Blacktown City Council Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bureaucratic but trying to do better
Senior manager (Current Employee) –  Blacktown NSW31 March 2018
Culture clash between old school staff, many who have been there since teens and staff from commercial cultures. Lack of attention to proper procedures and too much corner cutting.
Pros
very good award with flex and overtime
Cons
bureaurcratic resistance to corporate "can do" not helped by a crash or crash through CEO
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good centre
Team member (Former Employee) –  Mt Druitt NSW24 March 2018
working with blacktown city council was good the owners were very helpful. if I ever had a problem they would help me out as much as possible. they would give me enough notice for shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Glenwood High School Library
Blacktown City Council (Former Employee) –  Blacktown NSW19 May 2017
Putting books a way using the decimal systems. Tiding the book shelves. Scanning the book barcodes. Dusting the book shelves. Packing the books into boxes for stocktake. They are good too.
Cons
8am-3pm
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience filled job opportunity
Administration Assistant (Former Employee) –  Blacktown NSW6 February 2017
As an admin assistance I was at a desk all day which wasn't my type of career at this point in my life. As I was covering the position for someone on long service leave it was easy to complete the two months without too much stress. I was thankful for the opportunity and experience which helped me clarify what I was seeking regarding employment and a career.
Pros
Approachable Manager
Cons
Brain numbing work
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience.
City Youth Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Blacktown NSW4 January 2017
It was an unpaid program that I entered as Youth Ambassador. I loved the culture that I was introduced to and learned a lot about the role of the Local Government and its function across multiple situations.
Pros
Everything.
Cons
Nothing.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Healthy work environment with above average wage.
Customer Service Officer (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW2 August 2016
Blacktown city council Sydney Australia is one of the biggest council's in NSW Australia. The call center environment is unlike any other of its kind.
Pros
High wages
Cons
not flexible hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Employment benefits
Events Officer (Former Employee) –  Sydney24 April 2016
A typical day at work is busy and an 8 hours work allocated is not enough. I have learned so much at work including; how to deal with difficult customer, marketing strategy, time management and etc. Most of co-workers are team player, senior staff refuse to play their role during busy time. Hardest part of my job is the long hours work and not enough staff provided by the management so I have to carry on and do and responsibilities to deliver on what is expected from me. The most enjoyable part of my job is everything. I love events and like to be challenge.
Pros
good salary, flexible working hours
Cons
not enough staff to give assistace within our units
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Friendly and enjoyable.
Bush regeneration (Former Employee) –  sydney nsw14 October 2015
Supportive staff and a fun working environment. Working outdoors in nature and helping maintain native plants. Learn new things everyday, staff always happy to share their knowledge. A wide variety of work not the same thing everyday.
Pros
working outdoors, seeing the results/impact of your work alomst imediantly.
Cons
Some early starts, weather can have a big impact on the job e.g. heat, rain, cold.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent professional,fun place to work
Kiosk Assistant (Current Employee) –  Emerton nsw19 August 2014
Kiosk assistant..
Serving customers
Use of Till
Food preperation
Barista skills
Product ordering
Pros
Happy Place to work
Cons
Traveling
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good organisation to work for
Director (Current Employee) –  Sydney, NSW20 October 2013
I had an opportunity to work with staff and families in a different area of Sydney. It was an interesting experience being with people of different cultures
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 15Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Blacktown City Council. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 11 reviews
55
45
31
20
10

Ratings by category

4.5Work/Life Balance
4.0Salary/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
4.2Management
4.3Culture

Blacktown City Council Reviews by Location