Caltex Australia Management reviews

Found 118 reviews matching the search See all 356 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stimulating and enjoyable
Manager (Former Employee) –  Rockhampton QLD24 January 2018
As manager I was responsible for the daily running of very busy store. I was in control of all facets of the business from Budgets to rostering and team management. I also was responsible for all stock issues.
Pros
Very Satifising
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overworked and underpaid for essentially management work
Console Operator (Current Employee) –  Katoomba NSW6 January 2018
While working here I was not taught anything and was expected to learn everything on my own, only my coworkers were helpful as my manager had made nothing clear to me.
the workload is completely unmanageable as we had 15 minute change-overs between workers leaving no time to actually get anything done.

As far as i can see this is an isolated case as other Caltex establishments have larger change-overs between shifts and that this was a case of poor management.
Pros
free coffee
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Focus on profit
Accounts Receivable Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Lytton QLD8 December 2017
Company focused on profit more so that the culture within the company. Reshuffle people out of jobs during corporate restructures putting people in management positions that know little on how the customers need to be handled in order to get the cash flow in when chasing amount due and overdue debt. The focus on profit has meant that a lot of staff have left due to their roles being changed to include more responsibility without the training or support.
Pros
Caltex StarCard.
Cons
Has gone through one restructure a couple of years ago, and now going through another one
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent management
Night Services Station Attendant (Former Employee) –  Caboolture QLD29 November 2017
I was under the supervision of an excellent manager but dishonest employee's and being held up definitely took a toll on my mental health which I am only just overcoming
Pros
Excellent management, Good work life balance
Cons
Being Held up, Dishonest Employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and lively place
Customer Service Attendant (Current Employee) –  Applecross WA29 November 2017
Caltex has been pretty fun and lively place to work at. I get to meet many different customers and sometimes engage in good conversations with them. At times there can be few problems while dealing with customers but, the friendly environment and management overshadows those negative aspects.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Cashier Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Coolgardie WA29 November 2017
a typacal day would include the regular cleaning of nthe bathroom, a daily clean of the fuel pumps and basic restock of shelves, along with mopping and other basic duties. i learned that the easy way isnt always the right way and i also learnt how to propperly clean the deep fryers, there were complex software systems on the cash registers that took a while to learn but that took aprok a month, the rest was easy and came naturally. the management was good, he always had me working, and he made sure thad i was doing everything correctly, along with helping out with the customer service on the busy days., the culture was desireable, with everyone getting along on most days with the exeption of one person who shall remain un named. the hardest part of the job was night shift, i was regularly on night shift apart from weekends, they were my afternoon shifts, whitch made it a little hard for my sleeping patterns and scotial life. the most enjoyable part was helping my customers, i knew what they wanted and they were happy when i gave them better deals than what they came for, eg, buying 2 small dares for $8 when there was a deal foe 2 large dares for $7, more fore less, but it was a good experience
Cons
worked 6 days a week
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s been a great time working at caltex and fresh selectjob is because of clashing of shifts,both has friendly managemen
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Leppington NSW19 October 2017
Have to be focused on the job,part of cleanliness is first priority,have to handle the pressure when it gets busy,Rules and regulations are strict,both have friendly staff and safety management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Fuel Tanker Driver (Former Employee) –  Mackay QLD4 October 2017
An excellent job. Thoroughly enjoyed it, but extremely poor management in Mackay Depot.

Great equipment to drive Kenworth 609.

Met some real great mates there
Pros
Good roster, good equipment, and good remuneration
Cons
Bad Management in Mackay Depot ie: Inability to hire right people for the job
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work.
CSA (Current Employee) –  Slacks Creek QLD10 September 2017
Management staff are great to work for. I enjoy the team environment. Always work to the best of my ability. I am reliable, energetic friendly hard working person. Always enjoy a challenge.
Pros
Get paid
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive but a very tedious job
Customer service (Former Employee) –  Burleigh Heads QLD7 September 2017
Tedious and long, not too exciting but a job is a job. the workplace culture is great, not many staff perks like discounts or anything. the management of the store is good
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alot of pressure
Front counter and Console Operator (Former Employee) –  Drysdale VIC7 September 2017
Arrive....count till....count float....count cash box.
Order milk,pies, sandwiches,
Clean constantly..sweep outside....
Temp checks.....
Face up stock
All while serving customers.

I learned to multi task....receive and order stock.


On your feet all shift with no breaks

Most enjoyable part of job was interacting with other staff.

Please note......its now under new management
Pros
Close to home
Cons
No work breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
is a good place to work
Customer service (Current Employee) –  Gracemere QLD3 September 2017
The hours can be difficult , but if you do your job you get paid for your services , it's nice to work here , management is goodto work for , only sometimes does another team member let the side down , this can make a shift hard. The hardest part is trying to complete shift tasks when you are on your own.
Pros
free meal from onsite made foods
Cons
standing for long periods
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff were very friendly and i enjoyed my time there
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Forrestdale WA29 August 2017
When I first started with the company they were very good to their CSAs but as time went on it became more about profit and shareholders and not staff or customer service
Pros
The customers (regulars) and staff i worked with
Cons
Hours being cut, and same amount of work expected, and the management, and their total disregard for their staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW28 August 2017
Our General Manager said we are not having fun.

Forever changing working environment due to company restructure every 3 years. High management turnover.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Long hours and weekend work required
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was good company to work for.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Seven Hills NSW22 August 2017
I worked for Caltex start mart for 5.5 years and overall I am happy with the job and management, The environment and staff were friendly and very helpful, Thanks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunities
Mechanical Fitter (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD30 July 2017
A great company to work for, like the long hours and have never had any troubes with the management or fellow co workers.
Look forward to working for the company again
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Friendly Environment
Store Manager (Full-time) (Former Employee) –  Rydalmere NSW18 July 2017
Excellent Workplace.
Multiple duties.
Staff management.
Cash Handling.
Customer Complaints.
Safety.
Promotions.
Stock Management,
Sales.
KPI.
Meet sales targets.
Pros
Flexible Days
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bubbly nature running work done like athlete workout
Customer associate (Former Employee) –  Esperance WA8 July 2017
it was an amazing time at work learn about how to communicate with customers , met so many type of people at work place. I learnt so many new things at workplace like how to authorise customers about fuel filling , how to serve them, main thing is management of time and work.The hardest part of job for me is when i didn't get any customer and so many drive offs and shoplifters as well come to our fuel station.
Pros
get together with boss and team members
Cons
drive off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
7 Area Manager in 2 years
Area Manager (Former Employee) –  Tamworth NSW19 June 2017
Overbearing systems, ill directed focus on safety. Very disappointed I was unable to manage upwards to achieve standards required.
Poor maintenance standards on fuel trucks and storage facilities. Lack of willingness to look after existing customers.
Pros
Good employees
Cons
Poor Management and systems.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast, effective environment
Kitchen Hand/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Collie WA13 June 2017
working here was hard. i was 13 and the workplace environment was quick and of high standards. the management was great. always there to help everyone. i learnt how to deal with different customers everyday
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Caltex Australia. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 356 reviews
5130
4115
374
221
116

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.7Culture