BCF Employee Reviews

Found 30 reviews matching the search See all 54 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work so fun and easy going environment
Customer Service Assistant (Current Employee) –  Osborne Park WA7 January 2019
Very fun and rewarding place to work, there is some pressure from time to time to make sales but i would highly recommend to anyone wishing to apply. Great company to work for if you're interested in that lifestyle.
Pros
great atmosphere, lovely people if you love that 4wd, fishing and caming lifestyle
Cons
pressure sometimes
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good to work for
Christmas Casual Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kangaroo Flat VIC30 September 2018
Good store to work at, very relaxed and comfortable, informal. Staff were very friendly, customers were very friendly, boss was easy to get along with and great personality.
Pros
Awesome Co-workers, great environment, good pay, easy tasks
Cons
Temporary job, not the best at giving orders or direction
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Retail/Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Orange NSW10 July 2018
Great place to work always fun environment pay is decent enough with good discounts that apply to all stores owned by supercheap group would work there again
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and fun place to work
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Mandurah WA4 June 2018
Even though it was only work experience, was a fun place to work at because all the staff were so kind and quick with a joke. I was always allocated a job to do which made the day go by very fast.
Pros
Work experience
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Time
Storeperson (Former Employee) –  Keperra QLD19 May 2018
Was a great time working with the employees at BCF would love to do it again. Loved working within the sales industry, gained a lot of skills that apply to other jobs. Great opportunity.
Pros
Great hours, great people
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work!
Casual Team Member (Current Employee) –  Gepps Cross SA29 April 2018
BCF is such a fun place to work. Other team members, management and customer are all amazing and its a great environment to work in.
Even just working at the registers its hard to get bored during the busy times of the year because they are rods and clothing to price and prepare to go out into the store.
During the winter months its hard to get hours as not many people come into a store like this in the colder months but during the warmer months its lots of fun and lots of hours.
Pros
great people, amazing environment
Cons
hard to get hours in colder months
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and enjoyable work
Retail Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Port Macquarie NSW5 March 2018
Love working their for the couple months I worked really enjoyed it and would be happy to work in retail in general I did general maintenance and sell stuff that I'm interested in loved working at BCF the staff and customers were nice and easy to work with
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Felt very comfortable
Work Experience Student (Former Employee) –  Rockhampton City QLD16 February 2018
I had only had work experience there for 1 week and it was very good the people there were nice and were very approachable and jelped me a lot during my work experience school program.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice crew to work with
Wodonga, Vic, Sales Assistant - Casual (Former Employee) –  Wodonga VIC28 January 2018
Wasn't happy with the amount of shifts being given, not enough to support myself. Didn't love the store in general. Although worked with some great people.
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a good experience
Customer Service Officer (Former Employee) –  Armidale NSW14 January 2018
Was good working there and meeting new people and learning new skills. Very poor management but. Shifts was all over the place with me working lots one week and none the next. Didn't have a routine for their staff which made it very confusing with things changing all the time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A challenging Fast paced retail environment
Team Member BCF Laverton (Former Employee) –  Laverton WA22 December 2017
This job was a temporary position until something became available in my profession.

An enjoyable experience. (overall).

Being a casual meant working non - sociable hours.
Pros
Super Cheap Store discounts
Cons
Unsociable hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work ethic in team but changing managment every 6 months is wrong
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ipswich QLD6 September 2017
Its a good learning curve.always someone new to talk to everyday and made things challenging. Always fun trying to meet kpi's when they weren't stupid ones that were impossible
Pros
Team discount was good
Cons
Kpi's were rediculous and the area managers and people above them have no idea how to run a store
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
happy pleasant customers generally
Team Member casual (Current Employee) –  Geraldton WA5 June 2017
Customer Service is the main job. Up selling products it is a great happy environment. Much like any otheepr large company. It is hard to learn all the products at first, but I'm improving and enjoy the independence and trust.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Geelong VIC14 May 2017
it is a very enjoyable workplace. Nice and helpful staff. very productive and able to get things done, the management staff are willing to help when it is required
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workpolace, helpful team mebers
Retail Sales (Former Employee) –  Port Macquarie NSW23 February 2017
The Team Members are very helpful it is a very fun place to work and be in general I definitely would work there again I love BCF most people do the variety of Lure they have is awesome
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 5Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unfriendly work environment
Casual Employee (Current Employee) –  Rockingham WA7 February 2017
Difficult to work with manager, lack of communication between staff, lots of tension between multiple team that makes it difficult to work together.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 8Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Retail Assistant/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Ipswich QLD7 December 2016
I loved working here. I just wasn't getting enough hours. Wish I stayed. BCF is a very hands on workplace. Everyone works as a team and can also work independently smoothly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
varied tasks each work day
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Geelong VIC28 July 2016
each day at BCF was different, sometimes on point of sale and othertimes stocking shelves or taking deliveries
i learnt i know nothing about fishing!
management was very professional and informative
each co-worker was driven and knowledgable
most enjoyable part of this job was all the things i learnt about camping and fishing equipment
Pros
endless things to learn and staff discount
Cons
too far from my home
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fabulous knowledgeable friendly staff
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  South Australia7 July 2016
Loved working as Store Manager in the time I was there, however the inefficiences from the Area Manager upward were incredible. None talked to the other about their upcoming category sales resulting in many apologies to Store Managers for mistakes made, and far too much money having to be spent on wages fixing issues that could have been avoided on a regular basis.
Staff were fantastic, really making the job so much easier. I will always be indebted to the team I worked with, their loyalty to the store and to their manager. Awesome crew.
In saying that I would never want to work there again. The pay is terrible as a manager, working a minimum 43 hours a week and an hourly pay rate lower than a part timer. All extra hours, no matter how many, were considered reasonable overtime, with an expectation of working 60 and 70 hours a week at christmas with no offer of compensation. It is just considered part of the job by all the Store Managers in SA that the pay is never going to be reasonable compensation for the work you perform and the effort you put in.
Management in the head office consider OHS far more important than they do the team that work for them, causing divisions between stores and head office.
Pros
Fantastic teams to work with, Store Managers always helped each other.
Cons
43 hours min per week, very low pay for managing a store, poor communication from disfunctional head office and category managers, replacing quality brands with home brand lower quality products
Was this review helpful?Yes 40No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun worklace
Volunteer Work (Former Employee) –  Caloundra QLD19 April 2016
Everyone at BCF were friendly and easy to get along with. The work was fast flowing and days went by quickly. Everyone knew what had to be done which made everything more efficient. the hardest part was when there is a big rush of people but because everyone has a role to play the big rush goes quickly.
Pros
Friendships with co-workers
Cons
Slow days- hardly any business
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at BCF. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 54 reviews
514
424
310
23
13

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.5Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.5Culture