Australian Army Employee Reviews

Found 186 reviews matching the search See all 198 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not bad
RIFLEMAN (Former Employee) –  Townsville QLD13 June 2019
not bad, yeah just really not bad. Can be some pretty good days and some pretty bad days. As long as you apply yourself through Kapooka and your IET training you'll be fine.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An experience unlike any other
Operator Supply and First Aid Representative (Current Employee) –  Townsville QLD23 April 2019
Not for everyone but everyone leaves with something. Some people definitely thrive in this environment but you certainly do give up a lot of your time and freedom so it's something to keep in mind.
Pros
Interesting experiences
Cons
Control over your life
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
average place to work
Artillery Gunner (Former Employee) –  Townsville QLD1 April 2019
I learned how to be punctual, do hard work and to get along with people from all back grounds. The hardest part about the job was being away from my family.
Pros
making alot of frends
Cons
being away from family
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Roles vary with regard to the corps you are in
TROOPER & DRIVER (Former Employee) –  Holsworthy NSW29 March 2019
as a cavalryman i had to service tracked vehicles with tasks such as topping up and changing oils and filters.changing ,replacing trackparts. adjusting parts of the vehicles.driving the vehicles and at the same time operating radios to my own crew and also to other vehicles and personnel.being able to encode and decode messages on a semi regular basis. helping to carry out the cavalry role of gathering and relaying information.
Pros
free meals a lot of the time
Cons
long hours which could be like 3 months at a time or more
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
communication development
Telecommunications Technician (Current Employee) –  Brisbane QLD24 March 2019
I learned a vast range of communication equipment ranging from satellite communications to radio and networking.
hardest part of the job is all the time away from home but the salary is worth the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and sometimes demanding
Supervisor/Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Perth W.A.6 March 2019
I was always a supervisor within the army even when I was at kapooka training for the army. Each position I was the person in charge of that section.
Pros
Free lunch and other benifits
Cons
I had to go where i was posted to
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Royal Military College
Trainee Manager (Former Employee) –  Canberra ACT4 February 2019
a demanding and challenging role which improved my leadership, endurance and ability to work in a team envrionment. I have developed phyiscal robustness, emotional intelligence and ability to influence others to achieve tasks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a job
Rifle Guard (Former Employee) –  Rockhampton QLD31 January 2019
this an't a job


this is not a job it was an after school thing that i like doing i wish it was but it you know something that made me happy for five years
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun, enthusiastic and lost of communication
Enogerra army barracks (Former Employee) –  Ipswich QLD31 January 2019
The army produced a living space for the people who train to fight for our country. This three day experience for me was very eye opening and enabled me to connect with mature people whom respect themselves and the workplace around them and the people who they work with known as best mates or family to them. I learned communication is a key part to staying in touch while your working so things don't mess up. The hardest thing I learned was well alot cause it's the army. Overall I enjoyed being in work condition and I always put in my full effort even if it's not needed.
Pros
Respect and teamwork
Cons
Not long enough lunch break
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great security and adventure
Cargo Specialist (Former Employee) –  Townsville QLD21 January 2019
My review on the Australian Army would be that it is a fantastic environment to seek out adventure and challenge yourself.
Not everyday is the same and I recommend it to everyone.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
would like to still be there
Cook (Former Employee) –  Perth WA14 January 2019
The best years of my life enjoyed the life style and the culture enjoyed the travel and the challenges that the Army gave to you every day. Food was good too.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always get paid but that' about it
Artillery Gunner (Former Employee) –  Northern Territory14 January 2019
I enjoyed the constantly changing work day but majority of the people who have stayed in long enough to make Army a career have no other life skills and don't know how to motivate their diggers.

p.s they lie to you constantly
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent team work and mateship
Various positions (current rank Lance Corporal) (Current Employee) –  Canberra ACT6 January 2019
Excellent working environment, either on base or while on exercise. Involves a lot of hard manual labour, but still very rewarding, depending on what your role is.
Pros
A great experience to get you out of your comfort zone
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A rewarding career
Information Systems Technician (Former Employee) –  Australia29 December 2018
The army has given me a lot that most jobs would not have. I have seen a lot of this and other countries and acquired fantastic skillsets while being paid a premium wage.
Pros
Wage, Benefits
Cons
Location Stability
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Motivating and Rewarding place to work.
Infantry (Current Employee) –  Adelaide23 December 2018
Great place to learn new skills and life experience. Great people to be around with a long and traditional culture. Able to progress and great learning opportunities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience for young people
Oakleigh - Cadet Under Officer (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC5 December 2018
A great learning opportunity for young and adventurous people. It is excellent training, discipline that develops survival skills for any person. It will provide the young person skills for training, child care, health and sports development.

Applying for Army reserve will also provide those skills for any person.
Pros
Fantastic learning for a ypung person
Cons
Active and on the go with survival camps that may not suit some people
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great envirnoment to be part of
Cadet (Former Employee) –  Oakleigh VIC1 December 2018
A great place to be employed, it comes with many benefits and is a worthy organization to be part of.
The best thing about the Australian Army is the people you meet there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learnt a lot
Information Systems Technician (Current Employee) –  Adelaide SA25 November 2018
good job to gain a sense of accomplishment

many fitness test to keep me in shape

easy money

get to shoot guns and learn valuable lessons and skills
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 9Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secure employment at the cost of work life balance and employee rights
Logistics Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Sydney & townsville21 November 2018
As imagined the army is an oppressive enviroment as you are managed by people who are promoted based on time in rank as opposed to merit. Morale is very low in the army at the lower ranks as they are poorly managed.
Pros
Secure employment and money
Cons
Management, worklife balance, rights as an employee
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment
Combat Engineer (Current Employee) –  Brisbane QLD19 November 2018
The army teaches you lots of stuff about yourself. You can strive to be the best or complete at a bare minimum level. Lots of medical benefits and if you find yourself working with good guys, the bad days turn out good
Pros
Medical, free dental
Cons
Long hours, field
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Australian Army. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 198 reviews
5102
456
331
25
14

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
4.1Salary/Benefits
4.4Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.0Culture