Charcoal Chicken Employee Reviews

Found 26 reviews matching the search See all 31 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Liverpool NSW8 October 2018
charcoal chicken restaurant gave me many new skills such as waitressing dealing with food in the kitchen, a day filled with new faces is surely fun, yet tiring as there are many responsibilities. i learnt time management as well as skills such as dealing with tough customers and waitressing which is something new, hardest part of the job would probably be ensuring every table is satisfied as it is a big restaurant and more than waiter is needed. i loved working there as i had great company along with me
Pros
free lunch
Cons
security wasnt strong
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Charcoal chicken
Kitchen hand (Former Employee) –  Hoppers Crossing VIC9 August 2018
Was a good paying job, helped me learn some good new skills i can take with me into my future, and all the staff were very helpful and delightful, would 100% recommend Applying!
Pros
Short hours
Cons
No cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great atmoshphere
Manager (Former Employee) –  perth wa6 April 2018
the best family owned business ive ever worked for. I started working as a kitchen hand and worked my self up to managing the kitchen. it was a friendly environment learnt all my food process and handiling at charcoal chicken they had great training team as well
Pros
free food
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning abd confidence builder
Chef and Service (Former Employee) –  Mount Barker SA21 January 2018
It was a great environment which allowed me to grow within the business and also within myself. I learnt more with every shift, for example to Stockdale and order stock when needed, close of shop and end of days takings along with banking.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working
Fish and Chip (Former Employee) –  New South Wales17 December 2017
Didn't enjoy this job at all. I was work long hours, by myself. There was no friendly face. But for a first job, it was good. It showed me how to get things done and even though you don't enjoy it you still have to complete it with the best of your ability
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and welcoming environment
Worker (Current Employee) –  South Morang VIC12 December 2017
It is very easy to learn how to make the food and serve costumers.. The food is fresh and healthy. The manager is very kind and patient. She values how the workers are feeling and listens to what they have to say.
Pros
free food
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great training
Team member (Former Employee) –  Endeavour Hills VIC6 December 2017
Boss trains you there, so he passes all the experience onto you, it's a simple job, easy to learn and mistakes are forgivable.
Downsides are, there's no option for any salary raises, the job is boring, there's not much to do.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace very friendly
Cook/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Long Jetty NSW26 November 2017
It was a great and friendly place to work at very professional and the other workers were great to be around and very helpful, the pay was alright could have been better
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Customer service hospitality (Former Employee) –  Goulburn NSW3 October 2017
Great place to work. Everyone had their own jobs but also shared responsibilities.i learnt a lot working here and I would highly reccomend working here
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production
Facilities Assistant/ Cook (Former Employee) –  Hoppers Crossing VIC8 June 2017
this is not a typical day job because the salary to low
workplace is small but easy to clean after work
the hardest part of the job is you stand beside the charcoal
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and busy
All Rounder (Former Employee) –  Ramsgate Beach NSW3 May 2017
I likes working here it was close to home, great boss, easy going, can get busy like the area near the beach, workers helpful, great food liked my job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place with charkos
cashier/kitchenhand (Former Employee) –  Perth WA25 March 2017
everything you expect from a kitchen, beautiful yummy delicious ribs and awesome Portuguese chickens with unbelievably creative salad styles, one of the best fast food units ever.

great background atmosphere with high tech gear for washing and cleaning.
Pros
you get free food
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent experience
Tasks as directed by Manager (Former Employee) –  Pennant Hills NSW6 February 2017
I was working at Pennant Hills Charcoal Chicken for roughly 3 months, through that time I learnt and experienced the following:
- Concise amount of pay on time
- Teamwork
- Cleaning
- Money Handling
- Free food on lunch breaks
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Charcoal chicken
Part time (Former Employee) –  Mornington Peninsula VIC23 January 2017
At Charcoal Chicken being the first job i had i learnt a few things in life i will always need to remember in up coming jobs such as learning how to work with a register, working with customers, handling money. The work place was very enjoyable with such friendly staff, however the managers where not very organised with shift dates and times.
Pros
great staff
Cons
very low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I don't know what to type here
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Putney NSW24 November 2016
Recovery; stocktake and customer service.

I learned how different companies work

My co-workers were fun to work with; didn't take the job too seriously.

The hardest part was trying to serve more than one customer at once; especially when it was so busy.

The most enjoyable were the people I worked with
Pros
My colleagues
Cons
Very hard to keep up with which order was whose
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and productive with good music playing make it more enjoyable
Casual Worker (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC21 November 2016
-I`ve learned to pack food as well as cook them and be kind to customers
-work politely and calm
-work at the cashier for the first time hardest part of the job was being able to keep track of where each food goes
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and productive
Assistant (Current Employee) –  Terrigal NSW9 October 2016
its a great workplace. its a fun workplace. friendly environment. friendly people. good community environment. terrigal is where this is located. this company is good to work for cause the people are very friendly and they are very nice and good company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very educational job
Kitchen Hand/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Launceston TAS19 September 2016
This was my first job where i was mainly a kitchen hand and wash all of the dishes and also take meals out to customers. I learnt simple waitress skills and how to present myself and react in rushed conditions.
Pros
Great friendly environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was good
counter boy (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC26 May 2016
it was fun, had to talk to people a lot and you find funny people every day there . go apply its at werribbe plaza and they cook the best chicken
Pros
free food
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work at the Charcoal Chicken shop would be fast paced and a happy environment.
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Melbourne Eastern Suburbs, VIC7 November 2015
Working for Charcoal Chicken was fun and gave me a very enthusiastic attitude. I liked all parts of my job which included preparing food, working a register and cleaning dishes and mopping the shop floor.

Overall I would loved working for Charcoal Chicken because of the great atmosphere and attitude everyone had that worked there.
Pros
I could make my own lunch and got to bring home any food that was not sold.
Cons
The phone was bad quality so phone orders took a while.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Charcoal Chicken. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 31 reviews
514
46
37
21
13

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.8Culture