CALCO TIMBERS
2.6 out of 5 stars.
Receive weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

11: CALCO TIMBERS Employee Reviews

Review this company
Job Title
All
Location
Australia11 reviews

Ratings by category

3.0Work–Life Balance

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Showing all 11 reviews

In fighting amongst workers

Indeed Featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
I personally didn't enjoy it at all having a lot of heavy lifting to do was not for me also a highly fast paced workplace the staff i worked with were all very ignorant

Pros

Got paid

Cons

Unexpected expectations
Was this review helpful?

Reviews speak volumes

Well it is all well in good for an employee to leave a business and then begin to bad mouth it online or to other people, my initial experience working at calco trusses and timber, at least in the First 8 to 12 month was filled with opportunities to learn under a manager who truly knew what he was talking about and had the best interests for not only the company but the employees. Subsequently to that, upon hiring a new manager the morale around the workplace and specifically within the office began to plummet. Now well I cannot say this on behalf of anyone else as that would be defamation of character I can say this from my perspective that I felt constantly underappreciated, overlooked and above all else underpaid especially given the role that I was employed in. All of this being said the family that owns the business are fantastic and they know about the product that they sell and do their best to provide the best service to their customers, the general manager on the other hand only knows numbers and only cares about the bottom line (Yes this can be a positive attribute in a general manager, but that must be combined with interpersonal skills). If you are content with a wage of $21.95/hour before taxes(I doubt it has increased) and being constantly micro managed by an individual who knows nothing about the product that he is speaking about then by all means apply for a job in the office at Calco.THAY BEING SAID IT CAN BE A FANTASTIC OPPORTUNITY AS A JUMPING OFF POINT IF YOU DO WHAT YOU NEED TO.

Pros

Some great staff members and a womderful family

Cons

Low pay, unkind general manager
Was this review helpful?

Official response from CALCO TIMBERS

10 January 2022
Thank you for your comments as a former employee. We do see Calco as a strong base to learn about timber building products, either as a platform into the industry or the starting or continuance of a career within the business. Many staff members who have worked at Calco have successfully returned after trying other things or places. The ownership is passionate about the business and a long standing community employer.Pay rates are industry based on the role being performed and the level it is being performed at. In reference to the comments of a GM, one role of a GM is to provide structure around the business. This includes the hiring of expertise and experience to ensure that all aspect of the product offer are covered, along with yes, delivering profitability, which in turn provides future reinvestment, stability and security for the employees and customers. At times, this means assessment of performance, increase in expectations and in some cases change. This is the reality of senior management and why some are able and others are not, or do not wish to. In finalizing this response, yes its easy to get on line with anonymity to make comments about individuals. It seems ironic, however that the the criticisms around levels of kindness have not been afforded by the writer.Greg Taylor General Manager Calco Trusses and Timber

Horrible place to work

As an employee I find all the negative post to be true. The safety standards are terrible management practices are abominable. They miss lead staff. They bully staff into signing paperwork that is not in the employees best interests. Of course they always refute these claims stating that the staff were or are disgruntled when in actual fact they are just a terrible company to work for

Pros

none

Cons

list to long to write
Was this review helpful?

Official response from CALCO TIMBERS

22 November 2021
Thank you for this review.Safety is taken very seriously with many compliance and operational activities in place. These include pre employment induction and D & A testing, SOP reviews, Tool box meetings and a thorough reporting system for near misses and incidents, all backed by a Full time safety co ordinater who is actively present around the site. Safety performance is constantly measured to gauge improvements, either by improved machinery or trained practices. Worksafe Vic are actively aware of Calco's processes, procedures and activities Staff are not forced to sign paperwork at any stage, rather provided opportunity to discuss issues with supervisors or managers. The outcomes are documented for fairness for both the staff member and the Co.

Excellent modern manufacturing facility

Fantastic family business to work for. Company is continuously improving the manufacturing facility, with new quality machines being purchased every year. Safety of staff is priority number one for the company. Great group of employees and the management team are awesome!

Pros

Early Friday knock off

Cons

None
Was this review helpful?

Official response from CALCO TIMBERS

20 April 2021
Thank you for your positive thoughts regarding your time at Calco. We work very hard at maintaining safety standards, updating machinery and staff engagement. The management are part of the team and work this way on a daily basis.

Terrible Company

Terrible company to work for, Employees are treated like rubbish, Management are absolutely Terrible, Very hight turn over of staff which Indicates what its like to work in a place were no respect is given. Unfortunately Management thinks that everyone is replaceable, OH&S doesn't exist, Terrible pay rates. Yard is dangerous half unpaved with forklifts carry dangerous loads.

Pros

none

Cons

the hole.job
Was this review helpful?

Official response from CALCO TIMBERS

19 October 2020
Without going into the statements made on this post, its unfortunate that any person can get on line and make unsubstantiated claims about any Co without putting their name to it. Generally its those who choose not to work within the expectations of any Company and do the right thing are those that yes, are replaced, as any business needs all staff to work together to achieve its goals

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Good place to work, always got paid.

Worked for Calco for about 4 years. Found the management to have good expectations and are very strong on safety. The work is steady as the Co has grown a lot.

Pros

Early finish on Fridays, weekly pay always on time

Cons

Old site, can get muddy
Was this review helpful?

Would never go back

Would never go back and work for them again, not a good place to work for, a high staff turn over and low wages, no respect for the workers and can not be trusted
Was this review helpful?

Official response from CALCO TIMBERS

10 December 2019
Thank You for this feedback. The Company is appreciative of our drivers, understanding the work they do is difficult and requires a different skill set. At all times we encourage dialogue with our drivers via Tool Box meetings, reporting mechanisms and general discussion under our safety system. The management also performs these tasks at times so are well in tune to what is required. We endeavour to pay fair wages, including Paid Overtime and meal allowances

Productive and good place to work

Great group of guys to work with everyone is keen to help you out and show you around and get you trained up to be running machines Great family owned business.

Pros

Half day friday

Cons

None
Was this review helpful?

Official response from CALCO TIMBERS

10 December 2019
Thank You for this feedback.We endeavour to ensure that all staff are trained to the job they are doing and yes the short day on a Friday is something that the staff enjoy and came about after consultation with the workforce.We are always looking for better ways to improve our conditions

Good early finish. Horrible culture.

-Docked pay if targets aren't reached (targets are not regularly reachable due to machine faults or management disruption) -Absolutely zero chance for advancement. -Management/Supervisors are lazy, unreasonable and do anything they can to stop employees from joining the union. As a result they then dropped all staff a pay grade. -A perfectly clean workplace is enforced in the name of safety and tidiness though when an actual safety issue arises its met with "Just get it done"

Pros

Early finish/start

Cons

Everything else
Was this review helpful?

Official response from CALCO TIMBERS

10 December 2019
Thank you for this feedbackUnfortunately, the claims made in this post are untrue. It is illegal to "dock" pays and this would not be a consideration of the Company at any time.Pay rates are set by agreement and staff are assessed against determined criteria. Housekeeping is a high priority and production is stopped early every day to ensure a cleanup time is allowedCalco Timbers encourages advancement for people who perform well and there are currently several instances of this within the Co at present

poor place to work - i would not recommend

no training poor communication shocking management structure ordinary salary long hours expected poor working conditions sub standard setup in general
Was this review helpful?

Official response from CALCO TIMBERS

10 December 2019
Thank You for this feedback.Calco Timbers continue to work at providing improved employment conditions and more recently ( after this post ) have built a purpose-built modern office for our detailing and administration staff. We also continue to add to our management team to ensure all staff are fully trained and understand the expectations of the Co.

Happy staff meant happy customers.

Calco was a wonderfull work enviroment, astronge team backed by supportive managment. Safety for staff and customers was always 1st priority. The buissness thrived , i believe due to a well working team.

Pros

learning many diffrent skills..
Was this review helpful?

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CALCO TIMBERS. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

Based on 11 reviews

Ratings by category

3.0 out of 5 stars for Work/Life Balance
2.4 out of 5 stars for Salary/Benefits
2.5 out of 5 stars for Job Security/Advancement
2.5 out of 5 stars for Management
2.5 out of 5 stars for Culture

CALCO TIMBERS Reviews by Location

  • Companies
  • CALCO TIMBERS
  • Employee Reviews