Aurizon Employee Reviews

Found 58 reviews matching the search See all 59 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aurizon help me career
Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  Sarina QLD8 April 2019
Before I join Aurizon , I couldn't even spell "manager" ... now I is one!.

Payday was good.
I really like the trains too.
The teknology was fascinating too.
Pros
You get to see trains.
Cons
Trains
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employees increasingly feel like they are walking on egg shells
Train Management Improvement Officer (Former Employee) –  Mackay QLD24 March 2019
Spend a great deal of time guiding current managers to remain within regulators requirements
Bulk freight management, interpersonal skills, safety focus
Unwillingness for cooperation between departments to allow advancement
Extremely slow to embrace Diversity and safety directives
Honesty and integrity over future advancement
Helping people, delivering training
Pros
Flexibility
Cons
Advancement through hard work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work
SHUNT OPERATOR (Former Employee) –  Rockhampton QLD10 March 2019
The workshops in Rockhampton provided a place for employment for many.

Various trades and persons worked there for many years. It is sad that it has closed due to the continual restructure of Aurizon.

Many people were left redundant because of it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive working environment
Unified Communication Project Engineer (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD13 February 2019
Excellent work place, good management, work / life balance. working at Aurizon has helped me shaped my work / life ethics.
the work place culture is absolutely fantastic.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Leaders, tough suppliers
Analyst (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD21 January 2019
My days include long hours and a great deal of supplier and internal stakeholder interaction.

Co-ordinating changes to contracts, managing supplier relationships, performance and negotiations are big part of each day.

I am also kept rather busy with coaching and preparing the work loads of the other team members.

The culture in my immediate team is very positive, although is often challenged due to the immense pressure from the business to deliver steep outcomes in an under resourced environment.

I work an 11 hour day every day at a minimum because I love what I do and want to drive positive outcomes that reflect well on me. However, I am not forced or pressured to stay beyond my contracted hours.
Pros
Exceptional Manager
Cons
Not enough financial recognition for the impact I make
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There is nothing good to say about this company
Train Driver (Current Employee) –  Fisherman Islands, Brisbane12 November 2018
Too much middle management, that have no idea about their jobs or the roles of the employees underneath them.
Work/life balance is non existent. Your shift changes constantly and you never know what or when you’re working until the last minute.
There is a real divide between management & employees.
Aurizon top management hit the workers with a big stick & use bullying tactics. If you are a ceo or a member of the board, then you’ll probably be happy at Aurizon. The actual workers, who are out there during the night, wknd, public holiday & making things happen, are treated with such disdain.
DO NOT WORK HERE!
Pros
I can’t think of any
Cons
No work/life balance, Poor rostering, Bad management, Unable to use your leave when you want it. Far too much wknd & night work
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A business in decline
GM, Health & Environment, Bulk Freight (Current Employee) –  Perth WA8 October 2018
A company in decline, lost direction on safety & health, constant restructures, very little security, customers have a very low opinion. majority of personnel are either praying for redundancy or actively leaving...
Was this review helpful?Yes 16NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ex public sector business
GIS Officer (Cadet) (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD23 September 2018
Employees have many years of experience. Can be an issue dealing with red tape on projects etc. Fun atmosphere. Flexible working hours and good work life balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and fulfilling
Locomotive Driver Level (Former Employee) –  Adelaide SA21 September 2018
Best 8 years I’ve spent as a driver working relay from Adelaide to Perth
Work mates shared a common goal and management were approachable and receptive
Pros
Work life balance
Cons
Fatigue isolation
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
badly run - hard for new starters
former employee - intermodel (Former Employee) –  Perth WA12 August 2018
terribly run, safety was not on their priority list. Training was obsolete.
place was not organised enough to train people well enough to succeed. wouldn't recommend working for aurizon.
Pros
pay
Cons
poorly run
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always busy, Great group of blokes to work with
Track Worker (Former Employee) –  Jilalin, Sarina, Qld26 July 2018
Was a good secure job, had great Job Culture, Management was good but had their moments, Learnt a lot about the transport of Coal and importance of the Transporting of the product.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shift work roster was very difficult
Locomotive Driver II (Former Employee) –  Mackay QLD20 April 2018
Great pay, a real achievement to drive a train. The work culture is pessimistic and the management take no responsibility for it even though they ask how to improve
Pros
Great pay
Cons
Shift work
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very unorganised place to work
Locomotive Driver (Current Employee) –  South Queensland17 March 2018
Far too many managers and supervisors who have no real experience of dealing with people or working in rail. Rostering of employees abysmal. No work life balance. Very high divorce rate
Pros
Mateship.
Cons
No work life balance, Rostering, Over managed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 33No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolute nightmare
Train crew (Former Employee) –  Fisherman island port of Brisbane10 March 2018
Aurizon management only care about one thing, how to lay you off ! Their fatigue management system is a joke and their rostering an abortion. If you want a divorce and hate your kids best company to work for. My advice steer clear.
Pros
When you quit
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production was good and constant work
Turner (Former Employee) –  Redbank QLD6 March 2018
Loved the employment of the position I was in. Loved the trade and proud of it. Was in employment there 27 years in total and would go back if given opportunity to do so.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There is so much to be learnt here. I wish I'd had the opportunity earlier.
Administration Support Officer (Former Employee) –  Rockhampton QLD21 February 2018
I learnt so much here, made some good friends amongst the employees, supervisors and managers. Most enjoyable part was learning the new systems and how and why they are used.
Pros
The pay was good and the people were lovely.
Cons
Being only on contract I was not elligible for holidays and sick leave.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Progressive and challenging workplace
Business Development and Solutions Manager (Former Employee) –  Perth Central Business District WA23 November 2017
Very progressive company with many growth options in WA. However, some of the projects undertaken were not analysed deeply in conceptual stages, hence a lot of management effort and costs have been spared with little success.
Pros
Good work location in West Perth and excellent work environment.
Cons
Lacking strategy and internal politics
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed every day going to work
Locomotive Operator (Former Employee) –  Kalgoorlie WA14 September 2017
Aurizon was very very good to me from day 1. I was recruited from South Africa and was very welcomed in the Company right from the start. Although the 457 visa was very strenuous on us as family, it was the only way I could come to Australia
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 6Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The job is great!
Train Driver (Former Employee) –  Townsville, mt isa, coppabella, gladstone.2 August 2017
Management need to review themselves more regularly. The company appears to be run by people who are 'out of touch' with the current economic climate.
Pros
Excellent renumeration.
Cons
Poor management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 27No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Warehouse Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD4 June 2017
picking and packing orders to go out.
loading/unloading of trucks.
loading containers on to trucks driving a 54 ton forklift
great workplace culture
top safety standards .
great company to work for.
Pros
experience driving all types of forklifts
Cons
none really
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report