Broadcom Employee Reviews

Showing all 525 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organized, fast paced company that compensates well
Content Strategist /Principal Technical Writer (Former Employee) –  Burlington, MA4 August 2019
I only worked for Broadcom for 3 months, following an acquisition. During that time, they were professional and seemed organized.
They pay very well, and they are very focused on hitting their goals.
The downside is that people often feel like their jobs are not guarenteed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work great people
Production Operator (Former Employee) –  Fort Collins, CO1 August 2019
Great place to work, wonderful break rooms and nice people. Shift were reasonable amount of time and over night. Great compensation and incentives days with amazing benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working environment
Field Application Engineer (Current Employee) –  서울18 July 2019
may get higher income but you need to work hard more
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked as transition employee only
Director, Information Technology (Former Employee) –  Islandia, NY15 July 2019
In November 2018, Broadcom acquired the company I worked at for 36 years, CA Technologies. I was terminated and brought on as a 'transition' employee, and my employment ended on June 28, 2019.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company to work for
Principal Engineer (Former Employee) –  Irvine, CA1 July 2019
It has competitive products, and strong leader and marketing team.
The company did well in most product lines, and can attract talents due to its competitive compensation plan.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly
IC engineer (Current Employee) –  San Jose, CA30 June 2019
the environment is very friendly , but the communication could be better. the project planning is not made with everyone involved. very good team building
Pros
open work place, you can work either form home or office
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pool table and arcade available in this place
PERFORMANCE ENGINEER (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC20 June 2019
they also provide company shuttle in the 22nd station and bridgeport locations. the most enjoyable part is that you can do work from home but i think depends on the team.
Pros
shuttle service, pool, arcade
Cons
lots of meetings
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding and fast paced
TCL and perl expert programmer (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CA20 June 2019
Broadcom is fast paced with a minimalist culture.
At Broadcom we use industry standard tools which prepared me to work in other places.
Broadcom is flexible with hours and vacation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very mission oriented regarding finance support
Director of Finance, WCC and MSAP Divisions (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CA19 June 2019
The company is financially run to hit quarterly targets. Very focused on short term results. The expectation for finance is to meet forecast with minimal variance, and to close the books with no issues. No benefit to additional proactive, ad-hoc work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
I.T. Logic Deployment Technician (Former Employee) –  Irvine, CA6 June 2019
Collaborative environment. Great place. Great people. Learned many new skills. Large projects. Friendly culture. Located in Irvine. Traffic may be bad in the mornings.
Pros
Large environment
Cons
Irvine location.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Company and will get worse
Customer Success Manager (Former Employee) –  San Francisco Bay Area, CA27 May 2019
Terrible Company and will get worse as Broadcom implements their ideas. Poor management, No team atmosphere. No one was willing to share their knowledge for fear of competition and getting laid off.
Pros
None
Cons
Too many to list
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
R&D Design Engineer 2 - Product Lead (Former Employee) –  Bengaluru, Karnataka26 May 2019
Exceptional place to work with a lot of intelligent to ask help from. Need time to grow within the organization and requires patience. THe work life balance is a little out of whack but the compensation is very good right now.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Add this later
Manufacturing Technician III (Current Employee) –  Fort Collins, CO13 May 2019
A typical day at work consists of responding to unplanned down equipment and working on PM's. I work on assignments that are complex in nature and require judgment, initiative, and technical/specialized knowledge to resolve problems and/or develop recommended solutions. I effectively complete the established procedures in a precise and efficient manner, with strict adherence to the documented process and procedure. I use the importance of understanding of robust data driven solutions and key performance metrics utilizing the existing data modules (SQCS, CMMS, data mining/management skills)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
slow-pace company
Engineer intern (Former Employee) –  Sunnyvale, CA10 May 2019
benefit is good, work life balance.every day not busy and follow the group process. company has very good immigration policy.
Even though it is a big level company, faculties are good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Master Design Engineer (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CA10 May 2019
Broadcom is a good company that is located in Silicon Valley with lots of experienced enginneer and managers. They have the state of the art of technology in semiconductor industry.
Pros
Rsu, Bonus
Cons
24 hours on call
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Serious work place
Consultant (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CA6 May 2019
This is a serious place to work and sadly its all work and no play here. But it is not that bad, because hard work pays wel here.Overall a pretty decent placxe to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Continuous cuts while increasing workload
IC Design Engineer (Former Employee) –  Fort Collins, CO24 April 2019
Most engineers I encountered at broadcom were competent and enjoyable to work with. Everyone was very relaxed about flex time, and there was never an issue if you needed to step out of the office for a bit. Work had the potential to be varied, and depending on your manager, there were occasional opportunities to learn new tools and skills (time permitting).

The problem is the workload for the available resources and erosion of any work-life-balance. When the company was LSI, I felt we had enough engineers to release a product we could be proud of. I rarely stayed late, and stressful releases were short with enough time in between to recover. BUT after the purchase by AVAGO and Broadcom name-change, it turned into a highly stressful 24/7 job with a constant lack of resources. Releases were made without telling the verification engineers, Deadlines were agreed to that were impossible, and the feeling of producing a quality product was replaced by constant firefighting caused by tight deadlines and a lack of staff.

Over 4 years, the team I was on went from 9 engineers down to 6 while the workload tripled. It was not uncommon to have meetings at 11pm, and pretty much everyone would be online answering emails and running sims late into the night throughout the week and many weekends. Product re-releases became very frequent eating up any available time.
Cons
Not enough engineers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good compensation and benefits
Material Handler (Current Employee) –  Fort Collins, CO20 April 2019
Provides good compensation and benefit. Overall has maintained a good management team and workplace culture over the years.The hardest part of the job is 12 hour shifts.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workforce expects you to put work ahead of family.
Principal Test Development Engineer (Former Employee) –  Irvine, CA18 April 2019
Good place to work if you are single. "Unlimited vacation" means you will be lucky to get two weeks off during the year. Management has a habit of canceling leave with little notice.
Pros
Excellent learning
Cons
Little vacation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment
Engineering Technician (Former Employee) –  Sunnyvale, CA17 March 2019
During my 4 years working at Broadcom, I found it very enjoyable. We had great staff, management, bosses and coworkers. They provided insurance, and a friendly atmosphere. I would apply here again.
Pros
Free lunch, snacks, friendly people
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Broadcom. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 525 reviews
5171
4221
3100
219
114

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
4.0Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.8Culture