Biogen Employee Reviews for Associate Scientist

Found 12 reviews matching the search See all 418 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place with free drinks all day long
Associate Scientist/Engineer Co-op (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MA16 July 2018
Great place to work.
Really smart minds around you who are committed to making a difference in the world.
you will not do the same thing twice.
Seems a little unstable right now.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
Associate Scientist (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NC11 February 2018
Decent place to work with highly talented and dedicated people. Company still offers good compensation and benefits, however there is a decreasing trend in recent years.
Pros
Good compensation/benefits, inclusive job culture
Cons
Limited career advancement, long working days
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Associate Scientist, QC Virology (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MA7 March 2017
Great atmosphere, friendly people. Great benefits. Flexible hours, very much a people culture. Great management and productive place to learn more. Great opportunities offered to grow within different departments.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment
Associate Scientist I (Former Employee) –  Morrisville, NC3 February 2016
Learned a lot from co-workers.
Enjoyed part of my job. Learned a lot from Shadowing my co-worker, they were friendly and motivated me always. My job helped me to learn how things work in pharmaceutical company, liked the training.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Associate Scientist I (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, MA5 November 2015
The culture was great and my co-workers were the best I've ever had. Benefits are amazing. There are social hours once a week which makes it easy to meet people from other groups.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, unless you're a contractor
Associate Scientist I (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, MA9 August 2015
Biogen provides a great work environment for its employees, and promotes job development and growth. As a contractor, however, Biogen does not offer any benefits, and getting a full-time position with the company after six months is nearly impossible. In order to advance, making the right friends is more important than the impact of your performance, which I assume should be expected at a pharmaceutical giant such as Biogen.
Pros
Great job experience, team-oriented atmosphere, and beer hour every Thursday.
Cons
No benefits or PTO as a contractor, lots of nepotism and favoritism
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Associate Scientist I (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, MA3 December 2014
Really great company. entrepreneurial and gives you opportunity to do what you want.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Standard Biotech
Associate Scientist I; PCDS (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MA23 October 2014
Decent work, minimal job security. Excellent Facility. Difficult to become full-time employee from contractor.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Successful company
Associate Scientist I (Current Employee) –  Durham, NC14 March 2014
When you have a thriving company like Biogen Idec, pretty much everything at work is provided for you to do your best work, be it well stocked break rooms, to excellent office and laboratory equipment. Culture is not incredibly strict, given that everyone is doing their work successfully. With that in mind, work hours are fairly flexible, which is very nice for those with children or busy home schedules.
Pros
Work culture is relaxed because everyone works hard on their own
Cons
Seems difficult to move up
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great workplace
Associate Scientist I (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MA12 December 2013
It was a new experience.

Typical day I would have to run Bioreactor experiments.
Perform qPCR for time point sample is from production Bioreactor runs.

Perform analysis.

Thaw, maintain cell lines and performed scale up experiments.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disneyland
Assoc. Scientist I (Current Employee) –  RTP25 July 2013
Biogen Idec was the most amazing place I've ever worked and I have been eager to return ever since my contract ended in March 2013.

Employees enjoy flexibility and work-life balance, each department has it's own culture, and overall, people are just plain happy to work there.

My only complaint would be the social and socioeconomic disparity between contractors and full-time employees, which occasionally created an unnecessary cultural divide.
Pros
Free coffee and soda, great food
Cons
Advancement can depend on who you know, rather than ability.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report

See more Biogen reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Biogen. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 418 reviews
5164
4160
365
217
112

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
4.3Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.8Culture