Australian Government Department of Agriculture and Water Resources

Australian Government Department of Agriculture and Water Resources Employee Reviews

Found 27 reviews matching the search See all 35 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Surprisingly diverse responsibilities
Deputy CIO / Chief Architect (Former Employee) –  Canberra22 January 2019
The Department spans economic analysis, Big P policy development, programme management and regulatory compliance / operations/ service delivery.
Building IT for a department like this is complicated and so success is even sweeter!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good mate culture
Research Officer (Current Employee) –  Canberra ACT26 July 2018
Main building is a very nice building, next to ANU and lake. Culturally diverse - CalD group is very active.
Mort street is also close to civic and the park. Social club is very proactive.
Big brothers are too big.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Government contract
Information Management Officer (Current Employee) –  Canberra ACT12 April 2018
I will discuss with potential job opportunities about my current ambitions and the current duties I perform. Good management and a culture of hard honest team members.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some great areas, good ideas
APS5 Human Resources Manager (Current Employee) –  Canberra ACT5 March 2018
This department has some great people working for it.
As usual, the management and leadership of teams is integral in deciding whether you will work in a place that is great to work for or not.
Opportunties for people with no agricultural background to become invested in australian industry.
Pros
Central CBD location
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place of never ending changes and training
Quarantine officer (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW28 November 2017
Department of agriculture has been a very rewarding place to work however looking to change for new challenges as I now live up the central coast and the commute is taking its toll.
Pros
Flexible working arrangements
Cons
Good incentives such as leave entitlements.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Australian Government Department of Agriculture and Water Resources
Assistant Director - Executive Level (Former Employee) –  Canberra14 October 2017
The Australian Government Department of Agriculture and Water Resources develops and implements policies and programmes to ensure Australia's agricultural, fisheries, food and fore​stry indust​ries remain competitive, profitable and sustainable, and supports the sustainable and productive management and use of rivers and water resources. We have about 5000 staff working in offices, airports, mail centres, shipping ports, laboratories and abattoirs; located in regional ​centres, rural communities and capital cities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I could see the department taking advantage of my commercial skills in the area of agriculture and acricultural production
Snr Contractor, Stakeholder Engagement White Paper (Former Employee) –  Canberra City ACT9 October 2017
I very much appreciated the opportunities the department gave me in pursuing my passion with agriculture.

Learning to work with new and enthusiastic people is a bonus . The hardest part of the job is working with people who are dissatisfied with their job and job related issues.

The enjoyable part of the job is working with like minded committed people to providing a positive outcome for rural Australia.
Pros
Working with people commiteed to a positive outcome
Cons
felxibility in working environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun intetesting place to work
Plant Pathology Curation Assistant (Former Employee) –  Darwin NT24 May 2017
It is a good and supportive place to start as a graduate and was a useful stepping stone onto further employment. If biosecurity is a passion it is a good place to work
Pros
Close to airport
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Department is the worse for harrassment and bullying
Senior Property Officer (APS6) (Current Employee) –  Canberra ACT24 February 2017
I joined this department and stayed there for 4years this was the worst department I had worked in in my public service career of 35 years. This department stifles innovation and change also sexist towards males and promoted nepotism.
Pros
None
Cons
harrassment and bullying
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unique and interesting
Casual Labourer (Former Employee) –  Emerald QLD2 December 2016
This place is great. Extremely interesting with the length of detail and experimenting they do to find the best crop and what makes them grow better trying to make life easier for farmers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rewarding work many different environments
meat inspector (Current Employee) –  Corowa NSW25 November 2016
Work at export meat plant under minimal supervision with little or no back up whilst under extreme scrutiny by company management .
the most enjoyable part of the job is the knowledge that you are doing your part in controlling a quality product is being produced for human consumption under the Australian standards. The hardest part of the job is the lack of support and back up from your department supervisors and department heads.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work at
Senior WHS Training advisor (Current Employee) –  Brisbane QLD18 July 2016
Have been here for 12 months and have enjoyed every second. very professional. Management is very high quality and will listen to staff.
Pros
Good working conditions
Cons
Sometimes extensive hours due to Project requirements
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
meh
Senior Biosecurity Officer (Former Employee) –  Cairns, QLD26 November 2015
Inspect international vessels and aircraft arriving into Australia’s metropolitan and regional ports with strict adherence to the relevant instructional material;
• Review and participate in Cargo/Seaports related verification procedures;
• Prioritise operational tasks relating to workplace procedures and duty delegations;
• Provide timely advice to clients & members of the public on appropriate actions regarding quarantine import conditions, seaports requirements and consequences for breaches.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Personal Assistant (Current Employee) –  South Perth WA2 November 2015
Great supportive work environment. People can have a laugh and work together as team when required. Decent opportunities for training and learning to improve skills.
Pros
Great people
Cons
No cons that I can really think of
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Autonomous rewarding work. Forming part of a team with clear and achievable objectives
Technical Officer (Former Employee) –  Kununurra, WA26 May 2015
Set routine with decision making and organisation required. Other duties arising regularly. The importance of good managers. How some processes of the organisation worked. The manager in this job was not fully engaged. Co workers were excellent. The hardest part of the job was a lack of variety of duties. Also very little to extend ones capabilities. Learning curve was low. The best part of the job was the autonomy and the driving and travel to remote areas. I also enjoyed the interaction with other agencies.
Pros
Excellent package and job security
Cons
mostly boring
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with gym and social club
Canteen worker/kitchenhand/ (Former Employee) –  South Perth, WA3 April 2015
Productive and fun workplace with a gym and social club. assortment of duties, never bored, lots of laughter, management approachable. work colleagues all worked as a team, very safe environment. Very busy during morning teas and lunch. I learned some catering skills, time management and met some lovely people.
Pros
meeting people.
Cons
not enough hours at times so no large earning capacity.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjouable working enviornment
Customer Service Officer /Administration (Former Employee) –  Waroona, WA8 March 2015
My ideal working industry. Enjoyed working in the administration/customer service areas. Also allowed me to work with management, development and research officers.
Pros
My ideal employemnt
Cons
Contract work only
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
1) Research Officer (Former Employee) –  Perth, WA1 January 2015
Good support from peers. social interactions with different sections within the department
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Technical Officer
Technical Officer (Current Employee) –  South Perth31 December 2014
Working within a team environment is rewarding ,also i work independently. Hardest part of my job would be spending long periods away from family.Management are fine they provide the flexibility to do training courses, and support their staff .
my working day varies so much from day to day i could be in the field , office work or lab work .
Pros
flexible working hours, team work, training opportunities
Cons
away from home for time to time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Declining organisation, underfunded
Hydrologist Engineer (Former Employee) –  Perth, WA22 September 2014
Management out of touch with client needs, alternative consultants taking business from the organisation due too slow a response to client needs and inappropriate management skills and evaluation.
Pros
None
Cons
Inplodinf organisation and oportunities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Australian Government Department of Agriculture and Water Resources. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 35 reviews
58
412
38
27
10

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.2Culture

Australian Government Department of Agriculture and Water Resources Reviews by Job Title

Australian Government Department of Agriculture and Water Resources Reviews by Location