BAE Systems Employee Reviews

Found 98 reviews matching the search See all 3,500 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive Management, Great Company, Great People
Welding Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Williamstown, VIC2 August 2015
Great Company
Great People
Great Management
Supportive Team
Gained valuable experienced working in ANZAC Ship Project, Protector, AWD and LHD Project.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and fun place to work
Boiler Maker (Former Employee) –  Williamstown, VIC20 July 2015
BAE Systems was a great place to work for, you were constantly challenged and tested on your knowledge of the ship building industry day to day.The salary was great the conditions were also very good.All in all it was a good company they took care of their employees and their safety ethics were very sound.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A solid even handed employer
Senior Safety Advisor and Safety Lead (Former Employee) –  Perth, WA7 July 2015
Good working conditions
I learned a lot
The integrity and ethics at all levels was very high
Management good
Job satisfaction was good
Got to use all knowledge learnt during the course of my job acctivities
Pros
They are interested in improving personal skill sets
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dangerous culture, waiting to hear death on site.
Boilermaker (Former Employee) –  Henderson25 June 2015
Typical day, they try and reinvent the wheel.
What I learned, is you need to be a good back stabber to progress.
Management is way to top heavy and getting heavier.
Great guys to work with, actually workers not pencil pushers.
Hardest part is finding a brick wall to endlessly bash your head against.
Most enjoyable was leaving to work somewhere else.
Pros
its a job
Cons
over managed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Position was only temporary.
Receipt Inspector (Temporary) (Former Employee) –  Henderson, WA6 May 2015
All staff were friendly and easy to get along with. Regular management meetings with staff. on the job training provided. Would be a good company to work for full time.
Pros
Good co - worker social life.
Cons
Long distance to travel to and from work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Weapon System Reliability Engineer (Current Employee) –  Lincoln, uk29 April 2015
A great place to work, with a good environment surrounded by good engineers and characters.
A company that manages to retain the comraderie I had in the RAF.
Pros
Salary, benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BAE Systems look after their employees.
machinist for 10 years.General hand for 13years. (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh Parks Adelaide SA.28 April 2015
They will give training in 'house' when needed.
Have their own canteen.
Great social club!
They can be flexible with working hours & when time off is required for personal reasons.
Pros
Canteen, social club & flexible hrs.
Cons
BAE Systems is a very large defence company & you can't help felling like a number (not an employee)
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BAE Wagga
WAREHOUSING SUPERVISOR / CLOTHING STORE SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  Wagga Wagga NSW22 March 2015
Generally great to work for, as a Defence Contractor goes. The people hired made all the difference to the day to day Grind
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people to work with
Procurement Officer (Current Employee) –  Henderson, N17 March 2015
Work with alot of very good people here and the procurement team are great. Unfortunily they have created processes to bandaid processes to fix problems if that makes sense within procurement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very positive experience with the company and fellow workers including management
Aircraft Maintenance Engineer (Avionics) (Former Employee) –  Tullamarine13 February 2015
I had a very positive experience with the company. I must say I was very disappointed when my contract finished with them forcing me to finish my employment there.
Pros
Many BBQs when we finished the tasks
Cons
A bit of a travel to and from the airport
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team environment,fun job, lead by a good management team.
Aircraft Wash Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Nowra NSW1 January 2015
With all positions I have held throughout my career, I have had the ability to communicate confidently with the Team Leaders, Business/Client Stakeholders and Senior Executives. I quickly build and unite teams towards common objectives with my enthusiastic personality and communication skills.
I have been responsible for planning and implementing work activities according to strict policy and procedures. This has been achieved through careful planning and commitment through the stewardship of my team and drive and enthusiasm for my profession. I actively cultivate my relationships with team leaders and identify and engage mentors to develop my skills (if required).
In my private sector experience to date, I have been responsible and accountable for the provision of correct and timely information to all my direct and indirect managers. I have a proven track record in communicating to my team leaders and providing impartial and forthright advice. I critically analyse my own performance and seek feedback from my Manager. In addition, I ensure that the outcomes for which I am responsible have documented processes put in place that are auditable and accountable.
The knowledge and experience I have gained by working on various Teams within the BAE Systems has given me a solid foundation in managing expectations of stakeholders, working collaboratively and efficiently with various professionals and harnessing a collegial working environment.
Pros
Exceptional training and learning environment
Cons
Would have like to stay but contract finishes2015
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work for.
Woomera Village Team Leader / Works Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Woomera Sa3 December 2014
A great company to work for.
Good OHS attitude.
Professional training, on line and external at training venues' also in house training.
Approachable management, who actually listen to you and seek involvement, with issues and day to day problems.
3 monthly progress reviews.
Pros
free working breakfasts
Cons
Can be long hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked for BAE for 12 years great place to work sad to see it come to an end
Surface finisher/Corrosion control/Safety rep (Former Employee) –  Townsville QLD16 November 2014
BAE has a great safety culture, the people are good to work with the company is a forward thinking company The conditions were fantastic, the pay was good,but sadly after 12 years here our contract has come to an end and i have been made redundant.
Pros
Four day working week
Cons
shift work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sofe work place
Afternoon shift pipe fitter (Current Employee) –  Williamstown, VIC12 August 2014
is a good place to work with lots of stimulating tasks to keep you buissy
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Routine
B1 LAME A320 (Current Employee) –  Sydney, NSW1 August 2014
Varied work load with small team. Satisfying and challenging work
Cons
Night shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work
Maintenance Planner (Current Employee) –  Sydney21 July 2014
BAE systems has a socially responsible, pleasant and supportive workforce.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
motivated people
AME Structural Fitter (Former Employee) –  williamtown nsw19 June 2014
highly skilled and motivated workforce. management is substandard. hardest part of the day is listening to more bulls%$# from managers. the trades on the floor is some of the most highly motivated and skilled people I have ever had the pleasure to work with.
Pros
4 day week
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great teams
OHS (SH&E) Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Alice springs18 June 2014
Challenging and at times rewarding. Commitment of employees to achieve compliance of audits.
Pros
Enjoying going to work usually
Cons
Stressful at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment with friendly employees
School Work experience (Former Employee) –  Adelaide, SA5 April 2014
I attended this company as a work experience for my school and was inspired to be in he workplace. All the employees no matter what division I was placed in were informative and nice. The work was pretty tricky but once you get your head around things it becomes easier and more rewarding.
Pros
Great environment and people
Cons
Manual Labour
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had the chance to drive military equipment IE tanks
Quality Inspector / Motor Mechinic (Former Employee) –  Bandianna Vic8 March 2014
My time with BAE was quite enjoyable, I had the chance to work with a variety of different vehicles. I was offered a opportunity to work on a new project, which involved a complete rebuild and upgrade of an old 1950 vehicle with state of the art equipment.
Pros
turning a old vehicle into a brand new machine
Cons
pulling apart a dirty old machine
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at BAE Systems. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 3,500 reviews
51.2K
41.3K
3751
2206
1129

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture