ALSTOM Employee Reviews

Found 20 reviews matching the search See all 2,564 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Testing and Commissioning Engineer
Testing & Commissioning Engineer (Former Employee) –  Bangalore,Jaipur,Delhi,kochi and Lucknow11 July 2018
In this organisation i work for NON CBTC and CBTC both type of system.The working process and flow of information is too good.

Here the method is documentation is very nice during the testing of project.

Management give there full support to help any time in any condition during the commissioning of project.

Several time we work for migration of working line( Revenue) with non working lines(Non Revenue lines)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Maintenance fitter- Pipe Fitter (casual) (Former Employee) –  Morwell VIC14 June 2017
company was good to work for well managed and good employer employee communication

The company provided the tradesman with clean safe environment to work and job satisfaction
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Culture and great people to work with from all countries
Administration Assistant (Former Employee) –  North Ryde NSW8 May 2017
I loved the variety of my job and I was able to work autonomously and was able to prioritise my list of things to do each day. Loved working with the people from Alstom helpful and lots of fun
Pros
free lunches occassionaly team lunches
Cons
very busy office
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK place to work
Project Assistant/Document Controller (Former Employee) –  Macquarie Park NSW27 February 2017
Work colleagues are very nice and easy to work with. Mainly young people and very pleasant to talk to.
50 - 60% Doc control, the rest Project Assistant role.
Lots of flight bookings including international.
Search for good hotels (tripadvisor), also booked trains and cars.
Loved the booking of flights, especially international. Doing research and work out itinerary.
Loved working with documents, writing letters and e-mails to client (TfNSW). Loved being busy with doc control making sure everything was correctly registered and send out.
Nothing positive to say about the new management.
Loved organising events, eg birthday cakes, farewells etc.
Also made sure all the stationery supplies were ordered.
Pros
Work colleagues, variety of job
Cons
Non-communication of Senior Management.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away from this company
On-board Team, Industrialisation Engineer (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW17 November 2016
Poor management, arrogant attitude towards clients, senior management push a culture of blame downwards to find a scapegoat. No employee development and a culture of over-time as part of the norm. You're likely to find residents in the cubicles as late as 10pm on any given weekday.
Pros
Free gym membership
Cons
Long hours, low job security and non-existent avenues for advancement, toxic culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Money was good. Only contract work though
Fitter (Current Employee) –  Muswellbrook NSW16 February 2016
Money was good. Management was adequate. No security due to nature of work . Didn't mind the job but didn't like living away from home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a great entry to the power stations
Fitter/Welder (Former Employee) –  Maitland, NSW17 January 2016
Alstom was a great way for me to learn a lot with power generation and especially on steam turbines.. I also did a lot of other fitting on rotating plant and specialized welding.
Pros
Travel
Cons
some big days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company but not very good management
Manager (Former Employee) –  Sydney27 May 2015
To keep building's material working good & safe.

Work with a lot of different tradesman.

Manage to control all kinds of tradesman to make good all defects.

Too many different department bosses.

All staff is happy to my proformance & issue an award to me.
Pros
Nil
Cons
good working hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place of work
Electrician (Former Employee) –  Epping5 December 2014
Friendly environment and co-workers are reliable and I enjoy working with them. Management are concern about our welfare,
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review of risks, opportunities, planning, workload, KPI's
Project Director (Former Employee) –  Sydney, NSW, Australia22 September 2014
My typical day would include:
Meeting with my project team on critical issues discussing risk & opportunities
Discussing with my clients regarding progress status on the various projects
Discussing with my management on status of major projects, issues needing their attention
Planning Meeting
Workload planning
Budget reviews
Pros
Challenging but enjoyable work
Cons
Extremely competitive market conditions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture
Account Manager Utilities - WA (Former Employee) –  Perth WA1 May 2014
Cooperative work team
Great multi-culture environment
Challenging job tasks
Great career opportunities
Excellent leadership
Good company communication
Good salary levels
Pros
Team work Great career opportunities
Cons
red tape
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
shut work
Trade Assistant (Former Employee) –  morwell vic6 March 2014
only worked there for 4 weeks.
good work crew
learnt new sorts of tasks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked as a casual for 11 years with them until due to illness(prostate cancer).Enjoyed working for them,interesting jobs,good supervisors and safe.
Trades Assistant/Forklift-EWP Driver/OHS Rep. (Former Employee) –  Hazelwood P.S, VIC + Snowy Hydro Plant,Traralgon12 February 2014
Mostly would work a ten hour day,six days a week.Worked with the Boilermakers on boiler outages first and then was picked up for the turbine outages assisting fitters.Always kept myself busy,made the time go quicker,learned alot about turbine work and doing it safely.Management were knowledgable and understanding,co-workers worked as a team,all doing their bit to get the job done quicker and safely. The heat,especially on Turbine work could be hard on the body,but you managed yourself to/and also got used to it. The most enjoyable part of the job (besides the pay) was the satisfaction of learning and achievement of tasks.Also making new friends, co-workers and bosses.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people,good conditions and pay
Engineering Production Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Rocklea, QLD14 January 2014
My day involved the production of large transformer coils and a big part of it was problem solving as no two transformers were the same. A lot of meetings involving design and manufacture problems.
In my 16 years with the company I learned how to lead a team and use my knowledge in training new starters.
Management over the time I worked there changed significantly for the better as production workers were encouraged and assisted to train and apply for most supervisory and management positions.
Due to the nature of the product,experienced people rarely left so good relationships were formed among and across the 8 specialised teams in the factory floor.
I finished my last year as acting supervisor and I had 7 other supervisors and 4 managers to deal with everyday, so sometimes things got a bit frustrating.
I just really liked the people and the satisfaction of being part of building something that took sometimes 6 months to build and see it work.
Pros
A monthly barbeque
Cons
Sometime long extended shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging Job But Poor Managment
Commissioning Technician (Former Employee) –  Newport,Victoria18 March 2013
1) Challenging work
2) Installation of Digital Radio project (Lead role) (DTRS)
3) Very poor management and Lack of Management support
4) Co-workers were excellent)
5) Had to re-designed Schematic Diagram (DTRS) in order to correctly install it to Alstom Trains.
6)Teamwork amongst co-worker.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Treasury and Management Accountant (Former Employee) –  Rocklea, Brisbane24 February 2013
-Good working team
-nice office
-free parking
-tidy and clean
Pros
attractive salary
Cons
unstable
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big, profit driven
Procurement Manager (Former Employee) –  Sydney11 November 2012
Professional, demanding, long hours.
Major Projects complex and interesting
Pros
near home
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy plenty of overtime
team leader (Former Employee) –  ballarat australia23 July 2012
great times made good freinds,was made to feel i was important ,that makes anyone feel good
Pros
overseas trip
Cons
long term future
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very flexable with arrangement of working hours
telecommunication technician (Former Employee) –  Northern NSW,Brisbane,Sydney25 April 2012
Alstom is a good company to work with,a good variety of work and I enjoyed doing project work in many locations around NSW and QLD.
Pros
flexable hrs
Cons
i didn, t see or experience any cons
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report

See more ALSTOM reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ALSTOM. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 2,564 reviews
5913
41K
3468
293
168

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture