Alsco Pty Ltd Employee Reviews

Showing all 16 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Badly Managed
Truck Driving, Deliveries and Sales (Former Employee) –  Newcastle NSW2 May 2019
After joining the line of the injured at Alsco. I left.
Apart from overly stuffed linen bags exceeding the weight limit and the maggots from a weeks sitting in some bakery. There's a lot of pulling, pushing, lifting.
It takes it's toll.
Alsco has a very big staff turnover.
Pros
No weekend work. All worker bees were/are nice people.
Cons
Bad OHS, Some bad customers. Bad Management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rude and poorly managed
Hygiene Technician (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD27 March 2019
Horrible place. Very unreliable and the manager treats his staff like rubbish, plus the reception ladies don't have a brain between them. Every day you have to do the job load for two people. You are also required to do over time regularly, which you never get paid for.
Pros
None
Cons
Long hours, low wage and working for free
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and very good company
packing (Former Employee) –  Cairns City QLD25 April 2018
i remembered 2009 when i came here in australia. alsco pty ltd. the first company that gave me an opportunity to live and to support my familyi i owed a lot to this company. its the best experience working at alsco from the management team and to my work mate they really supportiverr, its a great great experience working to the great company like alsco
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales
Driver (Current Employee) –  Queanbeyan NSW31 January 2018
Learning new skills and meeting new people and being able to help people and do wat the request within my ability and giving 100% with my service skills
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
more break hours needed and wystan and break time no pay
Stores Officer/Clerk (Former Employee) –  Enfield NSW and Blacktown18 September 2017
At this company the Wynstan Blind and shutters work is hard and boss is too push on us and I don't feel like working at this kind of place. I feel so frustrating everyday coz I feel I don't want to work there anymore.
Pros
needs to pay the lunch break
Cons
not bad hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for some
Labourer (Current Employee) –  Alexandria NSW20 November 2016
I do not understand why management get fired so often more than workers with limited English and education. My wife working for this American company for over ten years, same machine never late.
Pros
Life time friends
Cons
Controlling breakdowns
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Duties & responsibilities (Former Employee) –  Eagle Farm QLD20 September 2016
Alsco gave me the change to better myself and move into the account receivable department.
the company as a whole was a great place to work, it felt like one big family,

management would listen to the workers at did the day to day hard work the ling hours and we take on what was said and improve things
Pros
New Skill learnt, people Free Lunches for Christmas and Easter. Early finish on Special days
Cons
heat in the Factorty
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place I worked at
Credit Controller (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, NSW17 November 2015
Fantastic team, best supportive managers, very rewarding and good work life balance, nice environment. Very busy all day, so the days goes quickly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Workplace.
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Brisbane, QLD22 October 2015
Love everyday at this place. I have met so many lovely people and I have learned so much from each and everyone of them. The leaders/management are incredible, very helpful and loving people.
Pros
Free Lunch.
Cons
Long Hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team and Work enviroment
Service Delivery Person (Current Employee) –  Alexandria Nsw19 May 2015
It is a great place to be through your day. Team members are up beat and enthusiastic.

Management is understanding.

Peak times and short weeks ie public holidays is the most busy to fit in 5 days of work into 4 at times.

Mosty enjoyable part of my job it meeting the outside clients on a daily basis building great relationships.
Pros
Building many Friendships
Cons
Not so many possible wet days
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and rewarding job co-workers always a pleasure to work with.
Textile Manager/OH&S Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Salisbury, QLD24 March 2015
Alsco is a World Wide Company and takes pride in delivery quality products and customer service throughout its many branches. A typically day for me as Textile Manager was always very busy, I would order textiles for the branch, packout consumables, make sure goods came back from wash on time, check goods before invoicing, train staff, meetings, stocktakes audits, OH&S issues if any. At the end of each day I would organise the work load for the next day on a white board that way if I was in a meeting or called away at the start of a day staff were able to continue as they were then aware of priorities etc, and work would be able continue without the any hiccups. I would provided continual training for staff. I had a very good team as Textile Manager and Administration Manager. I walked out of work most days feeling a sense of accomplishment and that was a good feeling. The hardest part of the job was having to dismiss staff for misconduct. In my many positions at Alsco I learnt and achieved many things, but most of all I enjoyed every part of my time there (except some bad moments nut they were few and far between less face it we all have a bad day now and then).
Co workers made your day always friendly, willing to put their best foot forward It was a pleasure to be involved with such company. The company promotes and provides advancement courses to all employees who are willing to put themselves forward to advance within the industry. I myself made advancements and found them very rewarding. As Management changes over the years the workplace changes with it, as all managers
  more... have different styles and objectives, and you learn to adapt as you learn more which allows yourself and the company to grow in a positive manner.  less
Pros
Free luches for all staff, birthday cake for all staff
Cons
Long hours but rewarding
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work life balance
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Bathurst, NSW16 March 2015
unfortunately this is where it ended, lazy management team along with all upper level management being inaccessible due to location of head office being in Sydney
Pros
Greta work life balance
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well managed branch with a focus on customer service and employee developmnent
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Adelaide, SA7 February 2014
Typical Day- Meetings- Management, Sales, OH&S,Industry President), performance reviews, etc.
Achievement and exceeding of sales budgets. Customer contact for contract review, sales, problem identification and resolution.
Plant productivity and performance review. Budgeting etc.
The difficulties of replacing some 80 years of experience in the retirement of 3 employees (previous GM, Operations Manager and Branch secretary).
The thrill of staff development of the next management level from supervisory to departmental management.
Pros
Self development
Cons
Work culture presided over by my direct management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun place to work.
Delivery Driver /Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Adelaide SA22 December 2013
I enjoyed working at Alsco Linen the work was enjoyable the hours were reasonable and the co-workers were fantastic to work with, I learned new skills with my job role. Things were going well until there were changes to management. New branch manager new nothing of how to run the company which put a lot of undue pressure on staff and other managers alike which created instability in the work force and made a lot of employees unhappy and leaving the company including myself after 15 years of dedicated service.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working on ironers
ironer (Former Employee) –  Eagle Farm17 April 2013
feeding linen, folding linen, packing linen and sorting routes.
about linen
Decent
most okay
sorting the routes
Pros
alright working environment
Cons
heat from dryers and ironers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Alsco Pty Ltd. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 16 reviews
53
46
33
21
13

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
2.9Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
3.0Culture