Bierkeller Employee Reviews

Showing all 30 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not good.
Trainee Manager (Former Employee) –  Exeter, Devon`29 July 2019
overworked and underpaid. not enough support and not enough time to complete the jobs i was given. It was the worst 2 months of my life, by far. I had severe mental health issues when i eventually decided to give it up.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Bierkeller Glass collector (Former Employee) –  Nuneaton20 July 2019
amazing place to work for my first job. great people to be around and very supportive and helpful management. helped me build my character and my social skills.
Pros
great environment
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Bartender (Former Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester17 July 2019
I enjoyed working in a busy, fast paced working environment where I made some life long friends.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
Waitress (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands16 July 2019
Where do I start? Short pay! Long hours! Unappreciated and over worked! Sometimes feel like a sweat shop, management is poor, superiors are rude, wouldnt wish this job on my worst enemy! Supervisors are meant to look out and help, she is rude and unhelpful! Always yelling with management and staff!
Pros
None
Cons
Absolutely none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
kichen porter (Current Employee) –  floors, UK19 June 2019
It is a good place to work but not a lot of hours. Very friendly and lots of fun but also hard work to make sure that everything it right. Very sociable hours
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
No a lot of hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not great
Bartender (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands29 May 2019
Bierkeller is a great place to work lots of fun and great people around you can build some great friendships however there are long hours (18hour shifts) on a Saturday and the place isn’t run that well.
You also get underpaid sometimes and it takes them months to try and sort it out.
Overall it’s a lovely place to work.
Pros
Friendly staff good environment
Cons
Long hours, poor management, underpaid sometimes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
barman
barman (Former Employee) –  Cardiff, Cardiff27 February 2019
My responsibility is to prepare and serve drinks to customers being able to mix and match ingredients to create classic innovative drinks to customers’ needs and expectations. I must demonstrate a thorough knowledge of food and beverage products along with common menu and ongoing and new promotions. I have been at the bierkeller since 18/02/17 to current this is based on a zero-hour contact
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Completely unreliable
Bar Staff (Former Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire18 January 2019
Staff are often paid incorrectly or late, sometimes going on for weeks on end. Management and head office are just really unorganized in general, so getting any issues fixed is even more stressful than the original problem.
It's no surprise that the owners had to sell the company last year.
Pros
Friendly coworkers
Cons
Late pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent and inviting
Bar Staff (Current Employee) –  Maidstone, Kent3 January 2019
Love working for bierkeller as staff are like family and are very supportive of each other. Management are great. They help with all tasks including cleaning
Pros
Very friendly and loving staff
Cons
Late nights
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Public Relations Assistant (Former Employee) –  Liverpool9 October 2018
The role I worked, there was little space for progression but it was a friendly and fun environment to work in. Management were friendly but the hours were unsocial
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfectly fine
Waitress/Bar Staff (Former Employee) –  Cardiff City, Cardiff8 October 2018
Just a good place to work. What you would expect. Everybody was very friendly to work with and would always be willing to lend a hand if you were unsure or overcome.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work.
glass collector/cloak room attendant (Former Employee) –  Cardiff2 September 2018
People there were very nice and helpful, I have learnt there a lot about talking to clients as well as working with them. The best part of this job were quite often staff trainings to help as be better in what we were doing there. And this is serving the great, proffessional atmosphere and to keep the place safe for staff and costumers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent place to work
Bartender (Current Employee) –  Greater Manchester28 July 2018
decent pay, relaxed, however unreliable, sometimes workers told they dont have a shift minute before starting, friendly staf hwoever and good managers
Pros
free pint on saturday shift
Cons
fast pace
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first experience of working life.
Pot Washer (Former Employee) –  Manchester24 July 2018
Waiting on, pot collecting, keeping bar area clean and tidy and dealing with customer queries. Enjoyed working with other staff members, only down side was very late finishes which was a problem for getting home after my shift.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, But Poor Management
Waitress/Bar Staff (Former Employee) –  Nottingham14 May 2018
I worked here for a few months, and although it was a lively place to work and hours were flexible, the organisation was poor. This could be to do with he fact that it was newly opened but even now, I think they have quite a high staff turnover rate. Pay was also minimum wage, and the system was pretty faulty so it wasn't always on time.
Pros
Staff discount
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't go there!
Manager (Former Employee) –  Exeter, Devon2 February 2018
The barrels do not get cleaned, the bratwurst shall give you food poisoning and are ether charred or under cooked on a dirty rack.
The freezer is a state where everything is covered in mold and are out of date.
Staff are under paid and over worked most night's not able to take a break even tho by law you can.
The owner does nothing to help or clean or anything and apparently takes drugs with the staff on shift.
Everything is over priced and under quality. The cocktails are basically just juice.
No thought or palling or maintenance.
Id go on but you should basically avoid it like the plague.
Pros
Good for lazy staff
Cons
Everythng
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Childish Management, Poor Hours
Bar Staff (Former Employee) –  Cardiff8 November 2017
Chaotic management, weekly rotas released on Sunday nights, with shifts for the next day, allowing little time for planning. Rather than address issues managers are passive aggressive, or entirely ignore messages.

Hours are constantly cut, except for during big events, when everyone is expected to turn up, regardless of prior commitments, and regardless of whether you inform them weeks in advance of these commitments.
Pros
Other Staff are fun and competent
Cons
Chaotic, clueless management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Bar Staff (Current Employee) –  Liverpool, Merseyside8 August 2017
Bad money and long hours , stupid rules like not allowed money on you're person but no proper lockers to store any of your possessions .. Friendly staff
Pros
The people
Cons
The money
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going and fun workplace
Bartender (Former Employee) –  Liverpool25 July 2017
As a whole, Bierkelller was a good company to work for. The hours were flexible and you could do as many a week as you liked. However, you had to work most weekends which was often unsociable.
Pros
Management were good
Cons
Working every weekend
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best place to work
Waitress/Bar Staff (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands26 June 2017
Poor management the managers do not know how to run a company. It is not flexible around college/childcare or social life. You are never working the hours you rota states and no matter how long you work there they dont appreciate you no matter what. Most exciting part about work here is no weekend is ever the same.
Pros
Outgoing customers
Cons
No work ethics or staff respect
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Bierkeller. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 30 reviews
58
46
38
24
14

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.2Culture