Brotherhood of St Laurence Employee Reviews

Showing all 33 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company that provides all resources of training if needed.
Personal Care Worker (Former Employee) –  Mornington Peninsula VIC13 November 2016
Good communication between work co-ordinators and carers. Salary was very good, petrol paid for travelling between jobs. Always opportunities for further education/learning. Meetings held on a regular basis.
Pros
Always encouraging further personal skills/enhancing your career.
Cons
Lots of paperwork to always fill out.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Store Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Moonee Ponds VIC14 August 2016
Fantastic place to volunteer and the other volunteers are great fun to be with!
Donations are most interesting
Customer service is very important where customers keep returning
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place to be in the whole organisation
Librarian/Cataloguer (Former Employee) –  Frankston VIC18 March 2016
Worked as a volunteer. Wonderful Manager, excellent attitudes and professionalism. I learnt a lot about Dementia and was always encouraged to learn more.
Great people.
Pros
Lots of learning
Cons
No cons. I was very happy there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very rewarding
Chef Manager (Former Employee) –  Clifton Hill VIC16 February 2016
time management is very important
learning to care for the elderly and underprivileged
surportive
very ejoyable to work with
being under staffed
residents enjoying the meals being cooked
Pros
was close to home
Cons
high stress
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun and all the people who worked there were so friendly.
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Bentleigh, VIC12 December 2015
I really enjoyed working here as it was a great experience with awesome people working there. I worked as a volunteer, so I didn't get payed but I still had a great time of course
Pros
really fun
Cons
not able to sit down
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
happy fun caring struture
PCA/Direct Worker/Activity Worker (Former Employee) –  Frankston, VIC14 July 2015
brother hood was a great place to work we seemed like a family we kept up with training my co workers where wonderful to work with .
there was really no hard part of the job every day was different .Every day was enjoyable .well management had a job to do some things questionable,
Pros
great staff plenty training great programs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A proactive organisation that provides quality care and support to its clients
Program Manager South East Region (Former Employee) –  Frankston, VIC12 July 2015
A professional and dedicated organisation with a strong professional and ethical presence. A leader in it's field and a strong and well deserved reputation in it's belief and action in reducing poverty and disadvantage in Australia.
Was this review helpful?Yes 19NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at
Trainer and Assessor (Current Employee) –  Fitzroy, N23 March 2015
The Brotherhood is a very good company to work for,theyre easy to talk to and very helpful.The classes I run are on site and if any questions that may arise are quickly answered by the staff on site.
Pros
People I work with are great.
Cons
1day a fortnight are my hours at present, hoping for more hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
going to stadium to play Soccer with work mate on weekend
Community Safety and Information Officer (Former Employee) –  95 Brunswick Vic28 January 2015
working for Brotherhood is like working family house everyone look after each a there. we use to shire food on one table with my Supervise and team mates.it not about shirring food in that time we talk about allot of things even work. from this job i learn about Feed back and how to dell with different beavers there is Resist People we face all the time and before the get in the building the have to come on the Boot where we mack People Sign in but there just say bad things but i tack that its part of a ware job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 20Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace environment
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Melbourne, VIC23 November 2014
Busy
fun environment
different environment
different customer oriented
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace with friendly management
Voluntary Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Melbourne VIC24 September 2012
I only work every Wednesday as a voluntary receptionist, I learned a lot of things like answering telephone calls with etiquette, preparing power point presentations, greeting the customers assisting other members in the workplace. To my co workers they are friendly people since I'm from Philippines I don't feel hard to be friends with them. They are so understanding and they help me if there is some tasks that I don't understand. I didn't experience any hard job at Brotherhood of St. Laurence.The most enjoyable part of my job is giving me a tasks about Microsoft office for example creating excel, typing documents and creating power point presentation and some brochures and invitations using publisher.
Pros
free wifi, free coffee
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working with the Aged
Assessment and Carer Support Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Frankston19 September 2012
great place to work with the aged and those who have dementia
Pros
great staff
Cons
not enough hours given for job role
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Brotherhood of St Laurence. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 33 reviews
515
412
34
21
11

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
4.1Culture

Brotherhood of St Laurence Reviews by Location