ALH Group Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive career time
head chef (Former Employee) –  St Kilda East VIC5 January 2018
i work with ALH GROUP around 7 years 10 month,
as I learn many things in my life, get work in a fast working environment, get management skill, stock controller, handling supplies. coupa ordering system.
Pros
lean many skills
Cons
long working hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and fast paced
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Victoria Point QLD2 January 2018
A fast paced environment, the job is rewarding at all levels and ongoing training and support is provided. The customers are the most important focus with our company and projecting the highest standards ensure return visits.
Pros
Management meals included in package, bonuses given if targets reached
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lazy management and extremely poor administrative system
Bar staff (Former Employee) –  Victoria28 December 2017
The attitude of management quickly changed after I left my job. They and the ALH administration were extremely rude and unhelpful in providing necessary paperwork. Multiple requests were either palmed off or completely ignored and unresolved.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my time at the hotel
Bar and Gaming attendant (Former Employee) –  Adelaide SA19 November 2017
My time at the hotel started very good great hours good pay, then we changed managers, my new manager was not a nice lady very rude to staff infront of customers. as I knew my rights I pulled her up on this and explained I did not appreciate her disrespecting me in front of customers. This did not sit well with her and I went from 30+ a week to only 12 hours, I stuck it out at the hotel as I did like working there for a further 10months, until I went into aged care. it was more satisfying for me.
Pros
afternoon shifts
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for
Housekeeping Attendant (Former Employee) –  Nerang QLD5 September 2017
I teally enjoyed working for this company. It was the first Job i walked into after being a Stay at home mum for 5 years.









.


.



.




.



.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Head chef (Current Employee) –  Perth Australia25 August 2017
Great employers, good pay rate.work life balance. Consulting management. Team effort. The company has worked in hospitality for years and have good experience in this field
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Workplace
Admin Officer / Duty Manager (Current Employee) –  St Clair NSW1 August 2017
Working with ALH I have learnt so much. From starting out on. the bar pouring beers to learning the gaming, do management and my latest Administration.
Pros
Room for growth
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Deteriorating working conditions
Venue Support Officer (Former Employee) –  North Coast NSW23 July 2017
This was a wonderful family company, but, over the last 3 years these values have totally been lost. Management is expected to work too many hours to be actually effective in the long run. Training and support has deteriorated adding to their stresses. Casual staff are limited causing customer service to generally be poor, with unhappy staff.
Pros
Salary is generally OK
Cons
Short staffing limits customer service and satisfaction
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst management ever !!
Bistro Attendant (Current Employee) –  Dubbo NSW2 July 2017
Staff get treated so badly ! Unfairness is very common in workplace, managers have their favorites and if your not one of them watch out ! Unhealthy work/home balance and they don't care, mangers come in make a mess and leave it expecting you to clean it up daily!!
Pros
None
Cons
Long hours, unfairness, and no respect
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment to work
Venue Support Officer (Current Employee) –  Ballina NSW23 May 2017
Fabulous team of workers.
Love my hours
The Office could be a bit bigger.
Everyone pitches in when required.
Love helping out in the Bistro at lunch time and hearing the good reviews fromt the customers.
Pros
Free Lunch
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
Chef (Former Employee) –  Adelaide SA7 March 2017
Fast paced
productive
team work
independent

Working with food
Customer service
Cleaning
Stock rotation
OHS

Long hours
Hard working
Function work
Ordering
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no direction
Head Chef (Former Employee) –  Adelaide SA23 February 2017
worrked sometimes 60 hrs a week with no help from management learned not to work for them again,workplace culture very drepressing with no one happy to come to work,no hard parts about job happiest leaving
Pros
none
Cons
mangers with no idea
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intertaining
TAB operator (Current Employee) –  Westmeadows VIC22 February 2017
Hospitality is Hospitality, it has it pro's and Con's.
The amount of different characters you meet along the way is very interesting & intertaining but unfortunately you do not have a social life as your shifts are all over the place plus weekends are a must because thats where the money is.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and easy work.
Waitress (Current Employee) –  Wheelers Hill VIC28 January 2017
It's great to walk into a workplace and feel like you are there with your friends who can help you get through your shifts.
Pros
good pay
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun to work
Kitchen Hand (Current Employee) –  Brisbane QLD26 January 2017
its fun donig a work. it help to make more experience and make busy through out the day. i have learned much more experience than before in the field of kitchen hand.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management
TAB Operator (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC13 November 2016
Initially was a fantastic place to work until my manager was transferred to the Glengala hotel and quickly replaced by somebody who had no regard for anybody other than herself.
Pros
Bad management
Cons
Worse management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company doesnot looks much after staff.Management is very poor.
Cook/Chef (Former Employee) –  Perth WA15 October 2016
Very hard for the salary staff to balance the life with the roster and salary range the company provides. Management is very poor
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Long hours for salary staff, donot pay overtime hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
e
BARTENDER / GAMING ATTENDANT / WAITRESS (Former Employee) –  Brisbane13 September 2016
The company constantly changed managers, however generally were able to adapt. The general floor staff were usually more hospitable than the managers and were more liked by customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
too high expectations
Venue Manager (Current Employee) –  Toowoomba QLD4 September 2016
long hours not suited to family life, minimal operational support, Woolworths input made it difficult to run a hotel as a hotel felt more like a constant "compliance" job minimal availability for front of house hours and being a venue manager of a hotel
Cons
Long Hours expected
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ALH are only interested in the bottom line employee don't count
Venue Administration Manager (Current Employee) –  Melbourne VIC8 August 2016
The hours are good and the people are great to work with but the company is not interested in their employee and they do not respect their staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 17NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ALH Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 49 reviews
512
419
313
20
15

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.8Culture