Centacare Employee Reviews

Showing all 31 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Judgemental
Case worker (Former Employee) –  Adelaide SA16 February 2019
Terrible back stabbing staff judgemental and smiling assasins
They smile and stab you in the back
Put clients at risk of harm
Dont question the manager or youll be sacked
Pros
Clients
Cons
Manager
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job Work/Life Balance
Childcare Educator (Former Employee) –  Deception Bay QLD4 November 2018
The team at Centacare have a great work lifs balance and understanding that sometimes you need to take tiem out for life.
I've been with the company for 4 years now and love my job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience for student teachers.
Educator (Current Employee) –  Brisbane QLD28 October 2018
A typical day involved preparing and planning out the afternoons and weeks ahead as to what activities the children would be taking part in. This assisted me in planning for a variety of needs and situation which has helped better prepare me for organisation in the classroom.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and caring workplace
Volunteer care taker and assistant (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD2 June 2018
Very considerate and nurturing environment.
Learned a lot of valuable skills from staff and knowledge from clients.
Workplace culture is fun, enthusiastic and efficient.
Pros
Free meals
Cons
Extensive attention required towards clients
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working within centacare
Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Hervey Bay QLD21 February 2018
Centacare was a great learning curb for me and my co workers were a great support within work and also outside of work.. When I faced workplace challenges I was provided woth correct skills and person to assist me in the right direction.
Pros
Always learning something new
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Disability Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD3 January 2018
Hit the ground running
time management
management are flexible and most of the time understanding
most of the staff are great to work with
long hours
spending quality time with the clients
Pros
pay
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I believe to hold a position is the Social Service sector should always be client focused, however did not find this the case with Centacare.
CASE MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Adelaide Metro SA6 November 2017
Working along side of clients could be very challenging, however in saying this absolutely rewarding.

I learned appreciating my life and assisting those that were not so fortunate for what ever the circumstance in their lives at present I was there to support, assist and most importantly to empower all persons from different walks of life.

I believe upper management was not always client focused.

Continuity for funding or lack of it, is a large part of the role.

Working alongside of clients to empower, support and assist.

Empowering others to make informed decisions and positive choices in their lives.
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional, support work environment
Disability Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Brisbane, Australia9 September 2017
Centacare has a brilliant culture among staff and management. Support from management in this line of work is crucial to the wellbeing and longevity of the staff and Centacare are excellent in regards to client and staff wellbeing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Domestic Violence (Current Employee) –  Emerald QLD7 September 2017
Busy need to be flexible, deal with crisis be prepared to change direction
Something new comes through the door every day
Good
Getting better
I enjoy my work don't really find anything too difficult
Going to work
Pros
Good work environment
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun to work for
Disability Carer (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD23 May 2017
I loved being everywhere. Doing all different stuff. Did'nt need to know what you were doing. All was shown how to do and you just did it. I worked for different companies doing on call work as needed. Very good experience.
Pros
Company's were good
Cons
hours were great
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity
Disability Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Kingaroy QLD29 March 2017
Centacare was a great place to work, clients were all wonderful people, I have taken so much from this job, learning about those with disabilities, great place
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Community Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Townsville QLD21 October 2016
As a Casual, never can rely on hours and pay each fortnight.
would like to be part time so can have paid holidays and other benefits.
I like working with people and I enjoy a challenge.
Pros
Nice management
Cons
Never finish some shifts on time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Care support worker (Current Employee) –  Hervey Bay QLD21 August 2016
The line managers created problems that weren't there. ....unfair with rosters, punished if questioned rosters ( by giving even less shifts) the organization is great and the CEO is a good person! The Hervey Bay office lets the organization down terribly! !
Would not recommend working at Hervey Bay ....but world recommend the organization!
Pros
Clients and collegues
Cons
Poor pay bullying from management
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working
Customer and staff support officer (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD14 July 2016
Fast paced industry and highly stressful but assisting clients achieve their goals is well worth all the hard work.
Managers are to busy to creative a supportive environment for staff, at the end of the day we are there for the community and the aged clients and clients living with a disability. This is rewarding.
Pros
The clients
Cons
No support from management
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
close of enviroment
Disabilty Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Currimundi QLD2 May 2016
Unfortunatley the environment I work at is closing so I require seeking a new job.
I enjoyed working for my client and with my collegues, of course with the closing of the environment by the government I am disappointed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Trauma Counsellor (CQSA) & Child Counsellor (Former Employee) –  Emerald QLD14 March 2016
Friendly Admin Staff
Program Manager extremely focussed, experienced and supportive
Fantastic Professional Supervision
Fantastic opportunities to attend training
Pros
pleasant atmosphere - can be very busy - rewarding work
Cons
unsure
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Assist individuals (Current Employee) –  brisbane queensland24 October 2015
I love working for this company but there is not enough work for me to live on most of the time, small shifts eg two hours only
Pros
none
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disappointing.
Contractor - Business Administration (Former Employee) –  Hobart, TAS28 September 2015
The Willson Training Group (WTG) had successfully achieved several Government grants in 2014 to continue their operation and I was invited to assist with streamlining administrative systems for this group. The outcomes were challenged by WTG's budget and they did not seem to have required leadership, course strategies, communications and collateral in place to develop their successfully tendered for programs. Some employee contracts were cancelled at the end of a three month probation style period. The training school closed and my contract concluded. Centacare (now Catholic Care) has a CEO that seemed to be focussed on a quest to develop lower socio-economic housing projects. Stemming from my corporate and marketing and management experience plus my dynamic work ethic and approach to goal setting, I was very disappointed for the students and the communication via team leaders plus the long-term nepotistic culture during my short term business contract administration term at Centacare. Thank you for this opportunity to share information in confidence.
Pros
Government funded training initiatives for new Australians, low socio-economic and vocational pathways.
Cons
Lacked the leadership required for super successful outcomes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, Great bosses, fun place to work.
Community Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Hervey Bay26 August 2015
Fun place to work, was satisfying as I got to make a difference in people with a disability lives. The bosses were great and I felt looked after. Co-workers were great - relaxed environment but very efficient.
Pros
Relaxed atmosphere and great place to work
Cons
Income wasn't very high
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 4Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I don't like it
Community Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Ningi, QLD14 May 2015
The job itself was great but the higher staff weren't so great I didn't like the end result of my termination
I did learn alot from the job itself which was never the issue. Just the way i was treated that was my only issue
Was this review helpful?Yes 38No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Centacare. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 31 reviews
512
412
35
21
11

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.6Culture