Australian Geographic Employee Reviews

Showing all 14 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well organised and great place to work
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Miranda NSW5 August 2018
Australian was great place to initially work with guaranteeing a great learning experience and management roles. The shop always gave you the opportunity to work independently which was great for management roles.
Pros
Great colleagues and team
Cons
Leadership
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
quiet warehouse
Warehouse Storeman (Former Employee) –  Riverwood NSW12 February 2018
business here is very slow and there isn't much to do through the day if you're casual you may be sent home early frequently. the warehouse itself is filled with random junk that isn't merchandise
Pros
nice staff
Cons
not busy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
austalian geographic
Manager - Warriewood (Former Employee) –  Warriewood NSW14 January 2018
great team culture and store environment so much fun, easy to move up and succeed within the company plenty of store training and insight to the goals and how to sell the products
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly workplace
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW7 June 2017
Many of the staff were welcoming. I found this job a good base point in learning about retail businesses. Although I found overall organisation of the company a bit chaotic.
Pros
most customers are friendly
Cons
poor system for stock ordering
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work and have fun
Assistant Manager (2IC) (Current Employee) –  Erina Fair NSW5 July 2016
My position is all about learning creating expanding and having fun with the customers. If you aren't able to do any of this then don't work for them as you will not get the desired results in my review summary, (work and have fun). The days can be pretty full on with promotional setups, stock processing and merchandising happening in one day. I have learnt a lot more here about how a business works in relation to KPI's. You treat the store as if it were your own. Management are very approachable most times when they aren't flat out themselves. Co workers are also a lot of fun to work with but unfortunately you don't get to spend a whole day together. There really aren't any hard parts to this job. The most enjoyable part is when it is really busy especially at Christmas cause the atmosphere is noisy and bustling with loads of people having a great time trying all the demo products in store.
Pros
Having fun
Cons
Working solo a lot of the time
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well managed fun enviroment
Sales assistant (Former Employee) –  Cairns, QLD3 November 2015
Spent 3 months working there as a Christmas casual. Great environment and was well managed in the most stressful time of the year for retail.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brilliant Company
manager (Former Employee) –  cairns23 June 2015
Exciting fun and never boring! All customers love this store, exciting products. Room for growth, great support network and training available
Pros
fun environment
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great teams and doing demos was great fun
christmas casual (Former Employee) –  joondalup16 March 2015
a typical day at work would be either greeting customers, handing them catalogs and helping them find what they were looking for or i would be on the till serving customers, bagging their purchases and putting through their payments. i learnt how to follow CHOICE which was the way they ran the company, i also learnt how to operate a different till system, how to make phone orders, how to assist people in finding out what it was they were looking for and i learnt how to manage difficult customers.
Cons
long hours during the christmas time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best place ever
Casual (Current Employee) –  Rockingham, WA6 January 2015
best place to work as long as your doing your job, literally get to play with toys alot and people are always happy coming into the store so the vibes are always high. management is so great you couldnt ask for better
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to be employed in!!
Retail Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Gold Coast7 April 2014
I loved working there and i met some new friends. I just love the way work and play are incorporated so well that it makes you feel happy to go into work each and everyday! I highly recommend this company :)
Pros
Play with toys, great pay, great people
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a fun and skill improvement environment
christmas season retail worker (Former Employee) –  Gold Coast, QLD21 January 2014
it was fun in the end, it was a bit difficult for the first few days because I didn't know all the products and it was hard for me to explain them but I got used to it and learnt what to do in that situation
Pros
learning experience, whether theres customers or not its fun
Cons
i was treated like a kid too much when im trying to show that i can be mature
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting workplace
Sales assistant (Current Employee) –  Woden, ACT13 November 2013
Fantastic team environment
Always things to do and customers to interact with
Sell great and unusual products
Challenging remerching and stock management tasks help keep you on your toes.
Pros
Fantastic team
Cons
Not always enough hours to go around
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace,fast paced
general hand (Former Employee) –  riverstone,NSW30 June 2013
Management are approachable,I learnt pick/packing,how to recieve and store products and enjoyed the experience
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Australian Geographic. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 14 reviews
57
45
32
20
10

Ratings by category

4.4Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
4.3Management
4.4Culture

Australian Geographic Reviews by Location