BAE Systems Employee Reviews

Found 98 reviews matching the search See all 3,504 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Play footy with workmates
Electrician (Former Employee) –  Perth WA13 February 2017
It was a good company to work for and I balance beteween work and family and we would have time for rviewing the company performance on Toolbox meetings
Pros
They provide free tea breaks
Cons
The element of people knowing each othere out of work for you to stay on the job
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not reliable
Storeperson (Former Employee) –  Raaf base amberley18 January 2017
Made entirely of useless boss avoid at all cost made everyone redundant and lost the defense contract to linfox who only hired a handful of people
Pros
Non
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work environment
Boilermaker (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC9 January 2017
great work environment and conditions combined with a well educated senior management team that proved successful in producing quality ship hulls for the navy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable workplace with helpful co-workers.
Trade Assistant (Former Employee) –  Adelaide SA6 January 2017
Complex, but comfortable. Requires attention to detail to ensure finished product always meets quality standards. Co-workers are highly trained and helpful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
new adventures
Auxillary Firefighter for Tamworth (Former Employee) –  Tamworth NSW15 December 2016
Everyday was different and working to see new students progress through a tough schooling on flying.New training and ideas with the crew who listen.
Pros
enjoyment
Cons
hot days in fire suit
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting job
Maintenance Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Rockingham WA9 December 2016
Work place is busy and interesting
Learned about maintenance engineering and supervision
management local managers are really hard to relate to
Most co workers are excellent
hardest part of the job was BAE made so many redundancies
Pros
good work environment
Cons
job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 15NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A challenging task working in defence
Piping Supervisor - Maritime / LHD & ASMD Project (Current Employee) –  Henderson WA17 October 2016
Manage team budget, timekeeping. Meets client expectation weekly meeting to discuss progress and DE conflict issue.

Gain respect from working colleagues & co-workers

The hardest part is when drawing revision change & meeting very tight schedules.

The most enjoying part of the job is coordinating with all department meeting budget,schedules.& team work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people to work with.
Boilermaker/Leading Hand (Former Employee) –  Henderson WA21 September 2016
I worked for BAE for four and a half years.
I spent over 2 years there as a Leading hand so I got a good feel of how management works there.
A lot of the time I found it very challenging due to poor management I had to take allot of other peoples jobs on that they would not do.
I enjoyed the people there and made some good friends however I did not enjoy working there after four years.
Pros
Wages and benifits
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One the best company's I've worked with.
apprentice boiler maker (Former Employee) –  Williamstown VIC1 September 2016
The management was fantastic we were always told about what going on around the country and the world at all the different sites BAE has and I guess what made the great place to work was the great people who worked there it was a real family friendly work place I would recommend BAE systems to everyone who's looking to work in the defence industry.
Pros
Working in state of art facilities
Cons
No cons to mention.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great work environment where we are involved in detailed skilled work
Electrical project manager (Current Employee) –  Henderson WA17 August 2016
BAE are a great company to work for . The company has opportunities for advancement, has a training department which gets involved with the team. Communication between the trade groups has really improved since i started with the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team, excellent line managers
Technical Writer (Former Employee) –  Garden Island NSW26 July 2016
Employer: BAE Systems Australia (Garden Island, NSW)
Length of tenure: approximately 3 years

Great team, very open and welcoming.
Team leaders are accomodating and easy to talk to.
Excellent work-life balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good place to work
Trade Assistant (Former Employee) –  Henderson WA12 July 2016
I enjoyed working at b.a.e systems with good people and lots of work to do. the ships are massive and I enjoyed refurbishing them
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional opportunities and team development.
Manager (Former Employee) –  South Australia5 July 2016
BAE Systems provides great opportunities for professional development, encouraging individuals and teams. Due to the nature of works, project teams work closely with the support of management to achieve the company goals.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
valued enterprise
Senior S.H.E. & Quality Advisor (Former Employee) –  queensland27 June 2016
Fantastic people at all levels of operations with diverse high risk operations which added valued variety towards WHS management
Pros
great to work with department of defence
Cons
Valued muitple scope of responsibilities
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company & flexible
PRODUCTIVITY ANALYST (Current Employee) –  The Rocks NSW24 June 2016
It is a good company to work for & strongly emphasises flexible working arrangements as well as diversity & inclusion at work. Always looking for ways to expand the Australian businesss. They also provide opportunities for Engineer Graduates through their Graduation Scheme which is fabulous & also give options to be able to work overseas as well as interstate. I have enjoyed working for this company.
Pros
Flexible working hours
Cons
Not bidding for the right Defence work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place , awesome defense projects
QUALITY CONTROL OFFICER (Former Employee) –  Williamstown VIC5 June 2016
great place , awesome defense projects , opportunities to improve ones self, great support teams, excellent OHS support, great place to grow unfortunately the yard is being mothballed because of no defense work in shipbuilding for this state
Pros
work life balance, onsite project work
Cons
politics
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, high pressure environment
SMB Maintenance Planner (Former Employee) –  Cairns City QLD31 May 2016
I enjoyed my time at BAE Systems, but now require a sea change, and prepared to move anywhere. Experience over a wide range of engineering support
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked with great people
Test Director/ Avionics/Systems/Design Engineer (Former Employee) –  RAAF Base Edinburgh SA3 May 2016
BAE Systems has been a great place to work but with the down turn in defense spending a lot of people have been made redundant
Pros
Good work/life balance
Cons
uncertain future
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoable, good group to work with.Respect for each other.
Portal & Mobile Crane Operator (Former Employee) –  Williamstown VIC15 March 2016
To acchieve what tasks were to be completed for the day.
Being part of the heavy lift team there was always something new to be learnt, ect dual lifts,
transportation of heavy loads.
Management and co-workers,very good.
The hardest part of the job was wondering when we were going to be finished up.
The most enjoyable part of the job was the conditions we worked in.
Pros
Good Conditions
Cons
Never knowing when we would be finishing up.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
IMT Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh Parks14 March 2016
Great team of people to work with,
Great opportunities to develop and enhance your skills.
Great work-life balance with flexible working conditions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at BAE Systems. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 3,504 reviews
51.2K
41.3K
3752
2206
1130

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture