Bolton Clarke
3.4 out of 5 stars.
Receive weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

Bolton Clarke Employee Reviews

Review this company
Job Title
Location

Ratings by category

3.3Work–Life Balance

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 95 reviews matching the searchSee all 97 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Not very transformational and has some toxic leaders

Indeed Featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
This company ha some real issues as it often puts profit before care and hires under-qualified staff as a cost savings. It was formed by two companies merging now they forgot their beginnings and sold their veterans out by getting rid of them and refusing to provide care to them.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Bolton Clarke

14 January 2021
Thank you for your review. Bolton Clarke is a not-for-profit provider created from the merger of two experienced and respected organisations, RSL Care and RDNS. We have a long and ongoing tradition of supporting our ex-services community and continue to be a major provider of services to veterans. We take all feedback seriously. If you would like to discuss your experience further please call 1300 22 11 22 and ask to speak with our HR team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Rewarding work and good team culture

Great team to work with, staff genuinely care about the clients.Nice building, pay is average but there are tax cuts and penalty rates for working weekends and public holidays.
Was this review helpful?
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

excellent place to work at with great capacity for loyalty and devotion

one of the best nursing homes i have worked at. Work culture was superb.Contacts not only with residents but also with their family members were great

Pros

free meals

Cons

nothing
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Bolton Clarke

9 May 2021
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you had a great employee experience with us. We really are passionate about ensuring our customers live the best life possible. Thank your for contributing to that.Kate Milliken, Bolton Clarke People & Culture team
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Nice customer service operators

get told by a team leader ( who is new to the role and still learning that it will all fall into place ) other staff members saying it took them about 3-6 months to pick it all up to then get told they don’t require you any longer after three weeks , team leaders are often busy doing there job and you feel bad for interrupting to ask a question , another Successful candidate leaving a few weeks later also saying the training was not good enough , and manager saying if they could have some one train me for four weeks would be perfect but can’t , invest in your staff , have a team leader who can walk the floor for new staff & is always available to ask questions , cso are very helpful thoe , trainer was lovely & very knowledgeable

Pros

Good money

Cons

Need more training
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Bolton Clarke

3 March 2021
Thank you for your review and for providing your feedback. Bolton Clarke is committed to creating a positive, supportive and inclusive work environment and supporting the wellbeing of all employees, especially during the onboarding and training period. If you'd like to discuss your experience further, please call us on 1300 22 11 22 and ask to speak with our People & Culture team.Thanks again,Kate Milliken, Bolton Clarke People & Culture Team
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Excellent team, committed leadership

An excellent organisation with a genuine commitment to the people they serve. Management who really care, understand the environment and put people first. Fulfilling work with great opportunity to extend and keep learning.

Pros

Making a difference for older people
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Bolton Clarke

27 January 2021
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you're having a great employee experience with us. We really are passionate about ensuring our customers live the best life possible. Thank your for contributing to that. Kate Milliken, Bolton Clarke People & Culture team

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

You'll regret it!

Weak management who allow bullies to attack staff and then when multiple staff leave can't see what that issue is with 1 staff member. Low work life balance . Low wages and do the job of 3.

Pros

Going home

Cons

Under paid, bullying, weak management
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Bolton Clarke

27 January 2021
Thank you for your review and for providing your feedback. Bolton Clarke is committed to creating a positive, supportive and inclusive work environment and supporting the wellbeing of all employees. If you'd like to discuss your experience further, please call us on 1300 22 11 22 and ask to speak with our People & Culture team.Thanks again,Kate Milliken, Bolton Clarke People & Culture Team
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Toxic Culture and weak CEO

For an organisation in the care sector, the values of Bolton Clarke are misaligned with its purpose. A weak CEO, only interested in feathering his own nest and a massive ego to boot ensures the rot starts at the top and permeates throughout. Favouritism is rife and if you dare to speak up you are shown the door. The only good thing about it was the pay.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Bolton Clarke

13 January 2021
Thank you for your review and for providing your feedback. Bolton Clarke is committed to creating a positive, supportive and inclusive work environment and supporting the wellbeing of all employees. If you'd like to discuss your experience further, please call us on 1300 22 11 22 and ask to speak with our People & Culture team.Thanks again,Kate Milliken, Bolton Clarke People & Culture Team
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Melissa Smith

Loved working for the company but if you have issues with other staff it’s policy is not that great, even after reporting the issues got worse that was my only complaint about them other then that they are a great company to be with.

Pros

Helpful and great learning environment

Cons

Bullying protocols
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Bolton Clarke

26 August 2020
Hi Melissa,Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you loved working with us, however saddened to hear about the issues you experienced. We take matters of bullying very seriously and if you'd like to discuss it further, we are here for you. Please call 1300 22 11 22 and ask to speak to our HR team.Thanks, Kate Milliken, Talent Acquisition Manager
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Dreadful company to work for. Highly recommend that employees and clients look elsewhere to provide employment and community home care.

Very poor company to work for. PCW's are treated extremely low and certainly not valued by clinical and management staff. Absolutely no support from clinical and management staff. Rostering was a nightmare with so many constant changes with the rostering team. A no care attitude about clients relationship with care staff. Care staff looked down upon by clinical and management staff. Favouritism and brown noses within administration team and clinical team.

Pros

Lovely clients if you are able to remain on their run.

Cons

No support, poor pay, Little training, No trust, never listened to, gossips and rumours.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Bolton Clarke

27 January 2021
Thank you for your review and for providing your feedback. Bolton Clarke is committed to creating a positive, supportive and inclusive work environment and supporting the wellbeing of all employees. If you'd like to discuss your experience further, please call us on 1300 22 11 22 and ask to speak with our People & Culture team.Thanks again,Kate Milliken, Bolton Clarke People & Culture Team
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Overall a disappointing experience

I would not recommend working in community care unless you had another reliable source of income, the inconsistencies in shifts/clients was a let down as you would go into a day thinking you had X amount of clients and services would be cancelled at last minute leaving you short on both money and fuel. I loved my regular clients, but that's where it ends. I spent majority of my time working for Bolton Clarke as a cleaner, even though I am fully qualified as an individual support worker, if I wanted to be a cleaner I would have applied for a cleaning job. I found myself left out of the loop a lot when it came to rostering, turning up to clients and having them say they had cancelled their service yet they were still listed on my run. Communication, work-life balance and having a stable salary were not strong points of my experience, if you could not take on extra clients for whatever reason you'd be left wondering if your hours would be cut back. On a good day you could work a 9-10 hour day, but be paid for 6-7 hours of work as you'd only be paid for the time of the services and for the kilometres between each clients.

Cons

Below average pay, inconsistencies in shifts, little to no communication
Was this review helpful?
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Shady 'aged care' company

Bolton Clarke suddenly cancelled temporary contracts (via a recruiter at KBH) for administration officers just before Australia went in lockdown. The company expected immediate starts due to high demand from clients that require urgent nursing services. The office atmosphere was tense and hostile when we started. The 'trainer' refused to clarify information about procedures around dealing with COVID-19, scheduling, etcetera despite being asked multiple times.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Bolton Clarke

11 February 2021
Thank you for your review and for providing your feedback. We are sorry to hear you had a less than ideal experience working for us. If you'd like to discuss your experience further, please call us on 1300 22 11 22 and ask to speak with our People & Culture team.Thanks again,Kate Milliken, Bolton Clarke People & Culture Team
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Not great

My work at Bolton Clarke is ok but the hours and the pay is not great and you can’t live off the pay they provide you, I barely get $500 a fortnight during my rostered shifts but if I get called in, my pay is slightly increased but doesn’t happen often.
Was this review helpful?
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Scheduler coordinator

Bought out by RSL and then closed our W.A. office and Adelaide. For months they new closing the office and strung the staff out till a week of office closing
Was this review helpful?
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Enter at own risk

. Full of cover ups .wrongful stand downs/sackings.There is not enough staff to assist residents .The pay is not appropriate .Management would be awarded no stars if it was allowed .there is very low staff morale and rumours .The management admits they do not care about there staff because they are a dime a dozen.Hr are useless and agree with management so there is nowhere to discuss your concerns .There is no gloves etc most of the time .If u are looking for somewhere to work that doesnt listen to staff ,care about staff or that egages in ametueur management this is the place for u
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Bolton Clarke

27 January 2021
Thank you for your review and for providing your feedback. Bolton Clarke is committed to creating a positive, supportive and inclusive work environment and supporting the wellbeing of all employees. If you'd like to discuss your experience further, please call us on 1300 22 11 22 and ask to speak with our People & Culture team.Thanks again,Kate Milliken, Bolton Clarke People & Culture Team
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Enjoy my time at Bolton Clarke.

I could see management in our department at Bolton Clarke really cared for the stuff under them and were working very hard to create an environment that was pleasant for staff. I throughly enjoyed working along side the staff and loved how they looked out for each other. All in all it was a great experience and if the pay rate were a bit more competitive I would definitely work for them again.

Cons

Great co workers, awesome themed days for residents and staff alike
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Bolton Clarke

27 January 2021
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time working with us. Our team works extremely hard to create a happy, cohesive and inclusive culture. Thanks for contributing to that.Thanks again, Kate Milliken, Bolton Clarke People & Culture team
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

My position

For years I enjoyed my job, the freedom to do my job the way I liked but after returning from a holiday, I found my runs had changed and I no longer had my regular clientele. I spoke out of line and regretted what I had said but there was no forgiveness. I ended by resigning.
Was this review helpful?
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Bad experience in a Clinical Management role

No Support & bad culture, bullying, no training on the job, low staff morale, time poor, clinical decision making old school, not allowed to implement new ways.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Bolton Clarke

27 January 2021
Thank you for your review and for providing your feedback. Bolton Clarke is committed to creating a positive, supportive and inclusive work environment and supporting the wellbeing of all employees. If you'd like to discuss your experience further, please call us on 1300 22 11 22 and ask to speak with our People & Culture team.Thanks again,Kate Milliken, Bolton Clarke People & Culture Team
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

A day at work

started with lots of hours then nothing but if you are not Australian you will get lots of hours to many workers there that order you around while they sit around and you get told that you will be permanent time in 3 months yer right
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Bolton Clarke

27 January 2021
Thank you for your review and for providing your feedback. Bolton Clarke is committed to creating a positive, supportive and inclusive work environment. If you'd like to discuss your experience further, please call us on 1300 22 11 22 and ask to speak with our People & Culture team.Thanks again,Kate Milliken, Bolton Clarke People & Culture Team
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Not nice

Would not recommend anyone to work there . There is nothing else to say i would not recommend people to go there. To many people think they are the boss. To many lazy people .people who carnt even speak good english and are very rough with the residents.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Bolton Clarke

27 January 2021
Thank you for your review and for providing your feedback. Bolton Clarke is committed to creating a positive, supportive and inclusive work environment and supporting the wellbeing of all employees. If you'd like to discuss your experience further, please call us on 1300 22 11 22 and ask to speak with our People & Culture team.Thanks again,Kate Milliken, Bolton Clarke People & Culture Team
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

urrghhhhh

Badly managed .short staffed .Favouritism .Low rate of pay .People being employed with little or no education .annual leave knocked back sometimes for over a year .
Was this review helpful?
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture

Salary Below Suitable

Whilst I enjoyed working for Bolton Clarke for the majority of the time, there were periods where the work environment could be quite toxic. There was no stability with management, turning over in short time frames. The salary was quite low compared to other providers even with the salary sacrifice option.
Was this review helpful?

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Bolton Clarke. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4

Based on 97 reviews
5
34
4
23
3
10
2
6
1
24

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.3Culture
  • Companies
  • Bolton Clarke
  • Employee Reviews