Ashurst LLP Employee Reviews

Showing all 18 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can't recommend
Analyst (Former Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow6 January 2019
Definitely can't recommend as an employer, at least not in the Glasgow office. When Ashurst moved work up to Glasgow, they scrambled to fill posts causing some very unsuitable characters to become senior managers.
Pros
Great work life balance.
Cons
Management encourage favouritism and HR ignores bullying.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Team Executive (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London16 July 2018
Working at Ashurst is a pleasure, the people are great to work with and work for.

The secretaries have had a re structuring which has affected my role as an EA. I have now been placed in a working hub which is not where I thought my career would end up which is very disappointing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just OK
Float Secretary (Current Employee) –  London15 July 2018
Salary and benefits in line with other UK law firms but falling behind American firms. Nothing outstanding here - company changed for the worst when it merged with Blake Dawson 5 years ago - offices in 25 countries and London office now only a small cog in a much bigger wheel. Drive to reduce costs by opening an office in Glasgow and transferring Doc Prod to South Africa.
Pros
On-site GP
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excelente
Executive Assistant/ Gestión Documental (Current Employee) –  Madrid5 March 2018
Excelente lugar para trabajar y desarrollarse profesionalmente. Entorno multinacional y bilingüe. Muy dinámico y polivalente.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Team Leader (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London25 October 2017
Team work well across departments.
Service management is well organised.
The firm have a clear vision of where it aims to be in the market place.
It is a nice environment to work in.
Pros
Progression
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excelente ambiente laboral, aprendizaje constante
Secretaria Administrativa (Former Employee) –  Madrid, Madrid31 July 2017
Excelente equipo de trabajo, profesionales integrales y compañeros con una gran calidad humana, fue difícil marcharme y dejar a tantas personas especiales con quienes compartía mucho mas que trabajo.
Pros
Horarios, salario
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Turn Over Workbase
Nightshift ICT support (Former Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow3 April 2017
Working at ashurst i found the team to be great the co workers were excellent but the pay was tiny and variable from team member to team member this lead to a lot of resentment.

there are plenty of staff nights out and partys arranged through the office but these are not for the IT staff there left to there own devices.

i would not recommend working here as i felt i was lied to on the job spec there is no travel there is no progression and the staff turn over is crazy. they claim to promote from within and i have seen this were they took the guy in the door 4 months and moved him to the back office team but theirs people there years struggling to even get a pay rise despite there value to the team.
Pros
good location
Cons
poor pay and bad staff managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Place
Senior Reprographics Supervisor (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London14 February 2017
A hardworking environment where unrealistic deadlines had to be met. lack of funding and interest in the department led to an easier option: outsourcing the department to a third party that does not deliver the best service to the company.
However most legal staff were friendly, and have learned good customer service skills.
Pros
decent salary
Cons
lack of interest and funding in the department
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team building exercises
Work Experience Placement (Former Employee) –  London25 October 2016
This was a week of work experience I did to gain experience in the field of corporate law. Through this I was also able to participate in team building exercises with other people whom were doing work experience that week. For one of the exercises we had to do, we were given an object and had to sell it to the rest of the room through a presentation we created in 30 minutes. We were then asked questions by the others in the room and had the think of answers quickly. I really enjoyed this activity.
Everyone who works here seem to be very friendly despite how busy they are. Some of the tasks I had to carry out included: reading legal contracts to check for typos, checking for any breaches in contract for clients and highlighting key points in contracts. Although the tasks can be quite mundane, it was a lovely environment to work in and I enjoyed the workshops they organised for the people on work experience.
Pros
insight to corporate law, great team building exercises
Cons
tasks can be a bit mundane
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Glasgow Office
anonymous (Former Employee) –  Glasgow29 January 2016
The Glasgow office had a good culture but as the office grows its starting to lose that.

The firm tries hard to keep everyone happy by putting on a lot of events. This is mainly due to a lot of the legal analysts and lower level staff not been paid well enough.

Nice offices, very modern and have the latest technology.

The way that London office treats the Glasgow office in many aspects of the job is also a negative point.
Pros
Nice office, good technology
Cons
Losing the community feel, London office not treating Glasgow staff as peers
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Executive Legal Secretary (Former Employee) –  London, ENG5 January 2016
Very high productivity, but working closely with colleagues and every day produced a new challenge. Enjoyable working environment.
Pros
Good Benefits
Cons
Long commute
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic Team
Legal Secretary (Former Employee) –  London, ENG4 November 2015
The people at Ashurst really make coming to work pleasurable and the company is keen to cross-train you to enable you to function at the highest level possible.
Pros
cheap canteen - hot lunches
Cons
no consideration for hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and helpful workplace.
Business Services (Former Employee) –  London, ENG11 August 2015
The job was hard but rewarding as the people at Ashurst were kind, helpful and fun! It was a shame for the company to move to Glasgow if not for that I would have remained there now.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
International law firm
PD Document Specialist (Former Employee) –  London19 May 2014
Working on the firms standard knowhow documents, making sure they conformed to house style where applicable. Occassionally helped with working in content manager to amend various departments home pages. Sometimes incorporating a set of amendments into many documents.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 11Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
US Finance Assistant (Current Employee) –  New York, NY14 January 2014
Boss was very easy to work with.

Learned Human Resources, Benefits

Learned Billing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Legal Secretary (Former Employee) –  Shanghai, China11 December 2013
nice working environment and nice team
a lot of admin work and translation of legal documents
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work placement
Intern (Former Employee) –  London, ENG10 October 2013
Shadowing two corporate solicitors from one of the top City firms.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 11Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Ashurst LLP. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 18 reviews
56
43
36
21
12

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.4Culture