Australian Army Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was good but don't do it as a life-long career
OFFICER (Former Employee) –  Australia11 July 2018
Great education and training opportunities. Poor career management and mentorship. Slightly toxic culture of overworking and peer criticism (talking behind others backs is commonplace). Increasing tendency towards erosion of the chain of command, especially in special forces. Expect and manage these things, and recognise when it's no longer in your interests. I had the privilege to train with people who all expected to go to war - less likely these days so expect to be surrounded by more people who are there for a free ride.
Pros
Professional and personal development in training, pay and conditions
Cons
Relocations, management, bad merit system, negativity in culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Country
Driver/Operator (Former Employee) –  Kippa-Ring QLD17 June 2018
Great Job serving this proud country and history, I would reckon all young Australians join the Defence Force to gain a skill, trade all some life experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Rifleman (Former Employee) –  Singleton N.S.W16 June 2018
Breakfast at 0600 and first parade at 0730. I'd learn about different weapon systems, Army history and ethos. Management was very structure based, with the heirachy of ranks always playing into personal problems and management. Workplace culture was friendship based, however with a strong emphasis on respect. Hardest part of the job would be the unpredictability of the job, and the most enjoyable would be all the different things you learn and the different people from different walks of life.
Pros
Mrdical
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience
Australian Army Reserve (Current Employee) –  Perth WA16 May 2018
A good life experience where you can go to learn a lot about yourself and the people around you. It provides a sense of adventure that most likely would'nt be had at another job.
Pros
Experience
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Company Commander (Former Employee) –  Penrith NSW16 May 2018
Loved doing Army Cadets as a teenager. Plenty of opportunity to rise through the ranks. Learn great skills and have more respect for others. No pay, volunteer only for the cadets.
Adult staff get paid
Pros
Great people
Cons
No pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Private- Driver Specialist/Operator Heavy Vehicle (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW8 May 2018
Australian army has a terrible work life balance.
It is being destroyed by politically correct trying to use it as a social experiment.
The rank are bored and enjoy making people’s lives hard just for the sake of it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it best decision i made
Corporal, Parachute Rigger (Former Employee) –  Australia1 May 2018
What can I say , I had an amazing adventure with many opportunities for advancement and promotion. All members were looked after and we made many friends and worked as a team. The only real disappointment was the food.
Pros
Access to millions of dollars worth of equiptment
Cons
Food was a little disappointing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Registry Clerk/Movements Clerk (Former Employee) –  Enoggera QLD26 April 2018
Great organisation to serve in and an honour to be apart or such an organisation however its time to move on for me. I believe its time to move on with my life and be a civilian again. I believe any organisation who employs me will benefit greatly from the plethora of skills i have acquired from the Australian Army and my 7.10 years of military experience
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average Work place
Private (Former Employee) –  Adelaide17 April 2018
The day to day work is not too bad. Its good for making good mate and the benefits are good. Free medical and dental and the leve entitlement is good and the salary is really good.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Performance induced and challenging environment
Team Leader and Manager (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW27 March 2018
The army isn't for everyone. The management can be non-existent at times, and living in the field isn't everyone's cup of tea. The work-load can be repetitive and monotonous. Despite all that, I thoroughly enjoyed my time serving in the Australian Army. The people you work with compensate for the negatives. The army is built upon camaraderie and with free medical and dental, the army is definitely a great place of employment.
Pros
Medical, Dental, Pay, Teamwork
Cons
Leadership, Family/work-life balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Blind Bureaucracy
Craftsman (Former Employee) –  Sydney22 March 2018
Typically begin with PT - the dispersal to perform daily preparation tasks then commence whatever maintenance was required.

We were educated on appropriate aviation maintenance.

Management was very task focused.

Culture cliquish.

Biggest challenge seemed to be separating professional and personal lives.

Enjoyable - maintenance activities could be quite engaging.
Pros
Job security and wage
Cons
You're stuck
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great experience
Logistics storeman (Former Employee) –  Townsville QLD16 February 2018
Joining the Australian defence force has definitely been one of my proudest moments in my life. It is unfortunate that I was unable to have a long career in the army but for unforseen medical circumstances I was no longer fit to serve. The army was a great experience and have learnt many things in that time.
Pros
great mateship, job security, great qualifications
Cons
Depending on job may spend time away from home
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Detachment Commander (Current Employee) –  Darwin NT15 February 2018
Great career and job, work/life balance is tested. Extra allowances, incidentals, free medical and dental, PT every morning, sport on Thursdays and Super.
Pros
Incidentals, free medical and dental, PT and allowances
Cons
Long hours, work/life balance and people who join
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Waves of work, away from family but rewarding.
Electronic Systems Technician (Current Employee) –  Darwin NT15 February 2018
Army is a place for advancement and learning. there are so many different avenues the important part is choosing one that is right for you. Possibly spending months out field or overseas deployed. Plenty of pt and sport and extra activities to be done. locations are limited to chose from around Australia and usually moving every few years.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
professional
Soldier (Former Employee) –  NSW North Coast NSW11 February 2018
job for many. will give life skills to young people joining. long term gratification in your work. chances for travel throughout Australia and the world.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Varied & Challenging
Design Draftsman (Former Employee) –  Perth WA6 February 2018
A typical day for a tradesperson would be conducting some manner of heavy fitness training and working within a workshop environment conducting maintenance on military equipment. A typical day can also be in a living in field environment either supporting or actively participating in combat scenarios or deployed on peacekeeping activities or in an active war zone.

A great deal of training goes into you and you learn to wear a number of different hats, keeping up to date with all of it can be challenging at times. The constant physical requirements and having to be away over long periods and function under physically and mentally demanding conditions can also present difficulties.

In terms of benefits, your job is secure for the most part, lots of training and learning opportunities, and you are well looked after for the most part in terms of renumeration and benefits which improve as you rise up the ranks.
Pros
Free Medical
Cons
Time Away
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture but with some downsides.
Tank crewman (Current Employee) –  Townsville29 January 2018
The hardest part of the job is constantly being away and not having some sort of routine. This is not a 9-5 job per se. Being away for around 10 days a month for 7-8 months takes its toll, not only on the body but the mind as well. But that's what we signed up for, now it is time for moving forward.
Pros
Pay and allowances, job security
Cons
Long unpaid hours(penalties etc)
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright job, management is terrible.
General Service Officer (Former Employee) –  Canberra ACT11 January 2018
The Australian Army is an average job. While the pay is decent there is no guarantees on when members returns from training exercises. Also the culture is verage.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cader
Cadet (Former Employee) –  Townsville QLD2 January 2018
The cadets taught me how to use teamwork in everyday life, that you do not have to handle situations independently. It formed friendships that would last a lifetime
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great lifestyle and mateship.
Quartermaster (Former Employee) –  Enoggera QLD26 December 2017
The work/life balance was great.
management is different depending on your corps.
hardest part of working in the military was being away from family for long periods of time.
Most enjoyable part was the friendship i made.
Pros
Free medical
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Australian Army. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 162 reviews
584
447
324
23
14

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
4.1Salary/Benefits
4.4Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.1Culture