Camp Australia
3.0 out of 5 stars.
Write a review

Camp Australia Employee Reviews

Review this company
Job Title
All
Location
Australia182 reviews

Ratings by category

3.3Work–Life Balance

Search reviews

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 182 reviews matching the searchSee all 186 reviews

Friendly, fun, and helpful atmosphere with considerate staff!

Indeed Featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
There is a good workplace culture at Camp Australia. The culture is like helping you improve, and it is done in a very friendly and supportive way. The best part is you get all the support in a fun place. You work, you learn, you make money, and you enjoy your time working.Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Camp Australia

11 December 2022
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback! We are thrilled to read you enjoy working at CA as we are dedicated to making it the best place for you, to do the work you love. Thanks Camp Australia

Exploitative Culture

The culture is very exploitative and toxic. Support from upper management is non-existent. They guilt casual employees into being the backbone of each service, refuse to offer permanent contracts regardless of length or quality of employment, refuse to give training "because we're so shortstaffed", and then throw them under the bus when government audits happen. You will see at least 2 undertrained and overworked staff at each service - only 2 because due to the latest restructuring, the labour budget has been reduced dramatically which has resulted in overstaff and Individual Support educators being scrapped. They use government ratios to the absolute bare minimum at the detriment to both the children and the staff. They cheap out on equipment so that the Executives can have more profit. They change your shifts suddenly and with little to no notice, then blame other staff members for booking time off or getting sick (especially COVID). They double book casuals and blame the casuals for staffing mistakes. They refuse to give anybody under the Coordinator position a permanent employment contract, despite it being better for the staff, children and their families. Their culture is one of "good luck getting your mandatory break. You need to stay back and finish paperwork/cleaning/etc. and we refuse to pay you for this." When you complain about this to management, they listen to you, nod their head empathetically, and then take you off the roster in retaliation, despite chronic understaffing. The turnover everywhere is incredibly high because when they get someone who cares enough - 

Pros

Working with children is rewarding

Cons

Long hours, unpaid overtime, cruel management
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Camp Australia

23 January 2023
Hello, and thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. It is unfortunate this has been your experience and we are sorry to hear this.Our educators and coordinators are the heart of CA, and we are working hard to ensure all our team members experience a supportive environment, where they are recognised for the awesome work they do. It is disappointing to hear this has not been your experience.Our service delivery teams are doing their best to support their team members in what has been a challenging time with workforce shortages and high demand. We do have a casual workforce to support us and there is an element to the casual nature of employment where a team member can take offered shifts or refuse them, which can be challenging to fill last minute. CA employs our coordinators on permanent contracts and we are absolutely committed to moving towards a more permanent workforce overall.We strongly encourage you to speak with your manager regarding your concerns, however, your other escalation options are to speak to your General Manager or your People & Culture team. While we are disheartened to hear your feedback, we appreciate you sharing your experience and value your input. We encourage you to reach out to us to discuss ways to improve together. Kind regards Camp Australia

Camp Australia insights

Based on 4 survey responses
What people like
  • Overall satisfaction
  • Ability to learn new things
  • Feeling of personal appreciation
Areas for improvement
  • Support from manager
  • Ability to meet personal goals
  • Inclusive work environment

Fun workplace

Camp Australia is a great place to work..They listen to our ideas and support us fully in futhering our study if we want to. I love the activities that we create for the children in our care. And we thrive on having fun

Pros

Split shifts, fun, friendly staff

Cons

I can't think of any!
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Camp Australia

12 December 2022
Hello, Thank you for your feedback, and 5 star review! We are dedicated to making Camp Australia the place where you can do the work you love, so are thrilled to read your review.If you know of anyone else that would love to work here too, we would love for you to invite them to join! We also do have the referral bonus of $300 if your referral successfully complete 3 months as part of the team! ThanksRachel

Productive and fun work environment and resposiblity

Over all I love to work and needs to increase the pay raise because we are working with honest and effective work with, children, parents and community.

Pros

Free uniforms and jacket

Cons

increase pay
Was this review helpful?

Fun, relaxed and collaborative workplace

I have always enjoyed working with children but of course, I am also working with other adults. I find that the staff are thoughtful and cooperative, especially for those of us who are new to the job.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Camp Australia

12 December 2022
Hello, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and a 5-star review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoy your working culture and team, especially working with children. We are committed to fostering an environment where everyone can thrive, especially providing the support necessary for our new team members! Thanks Camp Australia.

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Fast paced, enjoyable and everyone is kind

Only starting this week, Camp Australia has taught me how they work as a team and welcome in everyone that is new. I have enjoyed my experience thus far and am excited to continue my journey within this industry.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Camp Australia

12 December 2022
Hello, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and a 5-star review! It is great to hear that you are enjoying your onboarding. We are committed to our teams growth and development and look forward to supporting you and your career! Kind regards, Camp Australia

A toxic workplace

The best people have gone. I wouldn't ask my worst enemy to work there. HR do not protect the staff, only the managers. All talk and no care. Lots of issues with pay and fairwork also. Parents need to check bills and staff their payslips.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Camp Australia

4 December 2022
Hello, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are disheartened to hear your feedback. Camp Australia strives to ensure a safe and supportive environment where everyone is treated fairly and with respect and are sorry that this was not your experience. Thank you for bringing these matters to our attention. We will do our best to address them and improve for the future. We wish you all the best in your next chapter.

Productive & Fun Workplace

Loved working with children in this industry and the staff were great to work with. Pay is alright but I applied for a Casual position and I worked like it was Full Time because other staff men ever kept cancelling and weren’t available till last minute.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Camp Australia

27 November 2022
Hello, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It is great to hear you enjoy working with children, we think this is extremely rewarding too! We work hard every day to ensure we have the right team members in the right place at the right time, and thank you for picking up those extra shifts - we appreciate it! We wish you all the best in your future career and thank you for working with us at Camp Australia. Kind regards, Camp Australia

Good place for people looking for part time work

overall it's a good place for uni students looking for part-time work and helps to get experience.Not much to share about negative things but good things are about the company provides. Good training and career growth are available.Nice for young staff to work and study at the same time.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Camp Australia

27 November 2022
Hello, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It is great to hear you enjoyed your time with us, and agree that the hours we offer are great to work around study commitments. We wish you all the best in your future career and thank you for working with us at Camp Australia.

Unfortunately a stressful job

Enjoyed working with children part of the job but had little support when things became difficult: lack of professional support staff, administration part became too much for one person to keep up with whilst trying to look after many children on your own. When Incidents occurred, not much clear direction in how to deal with issues.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Camp Australia

18 September 2022
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed working with children and are sorry to hear you didn't have the support you needed. We will share your feedback accordingly and keep at it too improve. We wish you the best on your future career. Kind regards, Camp Australia

The company lives the values of recognition, encouragement and support

It's not often you genuinely love everyday at work, but I can say that about Camp Australia! The team, opportunities, support, and work is beyond brilliant. Higher ups are encouraging and do whatever they can to help, the professional development opportunities are accessible across all levels of the businesss and as someone who is working in Head Office I know that the employee experience for all staff is at front of mind. I highly recommend working at Camp Australia, I wish I'd started sooner!
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Camp Australia

11 September 2022
Hello, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and a 5-star review! We are delighted to hear of your experience and all of the opportunities afforded to you! We are thrilled to have you apart of the CA team and wish you had started sooner too! Kind regards, Camp Australia

The job is fun and creative and also rewarding on a personal level

The Head Office team and management are running two completely different businesses. Being proactive and choosing to put your service first is best advised. Staff are pulled from the gutter for work, as the pay is good and the responsibility and workload is of such small consequence to some hired.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Camp Australia

29 August 2022
Hello, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and a 5-star review! We are delighted to hear that you thought your job was fun, creative and rewarding. We thank you for your feedback.Kind regards, Camp Australia

I like working with Camp Australia

It’s nice to work with kids, they are innocent and loveable. Small kids are easy to handle but some of older kids don’t get along. A strong management or manager is required in some services.
Was this review helpful?

Job is ok and good salary

No security of work .. work is not stressful..Its fun working with children But coordinators of almost all the service act like big boss . They don not work except paper work.Even though they have time and extra staff they like to sit and pretend to be busy . Educators do all the work preparing and serving snack and standing all the time superviaing children and when ten minutes before the shift finish they are asked to do do the dishes ..
Was this review helpful?

Worst place to work !

Stressful! No team work ! Lack of communication between teams! Under paid ! As a coordinator I worked long hours and sometimes had to do paperwork at home ! It was stressful! No support !
Was this review helpful?

Some staff are great

Management unrealistic, resources limited, call centre overseas and they don't care unless you are unable to attend your shift due to an unforseen incident then you will be lectured, degraded and issued a written warning.

Pros

Some great staff and kids

Cons

The Company
Was this review helpful?

Productive workplace if you have the right management it’s great

New take over and management left many without jobs l! Was excellent till new management took over and many lost jobs in the process - becoming a bigger corp they let go of the middle men who were there for years without considering growth values

Pros

Hours

Cons

Too much work not enough time
Was this review helpful?

Fun and rewarding work, but not enough hours

My time at Camp Australia was extremely fun and rewarding. However, unless you commit and strive for a leader or management position, you do not get enough hours to pay bills. It is an excellent job for anyone who is new to childcare and wants to get a bit of experience under their name before finding something more permanent and full-time.

Pros

Free food, have fun while working

Cons

Not enough hours to pay bills
Was this review helpful?

Busy and intense

I had a difficult time with camp Australia. I was offered a postion in 2017 at a school that wanted camp Australia off their premises. The school were looking to employ another B&ASC facility because they were not happy both school staff and some of the parents of the children enrolled in the program with camp Australia. I was employed by Camp Australia not knowing that there was this problem between CA and the school. I was treated badly by CA because I was taken in to a situation that was not working and that was in trouble. Staff of the school particularly the principal treated me badly and so did some of the parents of the children in my care and I couldn't understand why. It didn't take long for the issues arising between CA, the school and parents to manifest. This was the worst employment I have ever experienced. I was lead into something that was in a mess and I was not told by CA that these problems exsisted.

Pros

free lunches, play resources, art and craft materials, sports equipment, spacious venue, first aid equipment, healthy food choices, experienced staff

Cons

minimal staffing, long hours, complaint procedures, unacceptable behavior of the children in care, untrained staff members, racism toward staff members from parents and school staff
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Camp Australia

24 January 2022
HelloThank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It was great to hear that you found the resources we provide for children a positive but disappointing to hear about your the lack of relationship building you experienced at many levels. We know our team are our most valuable asset and are working to build a supportive and positive work culture. We will continue to develop and improve our employee experience.Thank youCamp Australia

Overall good experience

I worked at camp Aus a while ago, while their uniform was still blue color. Overall was good experience for my first job landed in Australia and I am grateful for that. Able to choose shift so flexible and good work life balance. Good pay as well even tho was split shift outside school holiday I was able to make enough for living. What I didn't like was a lot of times my pay was incorrect or I didn't get pay for some shifts because the coordinator made mistakes etc. Also was put on permanent location that took 1 hour more to travel for 2 HR shift could be quite unreasonable. Met some lovely people and team tho who stay friends with me to this day. Overall would like to just provide feedback and thank Camp Australia for the opportunity.

Pros

Flexible, bearable work

Cons

2 hr shift, travel time long, error pay
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Camp Australia

24 January 2022
HelloThank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It is great to hear we were your first working experience in Australia and that you still have friends who started as your CA colleagues. Please consider us again if you would like to come back to the education industry!Thank youCamp Australia

Very poor management, lots of politics, favouritism. RM's approach is very rude and not professional .

Rude RM, favouritism, finding faults with coordinator, Poor working atmosphere with inadequate working tools. very stressful, negative workplace. There is no respect between staffs. I am so fortunate to resigned from this company and got a very good job with awesome people around and absolutely positive experience. I never recommend anyone to work with this company, especially under that RM in the South Perth area. Very negative, stressful atmospheres

Pros

None

Cons

Not enough space and working tools, poor management, favouritism, politics, negative comments about other staffs, blaming staffs infront of other staffs and children, no privacy concerns
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Camp Australia

24 January 2022
HiThank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It was disappointing to hear about your the lack of relationship building you experienced. We know our team are our most valuable asset and are working to build a supportive and positive work culture. We will continue to develop and improve our employee experience.Thank youCamp Australia

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Camp Australia. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

Based on 186 reviews

Ratings by category

3.3 out of 5 stars for Work/Life Balance
3.0 out of 5 stars for Salary/Benefits
2.7 out of 5 stars for Job Security/Advancement
2.6 out of 5 stars for Management
2.9 out of 5 stars for Culture

Compare Camp Australia with

Learn about Camp Australia in popular locations

  • Companies
  • Camp Australia
  • Employee Reviews
Tell us how to improve this page
What would you add or change?