills & time management
*Good management
*Happy Environment
*Long hours (overtime)
*Lunch break with colleagues
Pros
professional work ethics
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic cult-like business
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Melbourne VIC7 April 2018
Run like the military, they either break you until you are completely automated or they walk away and don't give you the time of day. Many illegal and immoral business practices treated like normal procedure. The work itself is not too challenging but the internal politics is very 1940s Germany. Stay away if you have self respect!
Pros
Pays well and pretty mindless work
Cons
Submit or leave culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work minamal recognition
Deputy Manager (Former Employee) –  ACT ACT28 March 2018
Unless you want to work yourself to the bone for your $24.40 an hour or be bullied for not doing so don't bother applying.
Sure is above average pay for retail but the quality of people who are hired is horrendous. Heaven forbid you are one of the good few because then you have to do both your job and everyone elses.
Good luck.
Pros
Above average entry level pay
Cons
Zero recognition for working your a#s off
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced
Shop Assistant (Current Employee) –  Brisbane QLD27 March 2018
Shifts usually start at either 6am or 2:30-3:30pm. Everything is extremely repetitive and expected to be done quickly. Friendly staff, but can be very stressful. Managers are decent, lots of weekend work, and late finishes.
Pros
Good hourly rate
Cons
Terrible hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management starts from the top
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Brendale QLD19 February 2018
Very poorly managed from the top that works its way down to supervisors .. Lack of knowledge in the industry from logistics managers shows big time .. Transport especially .. Opinions are best kept to yourself or you are then looked at as trouble .. Supervisors will stick together even if they know they are in the wrong and when you start to see that , then you realise you have got your own back as they don't .. lots of backstabbing and nothing gets done ..
Pros
Easy work
Cons
Work most weekend, bad management and favouritism
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun at work
Retail Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Nowra NSW7 February 2018
amazing job great salary great people and managers and amazing career opportunities the food there to shop is fenominal and I loved working there. thankyou for helping me find myself.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy Workplace
Warehouse Operator (Former Employee) –  Stapylton QLD7 February 2018
ALDI DC at Stapylton QLD is very busy Warehouse, well organised, and clean.
Most of the warehouse operators work on part-time contracts.
Flexible rosters with possibilities to swap the shifts with workmates.
Pros
short hours
Cons
repetitiveness
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ambiente laboral dinamico,ameno, en especial al momento de establecer soluciones especificas en poro y beneficio de la empresa
AYUDANTE DEL MANAGER DEL ALDI ASIGNADO (Former Employee) –  MELBOURNE AUSTRALIA2 February 2018
Empresa reconocida a nivel mundial por sus caracteristicas de alta variedad en sus productos con sus precios accesibles al mercado
Pros
S/n
Cons
Tiempo de brake al tiempo
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Store Assistant (Current Employee) –  Gold Coast QLD1 February 2018
Rosters are not given out in advance, so you do not know what shifts you are working in 2 weeks time. They expect ridiculous speeds for running of stock, for a small person like me it is very hard to achieve and the manager watches and lets staff know if they are too slow, it is very stressful. Manager sits in office a lot of the time. No work life balance, you can do two 10pm finishes in a row, have one day off then start at 6am, how are you supposed to get a routine with shifts like that. You are expected to work most weekends and public holidays. Breaks are not offered for short shifts even though they are legally required. You are expected to keep working past the end of your shift when you are on a close and everything is not done, they do not ask if it is okay they just tell you to keep working. They have little regard for the well being of their staff, you are expected to be fast and be able to complete five tasks at once. Very physically demanding and stressful. The pay is okay but it is not enough to compensate for the lack of work life balance and toll on your body.
Pros
Pay day
Cons
Pretty much everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 28No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright
Casual Stock Replinsher (Current Employee) –  Forster NSW31 January 2018
Ive learned you have to understand stuff in a short frame, managers are very nice, all the staff are amazing and very understanding, may have to cut new people some slack
Pros
Good People
Cons
Early Start
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unfair work place
Deputy Manager (Former Employee) –  Bethania Junction QLD30 January 2018
higher management are useless! long hours for small pay! no care for staff! things are done backwards and double handling! not willing to listen to staff they just pretend to! so many things would be awesome there if there wasn't so many big heads in management!
Pros
some good staff
Cons
the hours and pay rate
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Trucks wash and Yard person movements (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW28 January 2018
I was just a causal partime doing truck wash and yard movements then I would load refridgerated trailers with goods for there retail shops,once I did that I would be asked to see if I would truck a trailer to there other warehouses to unload products and return with a load, I enjoyed aldi warehouse were I was given multiple task to do and did it without any indecision.
Pros
Good
Cons
Wet weather when doing yard
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The team i worked with wasn't supportive, they did what they had to, to continue to do their job.
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Young NSW22 January 2018
Management wasn't good at support when team members needed extra training, Felt due to a personal bio my training was rushed, the hardest part was mental stress.
pay was terrible when you add time,
Pros
Having a Roster. and decent pay.
Cons
Not-supportive
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Zero progression unless you are from Nepal or India
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chatswood Sydney NSW11 January 2018
If you are considering working at the Aldi Chatswood store only apply if you are from Nepal or India because they do not accept anybody but there own!! Received a lot of discrimination and isolation because I am not from these countries! They communicate in their own language and look out for each other. I would look elsewhere if I were you.
Pros
None really
Cons
Discrimination, bad management, no appriciation for all your hard work
Was this review helpful?Yes 43No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
packer/storeman
Store Person/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Gosford NSW8 January 2018
packing shelves,dealing with customers and taking care of stock as a stock replenisher.I loved working there and loved the atmosphere and the team enviroment
Pros
like working with team mates
Cons
no coffee machine
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 5Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ALDI Australia. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 195 reviews
574
442
335
219
125

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.4Culture