Ausdrill Employee Reviews

Found 26 reviews matching the search See all 32 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very professional workplace
Assisting the Driller (Former Employee) –  Kalgoorlie WA6 July 2019
The three months I spent with the company were productive, I learnt a range of different maintenance and sampling skills used in open pit mining operations.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing learning opportunity
Offsider, trainee driller, driller, senior driller (Former Employee) –  Telfer WA22 March 2019
I loved this job, I will never forget it.
I learnt a lot of skills over there that I still use today. I don't think I would have ever learnt most of them had I not gone. ( like cooking LOL )
Pros
great job. great advancement. great salary
Cons
working away from home
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company, learned a lot
Drillers Offsider (Current Employee) –  Kalgoorlie WA17 December 2018
Working with Ausdrill is rewarding. I have learned the basics of how to drill blast hole and the maintenance of the drill rigs. You work hard and are rewarded. I have met good people working with Ausdrill. You get to travel to different sites.
Pros
Good people, Good sites
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
every day was different
CFO (Former Employee) –  Perth WA19 June 2018
working at Ausdrill in the corporate office was fun , challenging where I learnt a lot and the MD was an entrepreneur so there were always interesting assignments .
Accounting team were a pleasure to lead and certainly made my life easier .
The board including the chairman of the audit committee were supportive and had many useful insights.
the organisation culture as a whole was that of an extended family
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Friendly.
Trainer Assessor / Driller (Former Employee) –  Bowen Basin QLD21 October 2017
The opportunity for advancement was supported.
Support for unsupervised workers.
Family friendly.
Support for decisions made by Supervision and workers.
Availability of Senior Management for help with difficult decisions.
Pros
Accomodation and meals paid for.
Cons
Never saw Upper Management much.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company good to work for until things got tight
Payroll Administrator (Former Employee) –  Canning Vale WA30 May 2017
Generally good place to work but the last 5 years have been hard with no salary reviews done and redundancies made. Payroll Department generally ignored by rest of administration.
Pros
Flexible Work Hours
Cons
No Salary reviews for 5 years
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great pay
head shot firer (Former Employee) –  Karratha WA20 April 2017
psi
collection of explosives
load and fire shots
magazine control
good housekeeping4
stemming shots
delineation
job allocation
vibration monitors
Pros
great pay
Cons
contract finished
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wrong Management style
Procurement Specialist (Former Employee) –  Perth WA24 March 2017
Manager don't compile to work ethics, shown favourism and racism.
Procurement system is poor due to poor management skill . jobs can be completed in quicker manner if system is review properly with right investment and organisation,
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work. They look after there workers
Driller/Water Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Newman WA13 February 2017
When i worked there I was able to learn lots of stuff and I would like to get back up there soon. There were lots of work and the money was very. It was FIFO work but the long hours and good money made it all good.
Pros
Good Money. Good Workmates and Good experances
Cons
Being away from home. Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Close to family and home every night
Grade Control Supervisor (Former Employee) –  KCGM Fimiston Super Pit Kalgoorlie6 October 2015
The staff and safety were amazing, I always enjoyed going to work and the job was always different from one day to the next.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meet new friends, good social gathering, work good as a team
Senior Blast Hole/Grade Control (Current Employee) –  Prominent Hill South Australia28 July 2015
I work a 12 hour rotating shift 2 weeks on 1 week off. Learn about machinery while on the job working along side with drill fitter and other drillers. Can work in some very intensive weather while getting the job done safe and productive.
Pros
flexible
Cons
12 hour rotating shifts days and night
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, interesting, would still be there if company han't been sold.
Accountant (Former Employee) –  Townsville, QLD23 February 2015
Interesting work - learned a bit about drilling - visited and went underground at Cannington mine site. Hardest part determining the usage of drill rods for determining their value at end of year valuation.
Most enjoyable part listening to the drillers and their adventures.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good learning experience.
Offsider (Current Employee) –  Perth, Kewdale29 January 2015
A typical day at work will include off-siding such as setting up vehicles and equipments on drill pad, bagging samples, cleaning of drill rig and moving vehicles.
Maintenance, learning how to operate a rod handler and communicating efficiently with clients will be what I'v learnt during my time with Ausdrill.
Managements communication can be an issue most time which did have an impact on our job.
I enjoyed working in teams
The hardest part of our job will probably be the setting up and packing up. Driller's do not wait for anyone so it is your responsibility to quickly rush through. But in saying that getting to work with others with different background is always interesting.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meet and worked with a grate bunch of people.
Site Supervisor / Trainer & Assessor / Driller (Former Employee) –  Glenden, QLD19 January 2015
I was able to learn a lot about the running cost of blast hole drill rigs and management of the personal.
It was hard managing the men but rewarding when I got it right.
Ausdrill, Newlands Mine and my work colleges was a big help in all of this.
I loved working for Ausdrill and was disappointed when they could not win a contract and then made me redundant.
Pros
week on week off was a great family life stile
Cons
Airports
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for.
Blast Hole driller (Former Employee) –  Perth, WA12 January 2015
Blast hole driller at Huntly to create haul roads in the cap rock.
Also at Boddington Gold drilling in the Buaxite and helping flush pre splits and with the little rigs and help with the collar piping on the pit floor. Good bunch of people to work for and to work with on both sites. really enjoyed it.
Pros
Got to be home every night with my family at huntly, and Boddington was really close to home.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team working enviroment
Diamond Drillers Trainee (Former Employee) –  Kambalda West, WA, 64423 November 2014
12 hours of physical labouring,
learnt how to drill both RC and diamond drilling,
Great team environment.
Hardest part of the job was the heat during summer, staying hydrated.
Pros
Had rent allowance
Cons
Limited time with family
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and productive work environment
Assistant Shotfirer (Former Employee) –  Darwin13 January 2014
As an assistant shotfirer my typical day consisted of a lot of 1 on 1 work with a shotfirer...
I learnt all aspects of being a shotfirer from priming holes to keeper of a magazine!
management were always helpful when help was needed.. I couldn't have worked with a better team of people!
The hardest part of my job would have to be the heat (living in NT)
The most enjoyable part of my job would have been the shotfirer allowing me to run blasts on my own and be in charge of the blast for the day...
Pros
good co-workers
Cons
the heat some days would be outrageous
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good camp, Good people,
Driller/Water Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Driver, NT14 November 2013
Get to work and do a pre start meeting in the morning, Then do a pre start on a ute and go to your job and start working. I learnt was to drive a Water truck, utes and learnt how to work a drill. The Management was ok but it took me a long time to get were I wanted to go. The co-workers were the best part of the job they were always there to talk to about stuff at work. The hardest part of the job was working so hard and not getting anywere
Pros
Good people to work with
Cons
Not enough training
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company, Friendly People
IT Support (Former Employee) –  Canning Vale9 April 2013
Good Company, Help alot of people out with general issue with the Ausdfund they have.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
boiler maker (Current Employee) –  Rockhampton5 March 2013
The work is interesting , the pay is good .the company is down sizing and my job is in dout
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Ausdrill. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 32 reviews
58
413
39
21
11

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture